Customer Reviews for

A Job From Hell (Ancient Legends Book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1690)

4 Star

(453)

3 Star

(197)

2 Star

(92)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

217 out of 231 people found this review helpful.

Could not put it down!

If you are trying to decide to read this series or not, don't wait! Trust me.
A job from hell is the first book in the Ancient legends trilogy. It's a fantastic paranormal story with an intricate, complete and original world-building consisting of perfect dialogues, c...
If you are trying to decide to read this series or not, don't wait! Trust me.
A job from hell is the first book in the Ancient legends trilogy. It's a fantastic paranormal story with an intricate, complete and original world-building consisting of perfect dialogues, compelling character development and many paranormal elements that include Shadows, Demons, Goddesses, Succubi, Vampires, Fallen Angels to name a few.
Amber has a wonderful character and the combination of sarcastic humor and a roller-coaster plot make the whole book one of the best ones on the market. The ending is fantastic, and something I never expected. Worth every cent!

posted by Administrator4Books on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An interesting & exciting storyline

Sarah for That Bookish Girl reviews: The first two things that stood out to me with A Job From Hell were the characters (mainly the secondary ones) and the sheer amount of plot. It book isn't choppy or drawn out - there is still an overall story arc that continues throu...
Sarah for That Bookish Girl reviews: The first two things that stood out to me with A Job From Hell were the characters (mainly the secondary ones) and the sheer amount of plot. It book isn't choppy or drawn out - there is still an overall story arc that continues throughout the book, but believe me, a lot happens. I would definitely classify it as a page turner - it is one of those books that keeps you up half the night. The great thing about this book in particular, is that because the plotline is so packed full with action, you are rewarded for spending hours reading. Every time you think you figure something out, the story progresses even more. It's incredibly refreshing to see an author poor so much into the first book a series, instead of spreading it out over multiple books. Now, let's talk about the vampires. Yes, I know, another vampire book. But before you disregard A Job From Hell, let's talk about what other fantastic creatures and all around creepies are in this book. honestly, it's like a melting pot of paranormal characters. There is a demi goddess, succubi, demons, a hell spawn (literally - she is the daughter of Lucifer), demons, Shadows (a cool/slightly creepy group of immortal warriors) and of course, some truly awesome vamps. What I am saying is that Scott brings an exciting mix of characters to the party and it makes for an interesting time. I appreciated the fact that Scott tried to make Amber an informed heroine, who is conscious of the perks and faults of a relationship with a vampire, but at times her back-and-forth narrative got on my nerves. She is constantly toying with the concept of dating Aidan, should she or shouldn't she? I enjoyed and appreciated that she didn't just immediately fall to his feet, but the characters thoughts soon got repetitive. It got to the point that I didn't care if she decided to be with him or not, I just wanted to her make a decision and stick with it. The secondary characters were much more entertaining to me than Amber. Like I stated earlier, this book is full of different paranormal/supernatural creatures. My two favorites were probably Kieran (Aidan's brother and a vampire) and Cass (Lucifer's daughter). Both characters were extremely witty and well written. I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed the two of them together. They are constantly bantering and bickering - honestly, they are just great. Cass is a complete spitfire and Kieran is a total wiseass. Which, happen to be two of my favorite character archetypes. Basically, if you are looking for an action packed, exciting dynamic story, I would definitely checkout a Job From Hell. Honestly, if you are purchasing the ebook version, at 99 cents you cannot go wrong with this one. You are sure to get hours of entertainment out of this one.

posted by Sarah1033 on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    One you won't forget

    Do you read books, recall the title and yet forget exactly what the book was about? I don't think this will happen with A job from Hell. It lingered on my mind long after reading it. It was a good read, but sorry, my loyalties are still with Patterson even if a job from hell was good.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Quite complex though not my usual read

    I usually read contemporary fiction and romance, so this wasn't my usual read, but I do appreciate good writing when I see it. Good plot and interesting characters, and certainly a fast paced story. It reminded me a bit of Nora Robert's style when it comes to character development, but the dark side of the characters, and there were plenty of hidden layers to them, was kept lighter with the infused humor, maybe to keep it age appropriate. At my age, I've probably missed being part of the target audience by at least fifteen years, but the storyline was complex enough to keep my attention. It made for an interesting change in my usual reading routine and preferences, and it's even inspired me to give the odd young adult novel a try. Would recommend.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Funny book

    I don't usually leave a comment but this one was awesome, great plot that kept turning and had me hooked until I couldn't stop reading. Didn't expect it would be this good.Have recommended to all my friends.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    A job from hell

