Customer Reviews for

Jinn

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Jinn, Nonstop Thrillride!!!!

    Gabriel Garcia Jinn Review The author of Jinn is a college grad student named Matthew B. Delaney. This is his first novel and it has received good reviews from authors such as James F. David. Readers can except a nonstop thrill ride, mystery, and absolute gut-wrenching horror throughout this adventure. We start the book in a war setting of1943, followed by a deep-sea diving mission to uncover a shipwreck, then end up in America of July, 2008. There are many new characters, everything from hobos to prison inmates, and war heroes to detectives. The main characters are full of emotions, and they all have their own stories behind them. I suggest that you read this book if you like blood, gore, war, mystery, crazy events, torture, chase scenes, and murder. You should be prepared to learn quite a bit about demonology in this dangerously fast-paced thriller. I also advise readers to avoid this if you feel this book is seems too intense for you. This writer does have a few grammatical errors, but other than that, this is a free-flowing book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a mystery in history that has a touch of romance. In my personal belief, on a scale of 1-10, I¿d rate this book a 9. So, are you ready for an intense thriller?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    One of the Best I Have Ever Read

    This is a fast-paced story in the mold of Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child and maybe even the master himself Dean Koontz. The writing is excellent and the story is fantasmagorical but not too far out there. I could not put this one down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    Well deserved winner of Best First Novel Award

    Excellent book and winner of International Horror Guild's Best First Novel. Fast paced, exciting, and sure to keep you up at night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Excellent

    Move over Stephen King, Matthew Delaney has arrived. For a first time author Matthew has managed what so few authors can do, keep me reading all weekend, just had to finish the book. I am an avid reader always on the lookout for new authors, and am looking forward to other books from Matthew. Sometimes its good to get lost in a book, and forget the world around you. Sometimes the number of pages will stop people from picking up a book, but to really get to know the charcters more is sometimes better. Some parts of the book are far fetched, flying off to Russia, but over all its a good summer read when there's more daylight and you don't have to keep the lights on all night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Better Than It Looked

    I picked this book out of the recommended titles and I almost didn't give it a chance. It was surprisingly good, I couldn't put it down, the plot twists and the central mystery surrounding it had me hooked. I normally do not like male writers for some reason, my tastes usually run towards the female gender but I really enjoyed this book and I'm passing it around to read in my family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    I loved it!

    Begins in May 1943: On a remote island in the South Pacific a squad of United States Marines do battle with the Japanese soldiers on the island. But something else is on the island, something ancient, and it is hunting humans. Bodies begin to pile up. Worse, the demon makes it off the island and onto The Galla, a WWII Merchant Marine Liberty ship. Only to be trapped aboard when the ship goes down. Continues in July 2008: Boston Homicide Detective Jefferson and his partner, Lieutenant Brogan, are after a serial killer. Bodies are being found posed and mutilated in bizarre ways. Their investigation will take them in many directions - from a sunken WWII ship, now in a Boston museum, to Blade Island, a prison where the inmates are terrified of something in 'The Pit', and a few side trips. ***** Jinn is a dark novel, full of action and suspense. Things just never slowed down. An intense read that had me jumping at any sudden noise. I loved it! This one will keep you engrossed in each dark page. Hard to believe that this is the author's debut novel. Highly recommended! *****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    First Novel, Really? Strongly recommended

    I loved this book, but I am not a spoiler, read it yourself. It has a pretty twisted plot to say the least, and keeps you guessing until the end. It can get a little complicated, so do not try it if your sleepy..you'll either lose yourself or be wide awake unitl 3 am. I really enjoyed the transitions from past to present and back. Wonderful history writing, it makes you feel like you were there right along with them all. But believe me, you do not want to be. This book truly has a little something for everyone! I am very excited for his next book. Fans of Preston/Child, Deaver, Rollins and some J Patterson will eat it up! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    A mix of all my favorite books and movies

    This is a novel of intense drama, horrific murders, rivetting investigations and plot twists that you'll never see coming! I found plot and character elements that could have possibly come from F. Paul Wilson's 'The Keep', 'Terminator 2', 'Predator' and 'CSI'. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. This was a good first novel for Delaney and I anticipate more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Jinn

    "Night of the Beast" and "Oogie Boogie Central" are still two of my favorites of the last several months, but now "Jinn" joins the group vying for Number One. Really great pulp fiction, top to bottom.Do NOT miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    I enjoyed the roller coaster ride!!!

