Customer Reviews for

Jezebel

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Perfectly written!

    This book has captured every part of what a Jezebel really is! Jacqulin Thomas is an excellent writer! This book shows you that even the spirit of Jezebel lurks around us but what made this book to me a best seller is that it let you see that even Jezebel could have been forgiven, had she wanted to be.. Jessie Belle met her fate but only after the time for her to make things right!! Her husband loved her in spite of even when folk were trying to make him see, but the love that he had for her was the love of God and he loved her unconditionally!! Whew Jackie!!I read this book in two days!! Great story and it touches your spirit....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was really good. The storyline was great. This is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Wonderful read!

    This book is very powerful. I read this book in one day! This book will make you do a self-examination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    An awesome read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What a great book. It was hard to put down. I enjoyed it from cover to cover. I love reading Jacquelin Thomas' book--she never lets you down. Keep your books coming Jacquelin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Sight Ain't Seeing

    Jezebel is the name often spoken in hushed tones, behind closed doors and flung at women who are considered 'loose'. The story opens by introducing us to Jessie Belle, a woman who is no stranger to the aforementioned whispers and derogatory remarks. With her reputation already sullied in the tiny town of Mayville, her options for escape are narrowing. The margin for departure enlarges when Traynor Deveraux fills in for his father at the annual revival hosted by Jessie Belle's father. Overcome by Jessie Belle's feminine whiles Traynor marries her and takes her away to the life she always dreamed of. Well, not really. Jessie Belle lives up to the name of her biblical mirror image as she controls, manipulates and destroys many of the lives around her for personal gain. Throughout the pages of this rich story you will see how easily intelligent God-fearing persons such as her husband can walk into catastrophe with open, yet unseeing eyes. The well developed characters and plot will keep you turning page after page in search of answers to raised questions. Without fail you are left with the knowledge that in spite of your failings, God is a forgiving God who accepts our wholehearted repentance. Reviewer/Dr. Linda F. Beed On Assignment Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb Americanization of the biblical tale of Jezebel

    In 1970 Mayville, Georgia, eighteen years old Jessie Bell Holt learned from her mom that sexual enticements work. However, if her daddy ever learned how she flaunts her assets, he would condemn her as having a Jezebel spirit. Somehow whether her father Reverend Holt chooses to ignore or remain ignorant, townsfolk know of Jessie Bell¿s reputation including an abortion and a miscarriage. --- Holt hosts Preacher Traynor Deveraux Jr. who is in town to provide a tent revival sermon since his dad is too ill to perform. Jessie Bell recognizes Traynor as her ticket out of town encouraged by her mom, she hooks the young preacher whose sermon feels God-inspired. Traynor and Jessie Bell marry. Over the years through her sexual and extortionist machinations, he becomes an international star while they raise their son. However, one day her reckoning will come, but Jessie Bell never expected the price she must pay for her transgressions yet still has one chance at redemption. --- Bringing the biblical tale of Jezebel into a modern text, Jacquelin Thomas provides a deep look at temptation in various forms. Jessie Bell is terrific as the lead protagonist as she learned very early how to sue her beauty to manipulate men in fact only her son who loves her deeply seems immune to her charms. Fans of inspirational Christian fiction will relish this powerful look at the Jezebel Spirit alive and well in contemporary America. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Must Read!!

    I started it and it bagan slow for me but then something happened and I couldn't put it down because I could not believe Jessie Belle was really off the chain like this! My pastor preached on Jezebel tendencies in 2002 & it still rings in my ears clear to stay clear of them and this book right here - OMG!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    incredible

    so important to remember that love covers a multitude of faults. however, a pastor and wife should be equally yoked. honest with each other and respectful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    This was a great book!

    This story kept me glued to it from the very beginning. my eyes watered up more than one time. you will be amazed by the story. what a lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wolf In Sheep's Clothing

    All Traynor Deveraux wanted to do was live his life for the Lord and preach the Gospel, but his wife, Jessie Belle's , sights were set on him making a name for himself. She wanted the mega church, the Christian radio station, the big house, expensive jewelry, luxury cars, high-priced designer clothes, etc., and she would stop at nothing to get them. She gave the appearance of a dutiful, loving first lady of the church, but appearances can be deceiving. Jessie Belle used manipulation, threats & blackmail to get what she wanted, and she didn't care who she hurt in the process, and that included her own family members. When her schemes and manipulation caught up with her - the first time when her husband found out some things, that is, because she doesn't quit there - she wouldn't take responsibility for her actions, but blamed those who allowed themselves to be manipulated. She went from controlling her husband to controlling the life of her only son, and then justified her selfish choices by claiming she was doing it all for them. Nearing the end of the story Jessie Belle must admit that she needs help to become a better person, and she knows that God is the One she must first turn to. This woman, referred to as Jezebel by many, repents of her wicked ways and works toward finding peace within herself and, most importantly, peace with God. But there's who I call a 'mini Jessie Belle' out there lurking - someone even more treacherous than Jessie Belle ever was; someone who brings much more pain to her life than she brought to the lives of others. I will admit that I don't open up my Bible to the Old Testament as much as I do the New Testament, so, although I'm familiar with the story of Jezebel, I don't know it well. Since I've read this book, I plan to take time to read about this queen of ancient Israel in 1 and 2 Kings. Jacquelin Thomas did a good job when she penned her contemporary version of the biblical story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    Jezebel

    I thought the book was pretty good. Jacqueline Thomas has always been a favorite author of mine. That book hit the nail on the head about having a Jezebel spirit. I'm glad Jessie Bell finally repented. I hated what happened to her, but you definitely reap what you sow. Her husband was really a great man. I would like to see a next book about him finally finding happiness with someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Do whatever it takes..............to get what you want!!!!

    Jessie Bell was not your originary Preachers Wife.........she did whatever it took to get what she wanted. However, she didn't plan on the end results. I would recommend this book, because it gave alot of insight on things. You have people in today society that are jealous of people, because they live in nice houses, drive luxury cars, and wear the finest clothes money can buy................but we never know what they are doing to get it. Read Jezebel!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    Great Read

    This book is amazing. I couldn,t put it down. This is the first book I have read by Jacquelin Thomas but not the last. Can,t wait to read them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED this book!!

    This is one of the best books that I have read recently. I kept turning pages waiting to read Jessie Belle's next move. Thank God that there was true repentance and redemption in the end.
    God blessed Ms. Thomas with another winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    wonderful

    I so enjoyed this book. Deception and control was Jesse Belle main thing
    she should have learned. Mrs.Thomas really did a wonderful job with writing this book it was a page turner from begining to end. Everything that shines is not always gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Watch Ur steps.

    Be careful what U invest Ur time in. Chasing after some things and/or people may cause U spiritual harm. This book is insightful and informative. Great 4 discussion groups and encouraging U 2 monitor Ur behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    NOT WHAT YOU WOULD THINK

    THIS WAS A GOOD BOOK.IT IS MORE THAT I EXSPECTED I TO BE. MAKES YOU RETHINK THE TERM "JEZEBEL"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2