BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jim Cramer's Real Money: Sane Investing in an Insane World

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Must Read

    Wonderfully done. Well written. Exciting and energetic like Jim Cramer. The most point specific and relevent information on the stock market available. A must read to fully aprreciate, for anyone interested in managing their own portfolios.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Good read Good read

    This book gives you the basics and helps build a great foundation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Cramer is for real people. Pro's take note!

    Cramer's book is must for the ordinary investor. The always entertaining and educational Cramer take on investing is invaluable. Professionals and scholars can certainly glean some common sense from this book as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Informative read, very magnetic prose - likely due to the timely topic

    Jim Cramer is both of Wall Street and of Main Street, this book gives a decent Main Street view of investing with enough math and analysis of stocks to allow you to manage the wall street jargon.

    Most money managers and many economists repeat the old adage about buy and hold - and warn against attempting to "time the market". Conventional wisdom recommends what millions of Americans do - dollar cost average so no matter how much you lose over 5 years, a 25 year position in the market will gently grow your nest-egg.

    Jim Cramer asks why keep your hard earned money in "high valued" equities when lower valued equities are there for the buying? When some hot stocks have grown in price and profits are stable, there may be market sections where stocks are down because profits are down. Those sectors will have endured cost cutting measures - maybe even dividend reductions. When that sector finally benefits from a renewed economy, those stock prices may be "low" and may give you double return - an increase in stock price AND the value of a dividend.

    Cramer writes about basic tools you can learn to view stocks in this manner. Read this book if you are curious about the stock market, re-read this book if you like the idea of trying to grow your money through well run companies you have researched, not hot tips from a friend or a financial advisor/broker. Even if you never trade independently and use an advisor and/or broker, the knowledge of Wall Street gleaned from this easy read will give you renewed confidence in the stock market as a thinking person's means of successful gambling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    real money, really useful

    for an investment book, it is very entertaining. there is a lot of useful strategies and info, especially on 'homework'. it is a good book for the first time investor with money (a couple thousand) to invest. not so great if you are working with a few hundred dollars. a lot of the principles still apply, but Mr. Cramer stays away from the penny stocks that you can afford at this level. I cant follow all the strategies at the moment, but I am following what works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Making money

    I'm really to busy making money to be doing a *^#*book review. I am new to Cramer but so far I am getting a lot from this book. It makes clear the things the Wall St. would rather us not know. I watch his show every day and than use his book to go more in-depth. Plus I have slowly been climbing out of the hole my stock broker had dug for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    Interesting Read!

    This book takes a fresh look at stocks. I only wish it was slightly more comprehensive and that it was a bit easier to follow in 1 or 2 places. I would recommend this book to anyone curious about stocks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    The whacky zany Cramer

    What's the best way to remember something? Associate an idea or concept with another idea that's funny and downright bizarre. It's a trick that assisted me through many tests. Cramer applies this important rule as an art form. Cramer also teaches us that work and play should be the same thing. Do what you love. If you're not happy with your work, improve yourself to the point where you love going to work each day. This is a lesson my successful great-uncle taught me when I was younger. He impressed this concept into me and I share it with everyone. Investing should be fun as well. If it's not, then you shouldn't be doing it. There's enough bitterness and cruelty in today's world. Why be a part of all that when you don't need to. Have fun and make money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    I learned a bit about investing years ago but forgtot about it because it seemed too hard to fully understand but Cramer really makes things simple. I read this book while first watching his show and no trouble understanding any of it. Cramer is Cramer. He just is who he is. Fact is , the man knows what hes talking about. So learn from his experience and make some Mad Money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Buy it

    this book is very helpful for anyone who is starting to invest in wallstreet. I must say that you have to watch the show and really follow Cramer to understands what he talks about. Even though he tries to make everyhting very clear, you must watch the show or listen to the radio show to undestand his style and tehcniques...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Recommended reading

    I would recommend reading this if you're into stock investments. It does carry a similar theme from his TV shows. He goes a little bit off track to entertain and then goes to the meat of the message. Overall, an above average Wall Street book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Thrown together, poorly organized book

    Being an avid reader of financial books, I was very excited to read this title from Cramer. Half-way through the book, I have come to the conclusion that this book is incredibly sloppy. The chapters are disorganized, rambling and have the chaotic feel of his TV show. The content of the book would be fine, if it was better organized and edited. I would not recommend this title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    A good common sense approach, with a bit of humor and style too!

    I really enjoyed this book, and I feel that it has given me some added insight regarding my current and future portfolio management. Jim's a very animated guy (just watch his CNBC show, Mad Money), and he makes a dry topic a fun and interesting read. Not everyone will agree with his strategies but not many will argue his success. I think every investor, or anyone who is involved in directing their own financial future, could gain some positive knowledge from Jim's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    cramer puts the fun back into stock investing

    The book is addicting wants to make you quit you day job and do this full time and mr cramer is an absolute genius who you can not get enough of and want to rear all his books and 1 day meet him in person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2