Customer Reviews for

Jinx

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

SEE FOR YOURSELF...

I loved this book! Don't hesitate...just read it. You won't regret it.

posted by 10223762 on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rating: 3 The Low Down: Jean Honeychurch is going to finish

Rating: 3




The Low Down: Jean Honeychurch is going to finish out her sophomore year in New York City, living with her aunt, uncle and three cousins. She’s leaving Hancock, Iowa, glad to be getting away from the small house, large family, shared bathroom and one boy. ...
Rating: 3




The Low Down: Jean Honeychurch is going to finish out her sophomore year in New York City, living with her aunt, uncle and three cousins. She’s leaving Hancock, Iowa, glad to be getting away from the small house, large family, shared bathroom and one boy. A boy that Jean liked, a lot, but stopped liking once he became too possessive. Not that it was 100% his fault...




Jean is known as Jinx in the family, because bad luck seems to follow her around. And it looks like it followed her to the Big Apple, too. She’s just arrived, and already bad things are happening. First, her aunt and uncle forget to pick her up at the airport. Second, the cousin that’s her age, Tory, has really changed (and not for the better, either). Third, Tory’s gorgeous next door neighbor, Zach, almost gets nailed and badly hurt by a bike messenger avoiding a car. An accident that Jean sees before it happens, so she pushes Zach out of harm's way.




The next day she in confronted by Tory (who goes by Torrance now, thank you very much). Tory knows something’s up with Jean, that Jean knew the accident was going to happen. She knows what Jean is, and she wants to be a part of it. But when Jean starts to sense that Tory isn’t interested in using this information for good, she knows that she is going to have to delve into something she has been trying hard to forget about - a legacy that she didn’t ask for.




Best Thang ‘Bout It: I just love Meg Cabot. You know what you’re getting when you read her books, though there’s always a little secret in there, too. There was a little more darkness in this one! There’s some messed-up bidness up in here.




I’m Cranky Because: When you’ve read as many book as I have, having the main character be oblivious to a potential love interest can be derivative; but if it is an otherwise good book, I try to read it with fresh eyes.




To Read or Not To Read: Yes. It is a quick, fun read with a little bit of a dark side.




Jinx by Meg Cabot was published July 31, 2007 by HarperTeen.

posted by InkandPage on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    SEE FOR YOURSELF...

    I loved this book! Don't hesitate...just read it. You won't regret it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3 The Low Down: Jean Honeychurch is going to finish

    Rating: 3




    The Low Down: Jean Honeychurch is going to finish out her sophomore year in New York City, living with her aunt, uncle and three cousins. She’s leaving Hancock, Iowa, glad to be getting away from the small house, large family, shared bathroom and one boy. A boy that Jean liked, a lot, but stopped liking once he became too possessive. Not that it was 100% his fault...




    Jean is known as Jinx in the family, because bad luck seems to follow her around. And it looks like it followed her to the Big Apple, too. She’s just arrived, and already bad things are happening. First, her aunt and uncle forget to pick her up at the airport. Second, the cousin that’s her age, Tory, has really changed (and not for the better, either). Third, Tory’s gorgeous next door neighbor, Zach, almost gets nailed and badly hurt by a bike messenger avoiding a car. An accident that Jean sees before it happens, so she pushes Zach out of harm's way.




    The next day she in confronted by Tory (who goes by Torrance now, thank you very much). Tory knows something’s up with Jean, that Jean knew the accident was going to happen. She knows what Jean is, and she wants to be a part of it. But when Jean starts to sense that Tory isn’t interested in using this information for good, she knows that she is going to have to delve into something she has been trying hard to forget about - a legacy that she didn’t ask for.




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: I just love Meg Cabot. You know what you’re getting when you read her books, though there’s always a little secret in there, too. There was a little more darkness in this one! There’s some messed-up bidness up in here.




    I’m Cranky Because: When you’ve read as many book as I have, having the main character be oblivious to a potential love interest can be derivative; but if it is an otherwise good book, I try to read it with fresh eyes.




    To Read or Not To Read: Yes. It is a quick, fun read with a little bit of a dark side.




    Jinx by Meg Cabot was published July 31, 2007 by HarperTeen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    i love meg cabot! Oh and dont read this review!!!! Secret!!

    Omg im paco!!!!! Besides my husband, meg cabot is the most amazng person EEVVEERR!!!!!!!! I want to marry her and divorce my husband!!! She is amazing, and beauuuutiful!!!!! She is just sooo nice!!! Oh and one more thing...did you know shes a writer????? Sooo many hidden talents!!! Apparently she writes a lot of great books!!! So yeah gotta go see ya around!!!
    Love, <3
    Paco ;)

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    So far so good!

    Omg im getting this book! Halleujah for Meg Cabot.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Loved it

    I qish there was anpther book, it was ao awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    I enjoy this one by meg cabot

    Is book is really good and unusual for her right a good gril sprital and magic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Roxas

    ..........er............

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Sasha

    Hey smexy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read by Meg Cabot. . . Yet Again.