    What could be better than a summer in Scotland house-keeping in an old yet incredibly beautiful mansion that is owned by a boss you rarely ever see? Although cooking and cleaning are not really strengths (or even skills) she possesses, seventeen-year-old Amber sees the job as the perfect escape from her off-again relationship with her boyfriend and a way to build her college fund. Surely she can fake her way through a little cooking and cleaning, right? Within a few days of her arrival, Amber gets a call from her brother Dallas who convinces Amber to accompany him on a smash and grab mission in the woods near the mansion. This is one of the few instances in A Job From Hell that I couldn't really buy into for two reasons: 1) I couldn't accept that being siblings was reason enough for the otherwise smart and responsible Amber to go along with theft and; 2) Scott goes to great lengths to establish the remote location of the mansion so how likely is it, really for Dallas to have found out about the jewels and their location in such a remote place? I got over myself and kept reading. The ill-fated trip into the woods establishes Amber as the winner of a paranormal contest that was meant to be won, this time around, by none other than her boss, the totally lickable vampire, Aidan. For Amber, being a mortal and the winner of a paranormal contest is a dangerous combination. What Amber begins to discover is that winning the contest imbued her with certain powers that are held in high regard by most of the paranormal world. In other words, the pretty little mortal now has a huge target on her back, it so sucks to be her! As Aidan begins to unravel Amber's role in the contest he also discovers an undeniable attraction to his housekeeper that he just can't shake. Aidan's attraction to Amber causes him to take more and more risks in order to ensure her safety and protect her life. One of the things I like most about this book is Amber's attitude and toughness. Rather than freaking out over the fact that her boss is a vampire and most of his friends are either vampire or some other breed of weird, she takes it all in and rolls with it. Additionally, as Amber comes to know Aidan and his reasons for so desperately wanting to retrieve the jewels himself, she sees no alternative but to suck it up and help him if she has any hope of returning to her normal life. Amber is resilient, snarky, and vulnerable all at once while Aidan is protective, stubborn, and vulnerable all at once. Aidan and Amber's journey is fraught with drama, dilemmas, near-death (which is kind of huge for immortals) experiences, and ultimate victory. What the reader doesn't see coming is the ultimate victory and what that victory actually is. Thank you, Jayde Scott for this particular ending - I find it tiring and completely unsatisfying knowing how a book is going to end before it actually ends. Bottom line: this book was very good and perfectly directed at a young adult audience. For me, this book has it all: strong lead and secondary characters; a plot that is both strong and interesting; an appropriate level of fighting and action; and just a little bit of romance. In all, I found A Job From Hell quite entertaining and would certainly recommend it to those who enjoy a lit

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Good book

    Amber is a wonderful character. She really draws you into the book. very well written. On to the next one!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    best bargain

    This book is fantastic and wonderfully captivating. It is unlike anything else out there right now, and I highly recommend it!! Can't wait for the second one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    recommended

    This is the first book in a long, long time that has touched me this deeply

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    exceeded my expectations

    A paranormal book with good humor, finally. There was much going on in each chapter. Amber settling into scottland, her trying to be the domestic goddess, the romance between aidan and amber, her funny relationship with her brother, her going to the woods, winning the first price, her being kept prisoner by shadows and somebody rescuing her for a reason ( and it is not who who you think it is), only to demand from her to die so that she can descend into the otherworld. It's a fantastic plot. Can't wait to read the next book of this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    A very good book - I really appreciated how she put at the top of the chapter whose point of view she was writing from when she changed from writing from Amber's point of view. I was disappointed with the ending. I feel like she left the reader with a lot of unaswered questions about Aiden and Amber's relationship but overall a very good book to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    I purchased this book because I came across the sequel and decided to start with the first book (although it appears these books stand alone as well). I haven't read through a book so fast since I purchased "The Hunger Games" trilogy! The characters are fresh, and the book doesn't dwell on the "same old, same old" vampire myths. Don't get me wrong, there are some in the story, but we are not innidiated with the same information and then dwell on it for three chapters! The plot was good and I really enjoyed the jovial aspects of the story. The only complaint I have (and reason I only give four stars instead of five) is that the book ends too quickly. I really wanted to continue for just a bit longer with the characters. Perhaps we will revisit them in a future edition!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    A Paranormal romance that will not disappoint you

    OK so here goes.I never write reviews for books- as I think books are like art, creatively written with everyone having their own interpretations so there is not really a " best" and " worst" out there. Right?
    I happened to find this book while searching for a good book to read and for 99 cent I don't think I had anything to lose. But Wow. A job from hell is amazing. I am complete awestruck. Everything fits perfectly. The whole book was intense, loved especially page 308 till 398 when Amber descended into darkness to the threshold of death that no-one survives and the way Aidan reacts- I thought I would need a heart monitor. What a beautiful heart wrenching story of almost betrayal and dark love.
    The price of 99 cents is way too low- it was worth much more than that!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Entertaining!

    Might as well read it! Funny and romantic! Definetly a good read and I loved it!:)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    very funny and quirky

    First book ive read from this author. I was very entertained and read the book in two days because i was curious what would happen next. Will read more from her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    enjoyed it

    loved the intricate plot- didn't even see the twists coming

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Worth the buck

    I was pleasantly surprised by the book for just a dollar. Some parts were really hilarious. Will read the next book in hope for more romance between Aiden and Amber.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Okay

    Not the best book I ever read and I'm not crazy for Amber but I enjoyed the read definitely worth $0.99

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good

    It was a pretty good book. Kept me guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is a really good book. But the book ending is disappointing. But other then that i loved the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    So-so

    Pretty decent for a free book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    great

    This was great!!! Better than vampire academy or twilight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23