    JINN was incredible! I read the rave review in PEOPLE magazine and bought it the next day. I could NOT put this book down. It is a thriller that at times made me gasp out loud. Cannot wait until Delaney's next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delightful blending of the horror genre with a police procedural

    By May 1943, the war in the South Pacific is a deadly island by island fight with moth sides suffering high casualties. However, the American marines and the Japanese military fighting on Bougainville Island find something else to terrorize them besides the war. They hear sick laughter in the night followed by a light where they gaze upon soldiers from both sides hung, impaled, beheaded, and a ¿creature¿ ripping through the stomach of a dead man from the inside. Private Eric Davis feels fortunate to escape when the Gallo picks him up, but the American vessel is promptly sunk. In 2007, undersea movie documentary director Pierre Devereaux directs an undersea filming of the wreck and subsequent raising of the Gallo. When the ship is brought to Boston, strange murders begin. Detective Will Jefferson investigates a double homicide following by more killings. Soon Will concludes that the culprit is a supernatural serial killer. Though too many sidebars cause clutter, this delightful blending of the horror genre with a police procedural and elements from other genres provide readers with a powerful tale. The story line is action packed regardless of the setting¿s era or locale. The key characters change depending on location, but enhance the feeling of terror. Quite descriptive and exciting, the JINN is a novel worth reading as the cretin comes across as a real nasty antagonist. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Jinn

    I want more!!! Please give us a part 2!!! I will be waiting...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    A Good Book

    It was a little hard for me to get into at first, but I fell into it in time and didn't get out until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    Great novel - bad editing?

    This was a great book - did not want to put it down.. But was disappointed in some of the typos and some of the mistakes in names and such. Kinda surprised this many mistakes came in on a book like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    What a total rip-off!

    Based on all the gushing reviews posted here, I hoped Delaney was the wonderful new writer on the scene. Well, he must have a lot of college friends writing his reviews. Is there anything original in Jinn? Delaney rips off every pop novel or movie, darned near scene by scene. His Private Ryan -opening should warn you, this guy has no life experience of his own to draw on in what he writes. Sorry, this overblown book is literally a 'steal,' cover to cover. How'd he avoid a plagerism lawsuit?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Great first novel from a talented young writer....

    'Jinn' is a very detailed and fascinating story that cannot be described in one word (i.e. mystery, drama, suspense, science fiction, horror) simply because it is partially all of these things! The story is so detailed that it makes it difficult to give a brief summary without giving away plot details and ruining it for others, so I won't! This book is definitely not for the faint of heart, but I feel that it has something for everyone. I was scared to go to sleep one night, puzzled the next, and always anxious about what Jefferson and Brogan would find up around the bend. I actually teared up at the end as well, which I did not expect. This is actually a fairly original story considering the day and age we are in where everything has been done, re-done, and done again, although there are certain details that were definitely influenced by other great authors. My only criticisms (if I would even call them that) are as follows. The 'killer' did some very specific things to the victims and rather than explain why, we are simply left wondering what the point of it was. For me that was a little irritating, although it apparently did not have a lot of bearing on the story or its outcome. I found it odd that the characters seem to accept the supernatural facts surrounding the case with little disbelief; they do not seem to feel that the fact that something 'not human' may be responsible is completely unbelievable and bizarre. The ending was dragged out a bit too long, mainly the last fifty or sixty pages, and while the plot truly thickened, became more complex and engrossing throughout the bulk of the book, I felt that one too many 'fake-outs' at the tail end wound up being overkill. It did not hurt the story, but I found myself rolling my eyes and thinking 'enough already, get on with it.' And although this may be nitpicking and has nothing to do with the story, I noticed several typos throughout and found it very distracting. This was definitely a fun read, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys crime, horror, suspense or sci-fi. The world of literature has a wonderful new voice, and I look forward to Delaney's next book with anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    Excellent and well written

