Customer Reviews for

Jewel

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Classic to be read again and again!

I read all the time and never keep my books when I'm done unless it's one of the classics. Once I've read them I see no reason to read them again. However with Jewel, I can't part with it. It has earned a place on my classics' shelf. It is one of the best books I'v...
I read all the time and never keep my books when I'm done unless it's one of the classics. Once I've read them I see no reason to read them again. However with Jewel, I can't part with it. It has earned a place on my classics' shelf. It is one of the best books I've ever read. It was written well and the story captured me. When I got to the end I locked myself in my room so I could be alone with the family I got to know so well. I am not an emotional person, but the depths of love and family commitment in this book brought me to tears more than once. Wow!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This book came highly recommended so I bought it for my mother who loves to read good literature. I was surprised when she admitted that she really did not care for the book. I decided to read it myself and found it absolutely captivating right up to the birth of Brenda...
This book came highly recommended so I bought it for my mother who loves to read good literature. I was surprised when she admitted that she really did not care for the book. I decided to read it myself and found it absolutely captivating right up to the birth of Brenda Kay, at which point it really took a strange turn. I found myself just slogging throught it, hoping it would get better. Sadly, it never did. Such a disappointment for a book that really did a great job of drawing the reader in right from the start. It began as a page-turner, but ended as something I almost dreaded to finish.

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    One Woman's Life -- Warts and All

    Jewel Hilburn's life story is not one that is particularly exciting or remarkable. She was a wife and a mother, and from the birth of her sixth and last child on, she became the full time caretaker of a developmentally disabled child. What makes the story worth reading is that we see the sheer effort involved in caring for a child who will never advance beyond a six year old mentally, and how it impacts an entire family in various ways. This story takes a long time in the telling, in part because it spans Jewel's entire lifetime, in part because it is told in a sometimes agonizingly slow pace.

    There was a second story going on here, one between the white and black races, and I would have liked to see more development between Jewel and Cathedral and their families. Was I the only white person who cringed every time I read the "N" word? I was glad that Jewel, once exposed to a world outside her sheltered "cracker" (as she called it) Mississippi upbringing began to see that the way black people were treated and regarded wasn't the way it should be. And I also thought it realistic that Leston never seemed to develop a different point of view--this because while Jewel provided virtually all of the day to day caring for Brenda Kay was exposed to black people who were regarded differently. Leston simply was not. But, I could not help but draw a correlation between the unfairness in the way black people were treated and Jewel living day in and day out struggling with how her own child's life would never be fair, and I didn't see her make that connection. Maybe I missed something, but I just didn't see her grieve much for Cathedral and the travesty of losing her child to racial hatred, and her unwitting role in it. Instead, I saw simply that it was another reason to move back to California. But all in all, this was one woman's life, warts and all, a good person, but far from perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Disappointing

    This book came highly recommended so I bought it for my mother who loves to read good literature. I was surprised when she admitted that she really did not care for the book. I decided to read it myself and found it absolutely captivating right up to the birth of Brenda Kay, at which point it really took a strange turn. I found myself just slogging throught it, hoping it would get better. Sadly, it never did. Such a disappointment for a book that really did a great job of drawing the reader in right from the start. It began as a page-turner, but ended as something I almost dreaded to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    A Classic to be read again and again!

    I read all the time and never keep my books when I'm done unless it's one of the classics. Once I've read them I see no reason to read them again. However with Jewel, I can't part with it. It has earned a place on my classics' shelf. It is one of the best books I've ever read. It was written well and the story captured me. When I got to the end I locked myself in my room so I could be alone with the family I got to know so well. I am not an emotional person, but the depths of love and family commitment in this book brought me to tears more than once. Wow!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Ended up loving this book

    I wasn't sure when I first started Jewel how much I would like it. But as the story unfolded, it got better and better. It's great in our day and time to read a story about a multi-faceted character who is coping with a huge heartbreak -- with commitment and love -- rather than drowning in our her own angst and loss. I found this book inspiring and would recommend it. Also, the sense of place evoked is wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Best book I have ever read!!!

