Customer Reviews for

Jitterbug Perfume

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    Jitterbug Perfume

    this is one of those books that leaves your chest hurting and your head spinning. i didn't even realize how engrossed i was in it until it was a day later and i was almost done. the characters wouldn't let go of me, and i couldn't read anything else for weeks. i even absentmindedly called my friend Katie 'Kudra' once, and drew some weird looks. anyway, this book is just...magical. Priscilla is a wonderful mix of uncertainty and passion, nonchalance and love, while V'lu leaves you wondering, never really knowing where her loyalties lie. Alobar is the character i liked the most, because half the time you want to smack him and the other half you wanna give him a big hug. He's a naive king, and an optimistic cynic. He and Kudra's relationship evolves in front of your eyes, and that was what really impressed me, because not many writers can pull that off sucessfully. Ricki and Wiggs are the human aspects of the book, so obviously flawed, and Pan, of course, is the thing that ties them all together. That and the perfume. And beets, for a reason that i won't ruin for you. A must read for anyone, really.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beet-licious

    I keep going back to this novel every few years, have read it maybe 5 times now? There are few authors that craft such impeccable senteces like Tom Robbins. And have such outlandish plots! His latest stuff I'm not into that much, but the first 5 books he wrote - genius.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    Best book I've reread in years

    Hadn't read it in years - reminded me of why I loved reading. By page 22 you realize that you're not putting down this book until you're finished. Wonderful breath and depth of feelings. An adventure for the soul.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Awesome

    Super awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    A beautifully written and highly entertaining view into this life

    Nothing more to add. This is my all time favorite book followed closely by Another Roadside Attraction

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    One of the best

    One of the best works of fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Possibly Me Favorite Book

    Jitterbug Perfume is an epic, stretching from the 8th century to the 20th. It will dazzle the senses and bring new ideas to your mind. However, if extreme verbosity is not your thing, don't pick this up. Tom Robbins is a playful author who will take you away from the narrative to wander in his head.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Learn the secret to longevity and more!

    I have read this many times in my life. I have found it entertaining and a guide through challenges in my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    My favorite book ever!

    One of the very few books I've read multiple times. Definitely the most original. I always get something new out of it at each reading. Buy into the wackiness and readers won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Perfect. Beautiful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    as wonderful as beets are red!!

    I'd like to keep this simple--this book was some of the most entertaining, thought-provoking time i have ever spent between the pages of a book. Tom Robbins has cemented himself a spot in my top five, even if it weren't for his other books (which i also love) this single text would be enough for me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Best Book EVER

    Tom Robbins is insightful and witty. His books make you laugh and think about everything imaginable. He's just a wonderful writer. Jitterbug Perfume is the best of all of his novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Loved it!

    Jitterbug Perfume was an excellent read. It is an engaging, passionate, and exciting novel and I highly reccomend it to anyone who loves to read. Alobar and Kudra's travels truly made me see the world in a different way. PS Don't forget your dictionary when reading this though, Tom Robbins has a very extensive vocabulary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    A bible

    If you've started to take life to seriously, to the point that you might even think yourself mortal, this book is the antedote. Wrapped up in all the fizzing metaphors, sexy romps, historical beetroots and throwaway gags, you'll find Buddhism with a sense of humour, spirituality with human warmth and everything you need to inspire you once conventional religion proves insufficient. And it's a good story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    A musr A must read

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very entertaining and provocative

    This read was a nice surprise. I picked up the title through an interview with an unknown to me actress reading In Style magazine and it sounded interesting. Having grown up in an Irish/Polish family, I can appreciate the root vegetables, especially beets, so found Robbins' way of making them the centerpiece and binding thread of the story humorous. It also gets you to thinking about man's quest for agelessness and immortality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book!

    Bizarre story that sucks you in and makes you think twice about beets. I love Tom Robbin's way with words!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great read!

    5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Robbins best

    Couldnt put it down. Imaginative and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    One of my favorite books, which I already read a few times and w

    One of my favorite books, which I already read a few times and will read again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5