Customer Reviews for

Joanne Fluke's Lake Eden Cookbook:: Hannah Swensen's Recipes from The Cookie Jar

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great recipes

I was disappointed that this did not have all the recipes mentioned in her previous books but that would have been handy but I'm glad to get more! I was originally scared off buying this book from the previous reviews but went ahead and bought it becuase I didn't want ...
I was disappointed that this did not have all the recipes mentioned in her previous books but that would have been handy but I'm glad to get more! I was originally scared off buying this book from the previous reviews but went ahead and bought it becuase I didn't want to miss any interactions between Norman, Mike and Hannah. If you're worried like I was - don't be. There's only about 6 pages of "story" line in the whole book.

I'm still pleased that this book continues with her simple recipe explanations and tasty recipes. Good buy if you want to cook cool and interesting foods.

posted by Charla6321 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What happened to ALL the recipes?

I would have preferred more recipes and less story. The author's website said that the upcoming book would include ALL the recipes listed there - along with some new ones. It's nice to have the new ones, but I was hoping for the rest of those that were previously publis...
I would have preferred more recipes and less story. The author's website said that the upcoming book would include ALL the recipes listed there - along with some new ones. It's nice to have the new ones, but I was hoping for the rest of those that were previously published. Having them all in one book would be handy. If I had seen this book in the store instead of ordering online, I might not have made the purchase. Also, Ms. Fluke should stop talking down to us in her instructions. I would think that most of us enjoy this series because of the recipes (let's face it, there are better mysteries out there) and we don't need such simplified directions. By the way, for an author who takes pride in her character's language skills, she should know that Monterey jack only has one "R" in it.

posted by 389403 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Extremely Disappointed

    I thought the book was to contain all the recipes from the series, including new ones. Many of my favourite recipes were missing. The variety, and amount of recipes, from the 'Christmas Cookie Murder' book had more to it, than this book. I wish I would have looked through the book, befor buying. I would not have bought the book. I wouldn't even give it away to a friend, since I don't like short changing my friends. I'm extremely disappointed!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    What happened to ALL the recipes?

    I would have preferred more recipes and less story. The author's website said that the upcoming book would include ALL the recipes listed there - along with some new ones. It's nice to have the new ones, but I was hoping for the rest of those that were previously published. Having them all in one book would be handy. If I had seen this book in the store instead of ordering online, I might not have made the purchase. Also, Ms. Fluke should stop talking down to us in her instructions. I would think that most of us enjoy this series because of the recipes (let's face it, there are better mysteries out there) and we don't need such simplified directions. By the way, for an author who takes pride in her character's language skills, she should know that Monterey jack only has one "R" in it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great recipes

    I was disappointed that this did not have all the recipes mentioned in her previous books but that would have been handy but I'm glad to get more! I was originally scared off buying this book from the previous reviews but went ahead and bought it becuase I didn't want to miss any interactions between Norman, Mike and Hannah. If you're worried like I was - don't be. There's only about 6 pages of "story" line in the whole book.

    I'm still pleased that this book continues with her simple recipe explanations and tasty recipes. Good buy if you want to cook cool and interesting foods.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of the Hannah Swensen culinary whodunits will enjoy the sweet tooth recipes from nine of the fourteen tales

    Fans of the Hannah Swensen culinary whodunits will enjoy the sweet tooth recipes from nine of the fourteen tales and more (some new ones not in the novels). Hannah, her partner Lisa Beeseman and Grandma Knudsen offer baking tips like the size of eggs in a recipe and the definition of butter. If you live in Lake Eden, Minnesota waking up in winter means room temperature is a bit cooler than the average and baking heats the kitchen. Hannah and Lisa cater Swenson's mom Delores' cookie exchange with Razzle Dazzle Baked Brie and Peanut Butter and Jelly Pie. There is much more like Herb's Wedding Cookie Cake and Boggles (the mind) with many more recipes. With commentary and pearls of wisdom (hide candy to be used in a recipe inside the vegetable crisper as kids never go there) throughout enhancing the fun, readers who bake will enjoy the best of The Cookie Jar.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    JOANNE FLUKE┬┐S LAKE EDEN COOKBOOK by Joanne Fluke Love Joanne Fl

