Customer Reviews for

Jewel of Atlantis (Gena Showalter's Atlantis Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jewel of Atlantis

The second book in the Atlantis series. Atlantis is a world hidden below the ocean by the gods to contain all of their creations before the humans. The only way in is to discover one of two secret portals...guarded by men that can change into dragons and are ordered to ...
The second book in the Atlantis series. Atlantis is a world hidden below the ocean by the gods to contain all of their creations before the humans. The only way in is to discover one of two secret portals...guarded by men that can change into dragons and are ordered to kill all who try to come in.

Grayson James has managed to sneak through these fearsome guardians (not sure how) in search of the mythical Jewel of Dunamis. A jewel that has the power to tell the future, read minds, and separate lies from truth. His company wants to get the jewel before some government can get ahold of it and use it to their advantage during a war. Now, this reason seemed a little far fetched, because if no one can get to Atlantis to retrieve the jewel, then how can they use it? But, OK, I went with it.

Grayson soon realizes that the Jewel of Dunamis is not a gem, but a beautiful woman that is being held against her will by the demoms (one of the many creatures living in Atlantis), to take advantage of her gifts. This being a romance, sparks fly when they meet and Grayson must find a way to rescue her and keep her with him always.

I really enjoyed a lot of the tensions between Atlantean races the author allowed to spring up throughout the story. From dragon men, mermaids, gorgons, minotaurs, demons and vampires, they all had reasons for wanting the jewel in their hand and their reactions to her were unique and real. I enjoyed her character very much, while I found Grayson a little dull. It was a great read to follow up the first book, Heart of the Dragon, and parts of the storyline stem directly from the events that ended the first in the series (which I have found is unusual in romance series).

3.5/5

posted by Jasmyn9 on December 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

This isn't my favorite book in Gena Showalter's Atlantis series, but it ties in wonderfully with the other books. It's a fun read and I recommend anyone who likes fantasy to give this series a try.

posted by 125131 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    highly recommened

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jewel of Atlantis Gena Showalter (Atlantis Series #2)

    I read my first Atlantis Series book out of sequence, my first one was the "Vampire Bride" and I loved it so well I bought the complete series and started reading the rest of the books in order. This one, which is technically book 2, is a fun, fast paced fantasy novel mixed with romance and comflict and makes you really want the characters to get together and stay there. The more I read the series, the more I appreciate the creative world Gena Showalter has created. Lots of thought and imagination went into each page and if you like steamy,fantasy romance, this is a truly hot dish to savor.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    My Favorite Book of the Series!

    Each book in this series held me captivated until the end! Gena has a way of keeping you turning the pages until sunrise even!! Book 2 was my favorite because of Gray. What a sexy hunk of human man, and funny too. His angered cursing, creature avoiding, trap conquering, jewel seeking mission and sense of humor, had me wanting to bring him to life straight from Atlantis itself. Get every book in this series and then put yourself on the waiting list for book 5 this year...you'll be glad you did. Thank you Gena for a new and exciting world you've allowed us to escape to once again!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Great Series

    For paranormal romance lovers this series is a fun treat. The characters are funny and interesting. The book grabs you from the beginning. I read the entire series in 1 week. Easy and fun reading for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!!!

    My favorite out of the 4 books. The bickering between Jewel (Prudence, Blaze)and Gray is amazing and fun too! Easy read too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awesome Sequel to two books!!

    This book is an awesome read that I highly recommend! The story follows Grayson James ,aka, Gray, the brother to the heroine of "The Stone Prince" as he goes through a portal in the Atlantic Ocean. Gray is sent to Atlantis by the Otherworld Bureau of Investigations (OBI) to obtain the Jewel of Dunamis. According to the Book of Ra Dracas, the Jewel of Denamis can predict the future and ascertain if someone is lying or being honest. Unfortunately for Gray, the Book also details a world full of vampires, demons, nymphs, and other creatures only found in myths. In the midst of fighting for his life, Gray hears a female's voice that guides him to safety and to her rescue from Marina, Queen of the Demons. The female identifies herself as Jewel, but doesn't tell him she is the Jewel he is searching for. In the process of rescuing Jewel, Gray is injured by both a demon and a vampire, creating a poison in him that would have killed him if not for the assistance of Jewel. Gray begins developing both vampire and demon characteristics while he and Jewel fall in love. Darius and Grace reappear from the HEART OF THE DRAGON and play a pivotal role in the conclusion of the novel. Overall, I enjoyed this book although I thought it took Gray too long to figure out that the female Jewel was in actuality the Jewel he was searching for. I particularly enjoyed the world of Atlantis that Ms. Showalter has created

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stimulating Book

    I have read the other books in the series and this one follows them very well. The style of writing is very good. Kept me interested and was great to bring the other charaters from the other books into it. I would recomend the book and have passed it on to my daughter to read with the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    OUTSTANDING!!

