Customer Reviews for

Jet (Marked Men Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I'm in love with these novels!!

I truly recommend these books to all my friends!! There not sequals which I love :) and They are not boring, and full length !!. I love how the group kind of falls in love. Shaw & Rule, Jet& Ayden and now Rome & Cora !! I love it. Jay Crownover keep it up your doing a a...
I truly recommend these books to all my friends!! There not sequals which I love :) and They are not boring, and full length !!. I love how the group kind of falls in love. Shaw & Rule, Jet& Ayden and now Rome & Cora !! I love it. Jay Crownover keep it up your doing a amazing job. I wish Nash found someone though.......

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It had potential...

There is something to be said for allowing your readers to experience the character's thoughts and feelings by taking us on their journey with them.

However, this does NOT involve page after page of repetitive internal monologues. I ended up skimming through this to...
There is something to be said for allowing your readers to experience the character's thoughts and feelings by taking us on their journey with them.

However, this does NOT involve page after page of repetitive internal monologues. I ended up skimming through this to get back to actual character dialog.

Like I said - the books had serious potential... but the writing needs to mature a bit, I think. If you feel the need to explain what the character is thinking or feeling over and over again... you're doing it wrong.

posted by bluesome_books on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Jet!

    So glad he got a story! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Good book

    Some was a bit frustrating to me and then it picked up and led to a great ending imo. Cant wait for Rome & Cora to have at it next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Originally posted on my blog: Tangled Up In Books

    Originally posted on my blog: Tangled Up In Books

    I went into this one full of assumptions. I started it already loving Ayden, yet not sure what to think of Jet. To be perfectly honest, I wasn't as excited to read this one as I was the rest. I had a feeling I'd like it but I wouldn't love it. I figured at some point Jet was going to let me down. Well you know what they say about assumptions...

    --She was a girl who wanted things in life I was never going to be able to give her.

    Like I said I went into this book initially really liking Ayden Cross from reading Rule and Shaw's book. She's Shaw's best friend and was her roommate so we get to know her a bit before starting this one. Ayden was always real protective and sweet and caring when it came to Shaw. Ayden has secrets though and a past that she's trying to escape. Which is eventually what had me quite annoyed with her. She was so focused on what she didn't want to be anymore that she let it consume her every action and she pushed people away. For most of the book she wasn't ever really herself outwardly. She would project to everyone she cared about this image of being good and perfect and yet inside her head was just a mess. She kinda brought this book down for me personally. I really think I would have given this book 5 stars had Ayden not been stuck in her own head so much to the point it hurt those around her.

    --He didn't have to flirt or try to be charming, not with a grin wicked enough to promise so much more than a fantastic time.

    Jet Keller, that boy surprised the hell out of me. He was for the most part still a mystery to me. But I was ready to assume the worst. Bad boy in a metal band I just figured at some point this guy is going to screw up and then I'm going to be mad and disappointed in him. Yet every time this guy had an opportunity to prove me right...he didn't. He surprised me at every turn of the page. He was sneaky and stole my heart without me even noticing. Even though I've been crushing on Rome since I started this series, Jet can really give him a run for his money when it comes to my affections.

    --This was the family I had always wanted.

    As I stated in the review for book one and I'm sure for each subsequent book, I think one of the biggest high points, the thing that appeals most to me in this series, is the group dynamic. This family they've created. Each book you read you get to see bits and pieces of the entire group. Half of the guys work together at the tattoo shop, the girls, that we've met so far, are all super close as well. It's just fun because even if we're done with one couple's story we still get to see new milestones and events happening for them in the new stories. For this book specifically it was awesome to see more of Cora and Rowdy, I am really looking forward to his book coming up. And also to finally get to meet Asa, I have high hopes for him.

    --This man, who was all metal and tattoos that bled out anger and frustration, really had the softest and kindest heart I had ever encountered in my life.

    So yes Ayden did bug me quite a bit in this book but she goes through a lot of hard stuff and I still ended up liking her in the end. And Jet that guy had me in tears on more than one occasion. His back story and the things he go through in this book hurt my heart. He totally makes this book worth reading and has made it a close second of favorite books in the series, just barely behind Rome. If you haven't read the Marked Men series I highly recommend them because you are missing out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Have a thing for Jet! Ayden and Jet's story was amazing

    Have a thing for Jet! Ayden and Jet's story was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Second ofcseries

    I loved the first n the third rcked. Can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Not only leaving Kentucky, but a mother who was never there and

    Not only leaving Kentucky, but a mother who was never there and a brother who used her, Ayden Cross came to Denver to change her life. She started college, met her best friend, and had the perfectly straight-laced boyfriend. Then she met Jet Keller, the only person who threatened to bring "Old-Ayden" back, and it scared her to no end.