    This book was the most accurate and poignant story I have ever read that attempted to describe the absolutely overwhelming feeling of love and sense of total responsibilty that a women feels for her children. I did not feel that it was especially about Down's Syndrome, but rather about the sacrifices women make for their husbands and the family as a whole. The time period was accurately shown, and the way Jewel grows throughout the book, including the way she comes to realize her subtle forms of racism as unacceptable, are incredibly moving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    A New Favorite

    Bret Lott has an incredible way drawing the reader into this novel about a woman who is completely devoted to her family. I laughed. I cried. I could not put this book down. I, too, was amazed that a male could write the role of a woman so well. When I finished this book, I felt as though I was leaving a friend behind. Jewel will warm your heart with each turn of the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    Inspirational

    This book was a great story of a womans long life devoted to her family and her special daughter. I was very encouraged and motivated by how patient she was with her husband and her children. Her outlook on life broadened my own and also helped me to be a more loving and patient wife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    Excellent reading!

    Bret Lott did a wonderful job drawing his readers into the story. I felt like I knew Jewel and could share her pain along with her joy. I had a hard time putting the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    The best book I have read all year!!!

    Although this book was long I would not have left out a thing. By the time the end came I was crying because I felt I were losing a friend. I have never read such vivid descriptions of feeling and I too could not believe that a man wrote this book. I even went back and read the last 2 chapters again to make sure I did not miss anything and again was very emotional. I have never seen such depth given to a character and even though the other characters were not as detailed I feel enough information was given to continue the flow of the book. I can not recommend highly enough!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Silverkit

    Lokks at angelkit. Lets be sisters! She suggested. She limped to the medicine cat den for a new poultice on her leg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Good read!

    Giver of life!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    great book

    couldnt put it down. great insight of a woman with a special needs child. Very thought provoking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Tender, charming

    This is one of the most well written novels I've ever read. The slow pace of the writing kept me engaged and right there in the lives of all of the characters. From the simplicity of a retarded child looking to her devoted mother for direction and unconditional love to an often distant father who thought far more than he spoke. The author did a wonderful job of weaving Jewel's own story together in such a way as to keep the story current, moving and at the same time, reflective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    This "N" that

    I agree with the other reader who stated that this book is very wordy. I found the author to be very "long winded" and throughout the book I found myself wanting him to get to the point. But as I began to get more into Jewel's character I began to appreciate the time he took to allow us to notice the little things. Things that often go overlooked in life. I hope the author reads these reviews. I want to say to him that it is not necessary to use the "N" as often as he did. I think if he used it once or twice we would get the point. I noticed that to add balance he often tried to use the word "cracker". I just don't feel that those words brought anything to the story. They just didn't add anything to the character's storyline. Overall, I think he is a great writer who wrote a good, not great, book. The book was very realistic of the slow paced South, which for some readers of fiction can be considered drab.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    An interesting read

    I enjoyed Jewel. It did drag however in book two. The attitude of Jewel's father was appauling, but I guess correct for the time. The author had great insights into personalities of all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Excellent Reading

    This was an excellent book that did a very good job on the topics and I felt like I could relate to everyone in a certain way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    eyeopening

    this is a very good book about a subject many do not wish to discuss, even in this day and age. It is heart warming and makes you wish things could have been better for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Unusual Structure

    Jewel is the story of a woman's life that is her 'cross to bear.' The landscape's imagery, the weather's elements and the spiritual struggle all reflect the theme of Jewel's life. The story structure is unusual in that it changes: in the beginning Lott flashes between past and present. Later, he remains predominately in the natural flow of events. There is no one climax in Jewel, but a series of point turns, essentially 'mini-climaxes. Jewel reflects the history of our culture both good and bad. It is to be savored rather than sped through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    Where's the climax?

    This book was very disappointing. 'Jewel' contains few pages that keep the reader interested. This book has no climax and the reader is left feeling 'that was it?'. This book lacks emotional connections to the charactors. I did enjoy the story line and descriptions of the settings. Just wondered where's the climax?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    I can relate

    Having grown up as one of the other children I can relate to them in this story. The author captured all the sides of the family and their feelings. The slight ups and the depressing downs that go with having a special child. The mother's struggle was so intense as to almost ignore the 'normal' children. It opened my eyes a bit more to what my own mother has lived through for over 50 years. I can recommend it to anyone who has difficulty seeing all angles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2