    First book in the series, and a first for me with this author. Really enjoyed the way the book flowed and the way the author detailed the way everything looked in the story, you had no problem picturing anything in the book. Would HIGHLY recommend the rest of the books in this series. The characters stay with you and the book is a outstanding read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Visit to Atlantis

    Not only is this the follow-up to Heart of the Dragon, but it stars Grayson 'Gray' James, the brother of the heroine from The Stone Prince!<BR/><BR/>A wonderful romance filled with every creature Atlantis can offer, a cute heroine and twists and turns, you won't wanna put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    If you like sexy paranormal stories with a dash of mythology, then Gena Showalter will always be your girl. With JEWEL OF ATLANTIS, she's taken all the things that readers love-vampires, demons, nymphs, sacred tomes, obscure jewels, and queens of evil-and turned it into a love story that transcends the bonds of time. <BR/><BR/>Grayson James might be human, but he's also a member of the super-secret Otherworld Bureau of Investigation-and he's just been ordered to travel to Atlantis and find the elusive Jewel of Dunamis, which the recently discovered ancient scroll Ra Dracus talks about. Said to be able to overcome any enemy by foretelling the future and acting as a sort of lie-detector test to determine whether someone's lying or telling the truth, the OBI doesn't want the Jewel falling into the wrong hands. So Gray has been ordered to rescue the Jewel and bring it back, or to destroy it. <BR/><BR/>Unfortunately, as soon as Gray enters Atlantis he finds himself battling all types of nasties-vampires, demons, you name it. If it weren't for the woman speaking inside his head, he'd be dead meat. Fortunately, the unknown woman, who insists he call her Jewel, leads him away from danger, and to her rescue from the Queen of Demons, Marina. <BR/><BR/>Jewel is a woman who's part goddess and part prophet, but she's also a pawn that the city of Atlantis has used for almost forever in its never-ending struggle for power. She needs the help of the human Gray to escape from her captors, but then she becomes intrigued by the man who arouses feelings in her she never felt possible. Although she knows that she's the elusive Jewel of Dunamis, she has no desire to let Gray know this-not at first. But as her feelings turn towards love, and enemies seek to destroy them both, Jewel realizes that she has no choice but to reveal the truth, and the prophecy that she's known for years that foretells their destruction. <BR/><BR/>JEWEL OF ATLANTIS is an engaging read, filled with exciting characters and a highly descriptive underwater city. It's also sexy, funny, and a great read. If you like paranormal stories, you'll thoroughly enjoy Ms. Showalter's latest release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Originally Posted on Romance Junkies

    If you like sexy paranormal stories with a dash of mythology, then Gena Showalter will always be your girl. With JEWEL OF ATLANTIS, she's taken all the things that readers love-vampires, demons, nymphs, sacred tomes, obscure jewels, and queens of evil-and turned it into a love story that transcends the bonds of time. Grayson James might be human, but he's also a member of the super-secret Otherworld Bureau of Investigation-and he's just been ordered to travel to Atlantis and find the elusive Jewel of Dunamis, which the recently discovered ancient scroll Ra Dracus talks about. Said to be able to overcome any enemy by foretelling the future and acting as a sort of lie-detector test to determine whether someone's lying or telling the truth, the OBI doesn't want the Jewel falling into the wrong hands. So Gray has been ordered to rescue the Jewel and bring it back, or to destroy it. Unfortunately, as soon as Gray enters Atlantis he finds himself battling all types of nasties-vampires, demons, you name it. If it weren't for the woman speaking inside his head, he'd be dead meat. Fortunately, the unknown woman, who insists he call her Jewel, leads him away from danger, and to her rescue from the Queen of Demons, Marina. Jewel is a woman who's part goddess and part prophet, but she's also a pawn that the city of Atlantis has used for almost forever in its never-ending struggle for power. She needs the help of the human Gray to escape from her captors, but then she becomes intrigued by the man who arouses feelings in her she never felt possible. Although she knows that she's the elusive Jewel of Dunamis, she has no desire to let Gray know this-not at first. But as her feelings turn towards love, and enemies seek to destroy them both, Jewel realizes that she has no choice but to reveal the truth, and the prophecy that she's known for years that foretells their destruction. JEWEL OF ATLANTIS is an engaging read, filled with exciting characters and a highly descriptive underwater city. It's also sexy, funny, and a great read. If you like paranormal stories, you'll thoroughly enjoy Ms. Showalter's latest release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fun for fantasy and romance fans

    Otherworld Bureau of Investigation supervisor Jude Quinlan assigns his best field agent Grayson James to retrieve the Jewel of Dunmaris as referenced in the recently found ancient tome Ra Dracus. All Gray has to do is go through a portal in Florida waters that leads to the underwater city of Atlantis, find the item that has incredible paranormal powers, and return home. Jude insists this is a cakewalk for the OBI top person in the cold or in this case under the water.------ However, Gray immediately finds himself battling and killing vampires, dragons, and demons. None of those creatures scare him as much as the sexy woman speaking inside his head. She tells him she has no name, but he should call her Jewel. As they team up against all odds, they fall in love, but she believes she can never leave Atlantis while he knows he does not belong there.----- JEWEL OF ATLANTIS is a terrific romantic fantasy that sort of reads like Die Hard enters a supernatural Shangri-La as the fabulous hero sounds so much like John McClane while trying to complete the mission yet stay alive against creatures that come across as so real in Atlantis. Jewel brings mystery as to whom and what she is. Fans who appreciate something a bit different but quite entertaining will want to trek with these two fabulous protagonists as she escorts him to the portal, but during that dangerous hike they fall in perhaps the vastest star-crossed love conceivable. JEWEL OF ATLANTIS is fun for fantasy and romance fans.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7