    The tattooed and pierced rock star had everything going for his life. He was the lead singer for a popular metal band, had his own recording studio, and a revolving door to his bedroom. Inside though, he had wanted Ayden since the moment he met her. Thinking the Southern girl was too good for him, he friend-zoned her. It was working until the mounting passion between the two erupted.

    Ayden is a great character. She knows what she wants, especially if it was something to help her better herself. Her background was heartbreaking and to come so far is amazing. Her character development was perfect. Jet is the same way. I get his background, his family life. Always wanting something for someone who doesn't want it themselves can be crushing and he handled it the best way, I think. When the two came together, it was nothing less than molten.

    The drama between the two is perfectly realistic. Ayden's reluctance to share herself because she was scared is so relatable it's not even funny. Jet just wanted to be let in and when they finally gave up, it was heartbreaking, not only to the characters but to the reader as well.

    The secondary characters are one the best parts of the book. It was great to see Shaw and Rule again, to see how their relationship is building and getting better. The other Marked boys were great. I really love Rowdy and cannot wait for his book. The Enmity boys were good too. I loved the band to no end, especially Von. Then there's Cora, sweet Cora. She is simply the best character ever. She's strong, sweet, sassy, and just in your face. She wants what's best for her friends and I love her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    My Take: After reading RULE, I was really excited to learn more

    My Take:
    After reading RULE, I was really excited to learn more about Ayden and sexy rocker Jet. I wasn't quite sure what I had expected, but the story I got was a bit different than what I had anticipated. Not in a bad way, just different. And ultimately, I did enjoy their story. 




    What I loved about Jet: Um...he's a rocker! Well, that's not the only thing I love about him though. He's super sexy, sweet, and a lot more thoughtful than I thought he might be. I don't know how or why I had that impression, but he turned out to be a really good guy. I loved that he was willing to try to make a relationship with Ayden work despite the obstacles they faced. And in the end, Jet was really there for Ayden and he proved that she could count on him to be the guy she needed. 




    What I loved about Ayden: In RULE, I really liked Ayden. She was a great friend to Shaw and I appreciated her ''tell it like it is" personality. In this book, I liked how she was a little obsessed with Jet before they actually got together. I liked her the most when she showed her vulnerable side. 




    What didn't work for me: Well, surprisingly what didn't work for me centered around Ayden. I think I thought I would like her more than I actually did. Don't get me wrong, I do like her, but I thought I would be able to connect to her a bit more than I did. I also felt like she played around with Jet's feelings a little too much. I understood why, but it still bugged me that he was really trying and she went back and forth about their relationship. 




    Overall: I did like this one. I didn't have the same butterfly feeling in my belly after reading it as I did with RULE, but I enjoyed getting to know them better. Plus, they are part of the group that I've fallen in love with. AND...we get to meet Ayden's brother, Asa, and I can't even tell you how excited I am for his book!!! It's sure to be good! 




    Quotes:
    ~"I'm not saying it couldn't eventually lead to more, but right now I feel pretty broken and I'm not really sure there are enough pieces lying around to put me back together."-pg 105




    ~I forgot everything except how he felt and how he made me feel, and I lost myself in the glide of his tongue across mine and in the grip of his fingers on my hips. I had waited forever for this boy, and had wanted him, coveted him for so long it felt like the longing was a living, breathing thing inside me.-pg 107




    ~"That's because those boys scream sex and sin and a whole lot of fun, and no one ever holds them responsible for being a bunch of jackasses most of the time."-pg 216 (Cora is my girl.)




    ~"He is the guy who will turn you inside out, and make you forget about all those stupid boundaries you've set for yourself because you're scared."-pg 258

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Rule was better

    I need a little more alpha in my hero. That's why I'm looking forward to reading Rome in January.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Worth the few bucks.

    Enjoyed this book well enough. I liked this story, although I feel the story was a bit repetative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I love this series!!!

    I am so over all the knock off 50 shades books, this was so REFRESHING to read!!! I was so in love with this series and I am so excited for rome. Mainly because I love the brothers. But I am excited to see that nash has a book!!! Great read. I have recommended it multiple people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD READ

    Rough and tumbled sexy guys with tatoos....enjoyed this book a lot. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Highly recommended!!'

    Really enjoyed this book. Kept me interested, waiting for Rome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Star Rating:  4 out of 5  Heat Rating: Spicy Hot! I

    Star Rating:  4 out of 5 




    Heat Rating: Spicy Hot!








    I couldn't wait to get my hands on Jet so I immediately read Jet after I finished Rule.  Jet and Ayden's story is THICK with sexual tension, frustration, angst and drama.  




