Customer Reviews for

Joe DiMaggio: The Hero's Life

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    (Parenthetically speaking)

    Somebody! (Anybody)! I'm begging you (Pleading, even) Tell me that Richard Ben (leave off the 'jamine') Cramer at some point (any point) stops with all the asides that are set off with parentheses. I'm about 100 pages (maybe 150) into the book and although the information is very interesting (I could almost say 'fascinating') the endless parentheses are infuriating. I'd like to ask the autrhor (and especially his editor) why they couldn't construct a sentence (or paragraph) that would negate (render unnecessary) the use of all the asides.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Help

    For the people who have read this, I dont want to read this and have my whole perspective change about Joe DiMaggio. I think of him as a great man and if this biography will make me think of him as a bad person im not sure if I want to read it. So I guess my question is, will this make me think that about Joe DiMaggio?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    DiMaggio

    I can understand why DiMaggio did not want Cramer to write this book. I could not put this book down. If you do NOT really want to know the real DiMaggio this book is not for you.It starts off when he was a kid to the day he passed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I started reading this book, i was a little skeptical about whether or not i should continue. The beginning wasn't all about baseball, like I thought the whole book would have been. Then i realized that it was in fact a biography, and Joe DiMaggio wasn't a baseball player when he was five years old. This book talks about pretty much everything that Joe had been through in his life his first job, the first baseball team he was ever on, his first girlfriend. It even tells us about his best friends when he was a kid. Other then telling us about Joe DiMaggio and his life, I think Cramer was trying to get his own point across: Never give up. I think that one of the reasons Cramer mentioned such bad, and dark things that happened in DiMaggio¿s life is because he wants to show what Joe had to overcome. Joe never gave up, and he became one of the greatest baseball players to ever play the game. I like how Cramer went into detail about almost everything, such as describing Joe's childhood friends. At the same time, that was something i also dislike a little bit, because that took away from the baseball part of the book. The more Cramer went into detail about the non-baseball part of Joe's life, the more that took away from the baseball part. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a baseball fan, even if that person knows nothing about Joe DiMaggio. Even if you are not a baseball fan, this book would still be good, but it would still be hard to understand what Cramer is talking about sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    WELL RESEARCHED

    Though I am a huge Mets fan, I found this book to be a very interesting read into Joe DiMaggio the man, as well as Joe DiMaggio the Yankee. I especially enjoyed reading how the relationship between the Yankee organization and DiMaggio evolved throughout the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    A Major League Biography By Cramer

    Richard Ben Cramer has written a very interesting and well-written biography about Joe DiMaggio that is hard to put down. Be warned, however, that much of what is written about DiMaggio will make you realize that he may not have been as deserving of the pedestal on which the American public allowed him to live his life. Rather, Cramer makes DiMaggio less of an icon and more like what the rest of us are -- mere mortals and very human. Cramer certainly gives DiMaggio his due as an outstanding baseball player and worthy of the legendary status he still holds. However, he does not mince words in describing DiMaggio's frailties as a husband and father as well as his self-centeredness and, oftentimes, selfishness as a friend and business associate. While DiMaggio has been loved and worshiped by millions of people for his heroic baseball accomplishments, he appears to have lived much of his private life -- particularly his post-baseball life -- as a lonely and unhappy man. Richard Ben Cramer's 'Joe DiMaggio: A Hero's Life' is much more than a biography about a baseball player. It is a book that transcends the game and it's players and very clearly makes evident that the public image created by the media about our heroes may not be true representations of what these people are really like. Much controversy has surrounded this book in terms of the honesty in which Cramer portrays various episodes about DiMaggio's life. Regardless of how much of what is written is true, this is a book that is well worth reading and one I'd highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    Behind the Black Curtain of a Hero

    Yes, there are some references in this book that perhaps only fans of baseball can enjoy. However, overall, this book gives a detailed and deafeningly dark look at the life of one of the icons that everyone appreciated during his prime. If you have any inkling to learn about what the life of a star is like, I doubt you will find a better reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    A Dark Portrait

    A sad look at the true life of Joe. It was an eye opener and I think a good buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    A Real Winner!

    An interesting, albeit nostalgic and depressing look at one of America's heroes. This account is a real value play for sport's buffs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    Joe DiMaggio's Best Biography

    Richard Ben Cramer tells a most comprehensive story of the life of one of America's greatest sports figures. Some readers may be upset and dissappointed by what they read, but to expect our sports heroes to be anything but complex isn't being realistic. For all the Red Sox fans who feel Joe D. could not hold a candle to Ted Williams I say, Ted Williams would trade his batting titles for one of Joe's World Series rings. As a long time Yankee fan, I feel I know, and still admire, the real Joe DiMaggio. A must read for all baseball fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    $$$ YANKEE $$$ CLIPPER $$$

    A well written biography by an acomplished writer about a very complexed man. However, the 'Joltin Joe' we've read about in the sports page and the 'Java Joe' we saw on TV only reinforce the question - Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? In fact, the 'Greatest Living Baseball Player' hardly possessed the same public persona off the field as he potrayed on the field. Perhaps, Dom DiMaggio only possessed a sliver of his brother's god given talent, but as a son, brother and friend he was a far better person than his athletically privilidged brother. In fact, as a Red Sox fan - Joe DiMaggio was just another no good dirty Yankee, who couldn't shine Ted Williams shoes either on the field or off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1