Customer Reviews for

Jewish Literacy: The Most Important Things to Know about the Jewish Religion, Its People, and Its History

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Jewish Literacy

    Purchased this book to assist me in my conversion to Judaism process. I am involved with a group who are also interested in converting. The book is used as a supplement to our weekly classes.
    I find the book very helpful in understanding Jewish history, beliefs and current issues.
    It is well-arranged and well-detailed for my purpose.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Both Comprehensive and Readable

    This is a wonderful reference book that covers much of what is important about Judaism in a succinct, clear, and fair manner. From a strong summary of the different books of the Torah to descriptions of major Jewish historical figures to a list of the major Jewish holidays, this book probably has at least some information about almost anything you would want to know about Judaism. And considering that Telushkin is writing about a community that tends to have strong and varied opinions, I think he does a good job of being reasonably balanced and fair in his presentation of the material. This book definitely has a place in our permanent library, and I think it belongs in every Jewish home. It also inspired me to go back and read some of the primary sources Telushkin did such an excellent job of summarizing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm very happy I got this book

    It's very well written and easily understandbable. I am not Jewish but I wanted to learn more about the religion and their practices. It is well worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    I am a Christian with a desire to know and understand the bedroc

    I am a Christian with a desire to know and understand the bedrock of our Christian faith. Jesus Christ, Himself, is of the Hebrew world and for me, to know my Lord Jesus also means to know the world from which He came. This book is a great source of such information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Hey, more info on hews here!!!!!!

    Jewish people were burned,sophicated,imprisend,humiliated,and toorterd by germans shortly after the great deppression. All jews hair was shavedoff and women wore forced to undress in front of men for buckets of freezing water to be pourn over their heads for showers. If they did not they were shot or beaten to death. In most ghettos before becpmig slaves were places jews would stay in overcrowded houses or sleeping in yards which were locked up behind gates and armed by soldiers. Then they would go to concentration camps where they were taught how to behave by being and torcherd and imprisoned by gates and gaurds. And most of the time got daireah from no water and everyone shared a ditch for a bahroom. Women were locked in one area and men in the other. They had to sleep in shelve like beds on walls. In the death camps most went to the most feared death camp Aushwitz. When the got there most children and there mothers were sent to sophicate in gas chambers. A chamber in wich people are locked in and gas pebbles were pourn in so they would sophicate, then their bodies burned in smoke stacks. So was th process for eldrlys and people whom could not work. You were torcherd worse but everything else was probably the same besides people commiting suicide. If you survived the camps and was alive you would be live for deporation in which americans freed the jews. Here is the process. You would be in a train car and most likely 250 people in a 100 capacity car . You would be in for at least a week. Sweating an hungry the doors would open and you would run out and smile. Then german planes would shoot at you. You would run and hode. If you were lucky you would live in time for the american arrival. You would leave for the U.S. Another thing is a red cross truck would come handing out food. Once everyone crowded at the windows the shooting would begin shots in lungs eyes and fountains of blood from backs. Most were killed. Some injured. Little alive. If you made it you would be deported to america. If not you would be deported to Heaven. Thank you all who read this. Pray for sinners. Pray for Satan. Pray for those who diethis way. But be happy it is over. Be happy this tragedy in gone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    A must have!

    Trustworthy author and Rabbi brings us yet another wonderful book! Even the most observant Jew would benefit from adding this to the collection. Telushkin should be among the library of anyone, regardless of faith, because of the incredible insight he shares...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    HEY READ THIS

    Hey guys whats up? I am a christian and i know for a fact that judism isnt for real!!! First of all WHO WROTE MOST OF YOUR BOOK? All of the disciples of who? Jesus Christ! Read John 3:16... for God so loved the world that whosoever beleiveth in him shall not perish but have everlasting life! Do you feel alone in life? I dont because someone is always on my side AND he loves me SOOOO much he let a bunch of guys kill his only son!!! Cool stuff huh?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1