Customer Reviews for

Jewel

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Classic to be read again and again!

I read all the time and never keep my books when I'm done unless it's one of the classics. Once I've read them I see no reason to read them again. However with Jewel, I can't part with it. It has earned a place on my classics' shelf. It is one of the best books I'v...
I read all the time and never keep my books when I'm done unless it's one of the classics. Once I've read them I see no reason to read them again. However with Jewel, I can't part with it. It has earned a place on my classics' shelf. It is one of the best books I've ever read. It was written well and the story captured me. When I got to the end I locked myself in my room so I could be alone with the family I got to know so well. I am not an emotional person, but the depths of love and family commitment in this book brought me to tears more than once. Wow!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This book came highly recommended so I bought it for my mother who loves to read good literature. I was surprised when she admitted that she really did not care for the book. I decided to read it myself and found it absolutely captivating right up to the birth of Brenda...
This book came highly recommended so I bought it for my mother who loves to read good literature. I was surprised when she admitted that she really did not care for the book. I decided to read it myself and found it absolutely captivating right up to the birth of Brenda Kay, at which point it really took a strange turn. I found myself just slogging throught it, hoping it would get better. Sadly, it never did. Such a disappointment for a book that really did a great job of drawing the reader in right from the start. It began as a page-turner, but ended as something I almost dreaded to finish.

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    A Classic to be read again and again!

    I read all the time and never keep my books when I'm done unless it's one of the classics. Once I've read them I see no reason to read them again. However with Jewel, I can't part with it. It has earned a place on my classics' shelf. It is one of the best books I've ever read. It was written well and the story captured me. When I got to the end I locked myself in my room so I could be alone with the family I got to know so well. I am not an emotional person, but the depths of love and family commitment in this book brought me to tears more than once. Wow!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Best book I have ever read!!!

    This book was the most accurate and poignant story I have ever read that attempted to describe the absolutely overwhelming feeling of love and sense of total responsibilty that a women feels for her children. I did not feel that it was especially about Down's Syndrome, but rather about the sacrifices women make for their husbands and the family as a whole. The time period was accurately shown, and the way Jewel grows throughout the book, including the way she comes to realize her subtle forms of racism as unacceptable, are incredibly moving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    A New Favorite

    Bret Lott has an incredible way drawing the reader into this novel about a woman who is completely devoted to her family. I laughed. I cried. I could not put this book down. I, too, was amazed that a male could write the role of a woman so well. When I finished this book, I felt as though I was leaving a friend behind. Jewel will warm your heart with each turn of the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    Excellent reading!

    Bret Lott did a wonderful job drawing his readers into the story. I felt like I knew Jewel and could share her pain along with her joy. I had a hard time putting the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    The best book I have read all year!!!

    Although this book was long I would not have left out a thing. By the time the end came I was crying because I felt I were losing a friend. I have never read such vivid descriptions of feeling and I too could not believe that a man wrote this book. I even went back and read the last 2 chapters again to make sure I did not miss anything and again was very emotional. I have never seen such depth given to a character and even though the other characters were not as detailed I feel enough information was given to continue the flow of the book. I can not recommend highly enough!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Excellent Reading

    This was an excellent book that did a very good job on the topics and I felt like I could relate to everyone in a certain way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    I can relate

    Having grown up as one of the other children I can relate to them in this story. The author captured all the sides of the family and their feelings. The slight ups and the depressing downs that go with having a special child. The mother's struggle was so intense as to almost ignore the 'normal' children. It opened my eyes a bit more to what my own mother has lived through for over 50 years. I can recommend it to anyone who has difficulty seeing all angles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2000

    Outstanding!!

    This was one of the best books I have ever read. Jewel is a phenomenal woman who shows the true meaning in what it takes to be a mother. From beginning to end it is a page turner. I didn't want it to end!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    Be Careful of that for Which You Ask

    This note is not quite a review of this most wonderfully told and insightful novel...rather, it is a reaction to all those readers who expressed their astonishment that a man could have written this tale. Consider that the author is an artist...artists transcend many limitations, gender included. Consider, if the world is to parse all literature by the gender of the author, then perhaps one might express astonishment that females could comprehend male authors, or vice versa. Obviously, I don't like compartmenting literature by gender...I suspect we limit oursleves when we do. If we do allege that opposite genders cannot project valid commentary and insight, then we may as well write off the concept of men reading female authors, or women reading male authors...I wouldn't like that situation. I am 50 plus years of age, deal in a human services profession and have found (too many times to be counted) that gender concordance is so often of no relationship whatsoever to someone's capability to emphathize with, or to relate to, another human's situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    This One Is A Winner!!!

    I am almost finished with this book and was amazed at how it grabbed my attention and pulled me right into the book. I do agree with Catherine who wrote a few posts back about 'skipping to the other side' as I too have done that in a few wordy parts, but other than that, this is a book well worth reading. It is a teaching book also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1