Customer Reviews for

The Jewel of Gresham Green (The Gresham Chronicles Book #4)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Return to Gresham

As a huge fan of the the Gresham Chronicles and Lawana Blackwell's works, I was thrilled to hear that there was going to be a fourth book in the series. I had devoured the three books in the series several times (they're one of my favorite book series to reread) and wa...
As a huge fan of the the Gresham Chronicles and Lawana Blackwell's works, I was thrilled to hear that there was going to be a fourth book in the series. I had devoured the three books in the series several times (they're one of my favorite book series to reread) and was looking forward to seeing what was going on with the village and its inhabitants. It was pleasant to return to the peaceful village where everyone knows each other. We're introduced to new characters and are reunited and caught up to date with old friends. I will admit it was a bit jarring to see the children now grown up with their old families but the Hollis and Phelps family are still the same as ever. I liked Jewel and her daughter and was sadden at their plight. The treatment of a single mother in England during that time period was very rough and justice was not served properly to those who needed it.

While I enjoyed this book, I felt that it wasn't on the same level as the author's previous books in the series. I never really felt connected with the new characters in this book and I felt like the old characters were just thrown in for good measure. The other books in the Gresham series (as well as Blackwell's other two Victorian series) had a certain charm and comfort feeling. You felt as if you were literally swept up into the story and transported into that time period along with the characters. This book however, gives sort of a standoffish feeling. I felt as if I was looking at the story from a distance. The romance in this story seemed to happen very fast and almost as an afterthought. After the quirky and accidental romances in the past 3 books, the one in this one fell flat and was not very believable.

That being said, this is an enjoyable book. Fans of Jane Austen and other regency era type books will find this book a pleasure to read. If you've never read any of the other books in the Gresham series, you won't be lost reading this one as it can be read as a stand alone. However if you're a fan of the original series, this book is a nice way to catch up on everyone and is a good addition to the series. Hopefully this won't be the last we will see of Gresham and it's inhabitants.

posted by Deborah_K on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dud in a otherwise solid series

The preceeding three books were lovely and gentle with solid messages about faith and romance. I was disappointed by how off and dark and uncompelling the story and characters were.

posted by 10613413 on May 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Return to Gresham

    As a huge fan of the the Gresham Chronicles and Lawana Blackwell's works, I was thrilled to hear that there was going to be a fourth book in the series. I had devoured the three books in the series several times (they're one of my favorite book series to reread) and was looking forward to seeing what was going on with the village and its inhabitants. It was pleasant to return to the peaceful village where everyone knows each other. We're introduced to new characters and are reunited and caught up to date with old friends. I will admit it was a bit jarring to see the children now grown up with their old families but the Hollis and Phelps family are still the same as ever. I liked Jewel and her daughter and was sadden at their plight. The treatment of a single mother in England during that time period was very rough and justice was not served properly to those who needed it.

    While I enjoyed this book, I felt that it wasn't on the same level as the author's previous books in the series. I never really felt connected with the new characters in this book and I felt like the old characters were just thrown in for good measure. The other books in the Gresham series (as well as Blackwell's other two Victorian series) had a certain charm and comfort feeling. You felt as if you were literally swept up into the story and transported into that time period along with the characters. This book however, gives sort of a standoffish feeling. I felt as if I was looking at the story from a distance. The romance in this story seemed to happen very fast and almost as an afterthought. After the quirky and accidental romances in the past 3 books, the one in this one fell flat and was not very believable.

    That being said, this is an enjoyable book. Fans of Jane Austen and other regency era type books will find this book a pleasure to read. If you've never read any of the other books in the Gresham series, you won't be lost reading this one as it can be read as a stand alone. However if you're a fan of the original series, this book is a nice way to catch up on everyone and is a good addition to the series. Hopefully this won't be the last we will see of Gresham and it's inhabitants.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    This book is a follow up of the Gresham series

    I love Blackwells Gresham books, they are fun to read and keep your interest. I like books that have good values with lessons you can learn. They even include a bit of historical value from them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Dud in a otherwise solid series

    The preceeding three books were lovely and gentle with solid messages about faith and romance. I was disappointed by how off and dark and uncompelling the story and characters were.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Terrific

    Love everything about this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Step away from former books in series

    I really enjoyed the simplistic, very pure books that preceded this one in the series... and still prefer them to this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Series is one of the best

    I read the entire series and loved them all. Makes you see that all things can lead to good. Characters are realistic with their both their bad sides and good sides. Are seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    Wonderful read = I just finished the Gresham series was was abs

    Wonderful read = I just finished the Gresham series was was absolutely delighted. Ms Blackwell drew her character so well and developed her stories so realistically I was sorry to see the series end. However, all the 'strings' were tidily tied up and all the characters lived happily ever after - or in a case or two not so happily. Thank you Ms. Blackwell for some wonderful reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Wonderful story

    The ladt in a series of 4 books. The author keeps the characters in all the books and they come to life as real people. Great storyline and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    So sweet!