    JOANNE FLUKE’S LAKE EDEN COOKBOOK by Joanne Fluke
    Love Joanne Fluke books and just thought this would be a recipe book but I was wrong. There is a story in there
    about the cookie swap they have. It's easy to keep track of everybody over the years and I love these series.
    Book also includes a hard copy of a recipe along with all the recipes from the Cookie Jar which Hannah runs in Lake Eden.
    Love how the recipes give you not only tips on how to make them but other most useful tips on brands, measurements and how to serve-hot or cold and anything else she feels might be needed. I can't wait to try some of the ones in this book.
    Love hand drawn pictures of different vegetables, dishes, etc. I wish this book was spiral bound so the print would be bigger and it'd fit on my recipe holder better.
    Can't wait to make the Angel Kiss Cookies. Love the tip about the size of baking pans!
    Loved hearing all the stories they shared while feasting at the cookie swap. The stories brought a smile to my face!
    Love end result of the charity.
    I received this book from The Kennsington Books in exchange for my honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Disappointed

    I thought this was going to be only a collection of all or most of the recipes that are in all the book. You know ALL recipes in one place. I didn't not expect the story. And where are all the recipes? Also what I found very odd was that there was Not a category of "Cookies" there was Cookie Bars, but not Cookies. Which is really strange since she always has cookies in all story about "The COOKIE Jar" My daughter's favorite is "Chocolate-Covered Cherry Delights" from book one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic addition to this series!

    Review by Valerie:

    You are invited to Delores Swensen's 4th Annual Christmas Cookie Exchange Luncheon! Wow! We, at Romancing-the-Book, have a special treat for one of our followers. You can win your very own advanced paperback proof of this fantastic cookbook! Not only does Joanne Fluke include lots of comments by Hannah to help you along, but you also have a storyline that flows smoothly between the recipe sections. To start off this event, would you like to try a Razzle Dazzle Champagne Cocktail (real or faux)? Yes, the recipe is included for both, as well as recipes for lots of other cookies from chicken salad to black forest brownies. What a wonderful addition to anyone's cookbook collection, but a special one for readers of the Lake Eden Community!

    Quote: "Almost everyone mother invited wants me to bring some type of recipe." Page 4

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    A Taste (or Three) From Lake Eden

    If you love, love, love Joanne Fluke and the Hannah Swensen adventures in and out of her bakery/café'; "The Cookie Jar" and have many times regretted that you didn't jot down a tempting recipe from one of her books.Regret no longer!! Your wishes have been answered with "The Lake Eden Cookbook". Besides tried and true collected recipes from approximately nine editions, this cookbook encompasses much, much more! You will find so much to enjoy and use; from snippets from some of her beloved books, baking tips, notes by Hannah, Lisa and even Grandma Knudsen, in addition to the mountain of recipes for mouth-watering goodies from appetizers and easy one dish meals to muffins, pies, cakes and of course, cookies, and beyond. I'm enthralled by the no-bake cookies at the moment and intend to make "Norwegian Chocolate Pizza" among others, as soon as the weather cools around our corner of Northeastern Pa. You will love this collection and it will be a wonderful addition to your cookbook shelf-one you will refer to time and time again..I know I will! Nancy Narma
    **Kensington ARC**

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Hannah Swensen, this is a must have!

    It is so nice to have so many of the story's recipes all in one place! I was finding myself hunting through my large collection of "Cookie Jar" mysteries every time I wanted to make a new delicacy, and that was frequent. THANKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    4.5! A KEEPER! WHAT A DELICIOUS COOKBOOK WITH INTRODUCTION TO LAKE EDEN CHARACTERS....LAKE EDEN COOKBOOK BY JOANNE FLUKE'S

    JOANNE FLUKE'S LAKE EDEN COOKBOOK: HANNAH SWENSEN'S RECEIPES FROM THE COOKIE JAR by Joanne Fluke is an interesting mystery/fiction featuring Lake Eden characters and a collection of mouthwatering receipes. What a charming idean to mix the characters of Lake Eden with a collection of delicious receipes. This is more that a cookbook it is also a visit with the friends of Lake Eden. If you have never read,which I have not, this is a fun way for an introduction to the "Hannah Swensen" series and it has dozens of recipes as a bonus. A must have book for not only the stories within but for the recipes. A keeper. Received for review from the publisher. Details can be found at Kensington Books, an imprint of Kensington Publishing and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1