Customer Reviews for

Jinxed

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding

I would never have picked up this book based on the cover. However, the reviews of this author were very good so I took a chance, and I'm glad I did. The story was entertaining and fast paced with witty dialogue. A very enjoyable read.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Some of the reviews posted here are for Beth Ciotta, not Allan L

Some of the reviews posted here are for Beth Ciotta, not Allan Leverone, so the rating's probably not accurate.

posted by 17424871 on August 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Outstanding

    I would never have picked up this book based on the cover. However, the reviews of this author were very good so I took a chance, and I'm glad I did. The story was entertaining and fast paced with witty dialogue. A very enjoyable read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    What a Fun, Entertaining Book!

    I really loved this book! It's a fun read with a totally original plot, and a hero and heroine that completely charm your heart. Ms. Ciotta has a really fresh, quirky writing style that, by turns is wildly funny and heart-touching. The Atlantic City setting is different, too, which I liked. Oh, and the 'secondary love story' is definitely original. I think everyone will love these characters and root for them to win!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Very funny!

    This the first book I have read by Beth Ciotta and I loved it. At first glance you may think this is a book about a spoiled socialite, but Afia has substance and grit. The story of Afia learning to make it on her own and her growing relationship with Jake is very good! I love a book that is not only has a great story, but also makes me laugh.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Great Read!

    I wasn't sure about this one but I really enjoyed it and practically read it in 2 days. Loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Kberry01529

    The book this review is about is Final Vector. It was a quick read that kept my attention, I did not want to put it down! It is written about a regular person for regular people. I reccomend it highly, worth buying but glad it was free!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Anonymous

    A fun action packed read. I had a hard time putting the book down. The characters are believable and you will find yourself hoping they succeed in their quest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Good book

    Recommended

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    Jake and Afia's love story was a great read. So many twists filled with hot, sexy tension made it hard to put this book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    A Terrific Book!

    What a great debut for Beth Ciotta! This book is terrific! Ciotta's writing is smooth, with just the right blend of romance, suspense, appealing and quirky characters, and humor. This is a delightful book. Don't miss it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Excellent story and excellent writing!

    Allan Leverone did a top notch job! A very realistic story of an every day kind of guy winning against a cell of terrorists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A real nail-biter

    This is a great mystery suspense book, with a bit of romance in it. I enjoyed every word of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    WOW this was a good book!

    Could not put this book down until I finished. Briefly a terrorist sitting out to down Air Force One!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Engrossing

    An engrossing and fast paced thriller. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Page Turner

    I could not put this book down and finished it in one day. I will definately be buying more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Very good story.

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading this fast paced story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Jinxed

    So funny and worth reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Adorably Romantic

    Great story...loved the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Funny and sassy. Great characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Humor and Romance

    Loved the characters. Laughed out loud. Sweet and believable romance. Fun book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a ride!

    Have you ever read a book that was so realistic that it scared you? I don't mean horror or true-crime, I mean a fictional book that affects you so profoundly that you keep looking over your shoulder to make sure the bad guys aren't right behind you. This is the kind of book you'll find with Final Vector by Allan Leverone. The author takes an everyday guy with a regular job-Nick Jensen, air traffic controller at BCT, the Boston Consolidated TRACON in Merrimack, New Hampshire-and spins a tale of intrigue, murder and a band of terrorists bent on blowing the president's plane out of the sky. I initially thought this book was going to be pretty similar to other thriller books I've read, but that's not the case here. The author does an excellent job of revolving the story around Nick and he makes you care about the guy. Without giving anything of the plot away, Nick's life is turned upside down by a personal tragedy. That tragedy, however, is what sets the plot into motion. The other characters could be anyone you'd pass by on a street in any city in America. Tony Andretti, the Syrian born terrorist, has lived a model life in the USA for the past 10 years, waiting for his moment to shine and kill the leader of the free world. He carefully recruits a band of home grown young men who are dissatisfied with America. These men more or less worship the ground Tony walks on whether is through true hero-worship or Tony's own brand of intimidation, and they relish the thought of striking a blow against America. Mr. Leverone gets inside these guys head's and lets the reader understand how they think. Lastly, there's Kristin Cunningham, the cute petite FBI agent, who has been defying people's expectation of her for her entire law-enforcement career. The author bounces chapters between Nick, Tony and Kristin bringing the reader up to speed on their activities and slowly reveals how they are all connected. By reading the book blurb, it's easy to see that everyone ends up at BCT, but that's the only thing that's easy about this book. It keeps you on the edge of your seat, reading pages as fast as you can, to see what happens. Trust me, it's not the cookie-cutter kind of ending where the FBI comes in with guns blazing and saves the day. No, it's much more clever than that. Nick, our everyday guy, has to figure out a way to disarm three terrorists, save his colleagues and live. That's a huge job and I highly recommend that you read this book and find out what happens. You will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3