    This series is the first time that I had heard of this author. After I had bought the first book in this series, I just had to buy all of the other three! They were absolutely wonderful. I sat and read them all at once. They held my interest from cover to cover and I got to find out what happened to all of my favorite characters from the beginning of the series right to their grandchildren! The added characters were great also and fit in perfectly. I would love to read more from her...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I liked it very much

    I order all of the books in series. I enjoyed them and ordered more by Ms Blackwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Good read!

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters are well developed and believable and there weren't to many religious references made which I really appreciate. I look forward to reading more of Lawana Blackwell's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Excellent read!

    I loved this book. It is a continuation of the Gresham series. Lawana Blackwell does such a great job of describing the characters. You feel as if you know each one. The entire series is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Best for last!

    The fourth in the series, Lawana Blackwell does not let the reader down! And saves the best in period Christian living for last. How wonderful to have enjoyed this entire set. My only disappointment is that it has ended. I could continue reading about this community and family forever. Thank you Ms. Blackwell!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    So nice

    I love this series. The story is engrossing but gentle, free of smut and filled with faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Good book.

    I thought that the beginning of the book started of a bit slow. It was a long time sense I had read the other books that included many of these characters. So I found a lot of the information a bit confusing in the beginning. Otherwise that book became a lot better after the first fifty pages or so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Come to Gresham

    Set in a small town outside of London, in 1884, this historical fiction is an interesting tale to read. I've always loved British literature, as it is fun to read the differences in language. I can be transported to another land. Of course, there are references to the water closet, and taking of tea, but also before a meal there's the "laying of cloth." Some allowances must be made I suppose for the author writing about taking a "nap." I believe Englanders are said to "have a lie-down."<BR/><BR/>This is a stand-alone novel, but because it is the fourth in a series, it would be better appreciated read it in order. However, I had not read any of the Gresham Chronicles before, and I did not feel at all left out. That speaks to the talent of the author.<BR/><BR/>As expected in a series, there are a number of characters and sub-plots. The dialogue is well-written and easy to follow. The characters are a bit flat: the good ones are good--through and through, while the villain is a scoundrel indeed! He even has a thick, black moustache! Still, it's a fun read. I loved Jewel and her daughter, Becky. Who wouldn't? Jewel seems to be a perfect Christian and mother, and five-year-old Becky lives to charm. I'm sure readers will be treated to more from them in a future work. Philip's marriage is an interesting sub-plot, and I suspect more will be heard about that. The reader is permitted the pleasure of peeking into Aleda's novel--another sub-plot with a promising future. The future of Gresham seems to be guaranteed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Take a trip to Gresham...

    I have finished this book and it was a lovely, historical romance with a lush setting in Gresham, deep characters, risky conflicts 'especially for the time period' and an all around great final product. I own the Gresham Chronicles by Lawana Blackwell and had been waiting for a downtime in my TBR pile so I could dive into them... that hasn't happened yet so I dove straight into this book instead. It took me just a couple chapters to orient myself to the characters that Lawana has developed over the course of three other books and then settled myself back for an interesting romp through Gresham. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I connected with the characters and how well Lawana was able to keep different plot lines and stories going along so smoothly. She also brings up to very edgy conflicts that she never names but innuendos well enough that it is clear and yet not crass. It made it easier for me to identify with some of the characters because they are modern topics that you don't always think of as being issues back then but in reality were probably even more prevalent. 'There is a teaser for you!' So come to Gresham and see what you have been missing and I truly hope that Lawana takes all of us back to Gresham soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Fearing for the safety of her daughter though she too is in danger, Jewel Libby flees her home heeding the advice of trusted friends she journeys to rustic Gresham to ask the Vicar Andrew Phelps and his wife Julia Hollis for sanctuary for her and her child. They take the newcomers into their home. --- Meanwhile Andrew and Julia are concerned about their relationship with her two adult children. Aleda the writer has become a hermit who wants nothing to do with anyone even her mother. Philip the surgeon is being pulled into opposite directions as he his wife loathes his closeness to his extended family and makes efforts to pull him away from them. When Andrew becomes ill, he needs Philip¿s medical skills, but efforts to help his stepfather angers his spouse. Meanwhile, Aleda inadvertently abets a nasty individual causing problems for the Gresham villagers especially her mom and ailing stepfather. Ironically fearful in hiding Jewel becomes a gem as she brings compassion and caring to a family in trouble. --- Fans of the Gresham Chronicles will relish this jewel of a tale as Lawanna Blackwell continues the account with more of a focus on Aleda¿s two adult children. The story line is character driven by the extended family which also includes Jewel and her daughter. Ironically they provide the lesson and inspiration to the extended Phelps-Hollis households of second chances and everyone needs someone who cares them and who they can care about too. THE JEWEL OF GRESHAM GREEN is a strong addition to a great saga. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2