Customer Reviews for

Jesus for President: Politics for Ordinary Radicals

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    AMAZING!!!

    Jesus for President is amazing! It really goes straight to the heart of what Jesus was and is all about. This book is refreshing, inspiring, engaging, transforming - it brings you back to the core message of Jesus Christ. This book went way beyond any expectations I had and is one of the best books I have ever read. And lets not forget the incredible artwork on every page - that's just a bonus!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will you let this book challenge the way you think about things

    This book begins with a stunningly visual design that continues to enhance the reading experience throughout.
    The first half of the book uses words and images to re-present the biblical narrative in an easy to understand and unified style (instead of disjointed individual bible stories). The second half carries on the theme but explores how radicals have shaped history and continue to do so.

    At times the things Shane has to say are difficult and penetrating. But this has more to do with our cultural views of God than anything else. It is unfortunate that we as a culture have confused our politics with our theology.

    Shane and Chris's point, and its a good one, is that we need to adjust our lives to match our theology, NOT adjust our theology to match our way of life. Or as I once heard Shane say "are you smoking what your selling?"


    Cry out when you read this book, let it challenge the way you think about things. Ponder and pray about what you should do that you're not already doing. And then buy a copy for a friend and invite them on the journey with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Offers insights for those who "know" that the Constantinian model of church is missing God's heart.

    Instead of just calling people to reject the model of the institutional church, the authors provide a broad insight into the call of Christ and offer suggestions of how Christ's call can be lived out in an alternative life style, much as did the first Pentecostal church of Acts 2. Listening to it as I drive...over and over...has provided countless opportunities to envision a radical, obedient walk that will bless the Lord, through blessing our world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Jesus for President

    The book that I read for this assignment was Jesus for President. This book was written by Shane Claiborne. And the book Jesus for president is 355 pages long. The first thing that you read when you open the book is the definition for church and the definition for state. I found this to be a very simple yet bold and strong intro for this book. The fact that the book starts out this way makes a strong statement about what the book is going to be talking about as well as gives the reader something to have fresh in their brain before they even start to read any of the text. The first section of the book is called before there were kings and presidents. The book starts out talking about creation and how God created the world, and then the book goes into famous stories in the bible such as Noah and the Ark, and the tower of Babel. Claiborne ties the stories to scripture as well as explains customs of the people of that time. The explanation that he gives is very beneficial and helpful to understanding the full meaning for the passages. He continues the section talking about prophets and how god intended for us to live and function. The second part of the book is called "A new kind of Commander in chief". And in this section he goes into great detail about the birth of Jesus and what the means to the world and the reaction that the world had. Its very interesting all of the historical background that he gives you because everyone has heard about the birth of Jesus and yet the history and cultural background that he gives you makes you see different things that you have never seen in a story that you have heard a million times. The third section of the book is called "When the empire got baptized". This section I found to be very interesting it's about living in a society that is already Christian. How do you live in a place that's already accepted Christ and how do you help others when you live in a place that is primarily Christian. The thing that I thought was the most interesting about this section was the way that is talked about Hippocrates and what that means in a society and how you are to weed them out. And the final section is called, "a peculiar party". This section is all about how today in America its is believed that all Christians should be Republican and how that is completely wrong. Not that all Christians should be Democrats but that God himself never aligned himself with a party and that he believed in things that both parties believed in. And more importantly we are t love others above all and that is the message that this book got out to love others no matter what their beliefs may be no matter what party they choose to align them selves with we are to love them because that is what Jesus would do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Jesus '08

    'The Irresistible revolution' was a fantastic corrective to our mega-church culture. It made me feel like it was OK to call myself a Christian. I just read ¿Jesus for President,¿ as well. It does not have ¿a stridently pacifist stance¿ as some have claimed. In fact it has a stridently activist stance! There is nothing passive about the ¿holy mischief¿ Shane promotes. Don't make the mistake our culture makes of believing we must ether lay down and take it, or pick up a sword and ¿defend¿ ourselves. Jesus presents us with a third way...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Great Read!

    Shane is definitely on one end of the spectrum. I was a little offended at times with his stark criticism of the United States. Realizing he is using some hyperbole in is writing and looking beyond his strong opinion will really awaken the reader to the broader point he is wanting to make.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1