    I loved Jet, he was a humble rock star not looking for the limelight and happy helping others reach the top.  Yes, he was a player and got what and whomever he wanted, but deep down he wanted to find that missing piece.  He was a man who you could fall in love with and just get lost, which was Ayden's problem.  *Sigh* I had a bit of a book crush on Jet and I continued to like him and how he fought for his relationship with Ayden, despite how she kept (continuously) pushing him away.




    Ayden is trying hard to be the perfect person, the complete opposite of her shady past and is so afraid to slip up and slide back to her old ways.  Mixing up with Jet is a sure fire way (in her mind) for her to forget her goals and get off track of her "new self".  I am not going to lie, Ayden and all her indecision/angst/drama got old and I would have liked her to get her wake up call a bit sooner than she did (she eventually wins me over, it just took most of the book).




    Again, Jay Crownover does a wonderful job of letting the reader see both POV's of Jet and Ayden (which sometimes is annoying but works really well in this story).  It was nice to see the "gang" again and get to know each of the secondary characters a bit more.  I love getting glimpses of previous book characters to see how they are doing and then get an idea of how the next book (Rome and Cora's story) might come about.  The writing in this Marked Men series is easy to get wrapped up in and lose  track of time.




    If you haven't read this series I HIGHLY recommend it, the main characters are interesting, real and full of surprising layers.  You could read Jet as a stand alone story, but why would you want to miss out Rule's journey to love?  Rome's story is next and I can't wait to see that play out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    GOOD READ! JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST BOOK WITH SHAW AND RULE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    A little disappointing...

    After reading Rule (the first Marked Men book), I was expecting this to be an awesome book, but it came up short for me. It was a decent read that could have been great if there hadn't been so much inner monologue from both Jet and Ayden. I loved Jet and Ayden, and it was great to know and understand what they were thinking and feeling, but the inner monologue was excessive and very repetitive. It became boring, and I found myslef skimming through the book trying to find dialogue between characters to break up the monotony.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    I was highly anticipating this book after reading RULE and was s

    I was highly anticipating this book after reading RULE and was so excited to hear that the sequel was going to be about Jet.

    We met Jet and Ayden in RULE. We felt their attraction for each other so it was nice to see that they would have their own story.

    Ayden had been living a “lie” pretending to be a “good” girl when actually she had secrets that she was not sharing with anyone, not even with her closet friend, Shaw. It killed me that Ayden felt that she could not share the painful memory of who she was before with anyone.

    “I was going to going to have to keep Jet Keller locked in the box where I kept pre-Colorado Ayden. Only now, I was going to make sure that the lid was on so tight, there wouldn’t ever be a chance of it coming off. The risk wasn’t worth it.”

    I love stories where we see an attraction between two people, but they won’t give into it. Either too afraid that it won’t work or that it will ruin the friendship. So I like how the story started where Ayden asks Jet that she would like to be with him for one night, but he says “no.” Ayden feels rejected, but will not show that the rejection affected her in any way. One year later from that night, Jet has moved in with Ayden and Cora and you see how Ayden handles seeing a girl walk out of Jet’s room every morning. And from there the story begins…

    Did I feel connected to the characters? Yes, I liked Jet’s character and I liked Ayden’s character and I liked them together. I loved that the author brought back Shaw and Rule so we got to see how their relationship was going.
    Pace of the story: Okay
    Positives: The characters. I love Jay Crownover’s characters. These are some of my favorite stories and I think Jay writes them very well. I will continue to read everything by Jay Crownover. Her characters have heart and soul and I love how dedicated they are to each other. Friendship and love. There are some sweet moments between Jet and Ayden.
    Negatives: Some of Ayden’s inner dialogue became repetitive.
    Do I recommend? Yes, I liked this one.

    “Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young’s ‘Love the One You’re With’”

    Bottom line: I am excited about the next book in the series being about Rome. I just don’t know how I feel about Rome and Cora. However, that may change once I read it. Like I said, I will read everything by Jay Crownover. I love when girls are strong, independent and speak their mind. However, I do not like when all that strength comes across as b****y.

    “Cora was mouthy and loud on a good day; give her ammunition or show her a weakness, and she was like a piranha that smelled blood in the water.”

    If there is a 4th book in the series, I would love it to be about Asa. I want to know what he is thinking and if he will ever find the right person that will challenge him. He needs someone strong and clever to handle him and not take any of his crap. Also, I think it should be someone who has a big heart and shows love for others even though their life is not easy. Asa needs someone like this so he could see that there are people who are good in the world (even though they have little) and do not need to manipulate to get something.

    Book Format Read: A copy was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Couldn't put it down...

    Nice young adult contemporary love story with hot guys, and sex scenes to match. and now it's going to feel like forever before book 3 is released...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Entertaining

    Enjoy character development, & how each set of characters gets their owm story Love the way the characters are allowed to share their stories Read in order written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Good read!

    Good book! If your into bad boys this is def a good series for you to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Like it

    Good read...will buy next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3