    This book combines teen problems, action, and magic all in one book and turned out amazing, which is. . . rare. <BR/>A girl named Jean, nicknamed Jinx for her bad luck is sent away from home because of something caused by her so called "bad luck", which you will find out later in the book that it isn't 'bad luck' but something else.<BR/>She goes to live with her 3 cousins and aunt and uncle in Manhattan, and she needs to get used to living with rich people, for she comes from Iowa. <BR/>She gets into a fight with her cousin and is officially in a 'war' with her, and there are great twists in the story you did NOT expect!<BR/>My jaw was open the whole time!<BR/>A lovely story. . .<BR/>Another Must-Read by Meg Cabot!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    Amazing

    Such a cute love story!! This is my 6th time reading this book and i love the plot twist! Great job megg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Amazing

    This was a absolutly fantabulous book the girl Jean is a jinx without knowing it so trouble awaits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Gr8 book

    I got this book from my schooo library and it turned out to be aa great book and since i have to give it up this wendsday i am thinking of getting it so ill always have it with me becausse i can only renew the book twice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    This was a disappointing book

    This book was extremely predictable. At first, the main character, Jean, explains how her life has problems, just like a lot of other books I have read. Jean seems to attract bad luck everywhere she goes, collecting the nickname Jinx. Naturally, she runs away from her problems. She moves in with her aunt, hoping her bad luck was left in her hometown, along with someone who has been stalking her. Her cousin Tory used to be so open to Jean, but now she is involved with drugs, and is convinced she is a witch who can do black magic. The boy next door is obviously the boy she is going to fall for, but who do you think has already “claimed him” but Tory, the witch. The whole book is about how Tory gets mad at Jean for liking Zach. At the end of the book, Jean’s stalker comes and finds Jean because Tory asked him to come. I thought this was a boring ending, as was the book as a whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Awesome book:)

    One of meg cabots best books. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Loved it!

    Can you say awesome?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Meg has done it again!

    I've always been interested in Meg Cabots books, so when I started this one, i was pleasantly content. This is a good read and plot. I would recomend to a girl who hasn't read in a long time- this will be a satisfying come back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Love2Read<3

    This book is awesome! I couldn't put it down. I didn't want it to end. I think Meg Cabot should make a sequel to "Jinx". Everyone should read it!! It's really good! It's funny, entertaining, kind of creepy.... all the good stuff ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Sequel please

    Meg do us all a favor and write a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Cierra

    Love it cant wait to buy more of meg cabot books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to like it more than I did.

    Meg Cabot is the author of the wildly popular "Princess Diaries" series (adapted into two Disney movies starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews), the "1-800-Where-R-You" books (loosely adapted into a short-lived series on Lifetime), "The Mediator" books (not yet adapted into anything), among a variety of other books for teens and adults.

    "Jinx" is Cabot's latest standalone teen novel.

    As her nickname might suggest, it is not easy being Jinx. Jean Honeychurch has been unlucky since the day she was born, with her luck only getting worse from there. Jean was even unlucky with her name: not Jean Marie or Jeanette, just Jean (although her last name does hearken back to Lucy Honeychurch in Forster's "A Room With a View" which is cool even though Cabot never mentions this fact in the story).

    It is because of her bad luck that Jean has to leave her family and friends in Iowa to come and live with her aunt and uncle in New York City. Readers don't learn exactly why Jean has come to New York until the middle of the novel. Until then Jean alludes to the reason she had to flee in annoying asides noting how no one knows the "full story."

    Jean had hoped to escape her bad luck in the big city, or at least dodge her reputation. But Jean's glamorous and sophisticated cousin, Tory, has other plans. In fact, she has a lot of plans where Jean is concerned. After another of Jean's unfortunate accidents, Tory realizes that Jean is magically gifted, which ties into an old family prophecy. Thrilled to have another witch in the house, Tory invites Jean to join her coven. But, for reasons that are revealed later in the story, Jean refuses. Family feuding and intrigue ensues.

    I liked the story here. But I wanted to like it more than I did. It was funny and light, which is really hard to achieve in writing. But certain elements of the prose were quite annoying. Every time Jean alluded to the "full story" of her trip to New York, I had to fight a strong urge to skim ahead and see what she was talking about. That's how long it took for Cabot to explain everything.

    Allusions like that are fun to build up the story, unfortunately Cabot doesn't use them very well in the narrative. Instead of creating tension the asides just make Jean seem like a pain for not explaining herself sooner. At the same time certain parts of the plot are predictable enough that it seems silly to build them up quite so much.

    Jean is also an infuriating heroine. She is incredibly likable, but also painfully naive and gullible. Cabot seemed to take Jean's "country fresh" personality way to far. Jean is so sweet that she is a veritable doormat to her less-than-loving cousin. Again and again Jean also shows herself to completely oblivious to what's going on around her. This behavior might be sweet for a country girl, but it seems forced--even for a sixteen-year-old from Iowa who may not be as worldy as this semi-jaded city dweller.

    This book wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either. (If the plot sound interesting, by all means give it a try.) I enjoyed reading it, but I expected more from the story and the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9