    Delaney's novel had me engrossed and was so scary I couldn't read it at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2003

    It's good--- darn it...

    As a rule, novelists are a generous breed. We tend to welcome, with open arms, any new author who emerges in our midst -- especially when he¿s young and good looking, fresh from an Ivy League college, in possession of a multi-book, major-house publishing contract, has had a glowing review in People Magazine, and already has inked a profitable movie deal. In such cases, we graciously stand aside, smiling and nodding and adding our applause to that of the literary/cultural world at large. Uh-huh. Of course we do. And did I mention that what we write is fiction? Well, in JINN, his debut novel, Matthew B. J. Delaney is sure to infuriate a great number of us suddenly-aging authors; though uneven in parts, JINN is that good. JINN is a hybrid, an ambitious blending of several genres. It incorporates elements of science fiction, suspense and police-procedural into a sprawling story of an ancient horror arising to stalk the modern world. In his writing, Delaney skillfully utilizes imagery that has become ingrained into popular culture. His opening scenes --of a bloody World War II amphibious landing by Marines in the face of withering fire from Japanese defenders-- will be particularly horrific and vivid in the mind¿s-eye of many readers, in part because it draws so effectively upon Steven Spielberg¿s similar opening in the film Saving Private Ryan. In much the same way, Delaney crafts the post-invasion sequences so as to chillingly lead the reader to superimpose the jungle-manhunt scenes from the movie Predator, though Delaney delivers here in a far more effective way. When the book fast-forwards to present-day Boston, where police are baffled by a series of ghastly murders, Delaney¿s writing evokes, adeptly, such cinematic classics as Seven and Silence of the Lambs. This cinematic-oriented writing style is an exceptionally savvy strategy, and Delaney executes it with an unerring precision. It¿s an approach that makes JINN one of the most visually effective novels I¿ve read in a very long time. There are a few regrettable lapses in the editing --in one example, I winced when a passage noted that a photographer tripped his camera¿s ¿shudder;¿ but I imagine Delaney winced too, as have all writers who see such typos make it into the final book itself. More of an issue is the wish that the editor had tightened up the writing a bit, particularly in the narrative sandwiched between the action -- if only so we could eliminate any delay in arriving at the next shockingly well-written action scene. For when it comes to these money-shots, Delaney clearly excels. His writing becomes crisp and compelling, descriptive in a way that dares the reader not to turn the page, and the next, and the next. He is clearly in his element in these passages; just as clearly, he is in complete control of his story. Delaney writes with a confidence that more seasoned writers can only envy, and he is possessed of a writer¿s voice that delivers on his promises. Throughout JINN, I was struck by the beautiful writing of so many passages-- they were lyrical, mellifluous prose-poems in their wealth of description and insight. Delaney clearly loves the written word and already shows a mastery in his use of language. This is a writer we can expect to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    Jinn

    This one rivals Harry Shannon's knockout horror novel "Night of the Beast" for sheer entertainment. "Jinn" is the kind of pulp blast that is all too rare these days. Well worth your money and time and loads of fun.I disagree with the reviewer who thought it over-long and too ripe. This is the kind of novel you want to last a long, long time. Pure popcorn and therefore terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Jinn

    Up there with Brian Keene's The Rising for best first horror novel of 2003, but this is a genre-bender that also works as a police proceedural, a thriller, a war novel...WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2