Customer Reviews for

Joey Pigza Loses Control (Joey Pigza Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Funny

I really liked this book because it was really funny and it was a fiction book. Because you can't buy a pack of cigarettes when you are under 18 yrs old. In the book Joey goes to visit his grandma and dad and he goes through a lot of ups and downs like he forgot his ...
I really liked this book because it was really funny and it was a fiction book. Because you can't buy a pack of cigarettes when you are under 18 yrs old. In the book Joey goes to visit his grandma and dad and he goes through a lot of ups and downs like he forgot his dog Pablo in the glove department and he goes to a baseball game and gets knocked out by a fling ball. But most of all his grandma almost dies by smoking. I think the type of reader I recommend this to would be someone who likes stories about peoples lives.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

SADDAM HUSSEIN

pathetic book

posted by Anonymous on May 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Funny

    I really liked this book because it was really funny and it was a fiction book. Because you can't buy a pack of cigarettes when you are under 18 yrs old. In the book Joey goes to visit his grandma and dad and he goes through a lot of ups and downs like he forgot his dog Pablo in the glove department and he goes to a baseball game and gets knocked out by a fling ball. But most of all his grandma almost dies by smoking. I think the type of reader I recommend this to would be someone who likes stories about peoples lives.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend!!

    I recently attended an author series with Mr. Gantos and he is as engaging and hilarious in person as his character is in the book. Being an English Language teacher, I could see some of the same situations and perspectives that my students exhibit everyday. This book is humorous, appealing, and, if you read close, you will learn a lot about what children with behavioral issues contend with!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Dog

    Can you belive he shot a dart at his on dog OMGoodness! :();

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Losing Control!

    Do you ever just feel like letting go, and losing control? That's what happens to Joey in this book when his dad decides to take Joey off his ADHD medicine. In order to find out what happens to Joey after a few days with no medicine, you'll have to read this great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    The Dad That Changed to Bad to Good Then Back to bad

    Joey Pigza is off to see his dad, Carter, for the first the first time in years. Joey is planning to stay with his dad for the whole summer. While Joey is over at his dad¿s house, Carter is eager to make to is son for all the wrongs that he did. Carter tells Joey to always be a winner not a loser. Along time ago Carter was crazy and was in a special ed class. Then Carter got on meds to help him control himself. That¿s why Joey was not aloud to see his dad. Then while Joey is over at his dad¿s house he does something that his dad does not like. Then Carter gets mad. While Carter harm Joey or while Joey call his mom? The things I liked about this book were that it didn¿t have any many boring parts in it. The book was usually exciting most of the time. This book goes along with some of the other books, but you can read any of them. You do not have to read them in any order. This reminds me of the movie Winn-Dixie because the girl always wanted to meet her mom and Joey wanted to meet his dad. I think someone that likes to wonder what happens next and a person that likes exciting books would like this. This book is similar to all the other Joey Pigza books and it also similar to the Tucker series, I think. The Tucker series has a lot of excitement in it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    a very good book i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book was Joey Pigza Loses Control,by Jack Gantos and I gave it four stars because I would highly recommend it. The reason I liked the book was cause it was funny. The mom didn't joke around though. Joey and his grandma both loved to joke around all the time. His dad was a alcoholic and was trying to quit smoking. Joey's mom hated it when Joey joked with her she wanted to strangle him. His little dog chihuahua was very fragile and hurt he did not have a good stomach either. His grandma was the most funniest character in the story and probably my favorite. This story had a very serious side to it too. Joey had ADHD and he had to be on meds. He had to change his patch (patch) everyday. One night after a baseball game Joey's dad Carter had a couple of beers with his girlfriend Leezy. After they got home Carter told Joey to brush his teeth. When Joey was doing that Carter told him how he wanted to make up leaving him and his mom so he wadded up his patches and through them down the toilet and flushed it. After that you the reader are terrified and wondering what will happen to Joey after this when he does not have his medicine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Fan

    Cool! I have to read this for Name That Book and it looks great :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Joey Pigza

    Gantos, J. (2000). Joey Pigza Loses Control. New York: HarperTrophy.

    0064410226

    Joey's back and he's facing a new challenge: Meeting his father for the first time and visiting his difficult grandma, whose health is declining.

    This book deals more deeply with issues only touched on the first book: The results of a lifetime of smoking, parental alcoholism, the need for ADHD medication, parental pressure, the desire for a united family, etc. Also, this book may appeal to sports fans, since Joey spends a lot of time playing baseball while visiting his father in Pittsburgh. There are also fairytale elements to this story, since Joey's father repeatedly uses fairytales as metaphors for his life.

    What's amazing about the second book in this series is how the reader's perception changes of Joey's mother. In the first book, I found myself wondering if Joey should be living with her. In the second book, when Joey visits his father, I found myself pleading, "Please, please, PLEASE send him back to his mother!"


    Activities to do with the book:

    This book can be used to have a number of conversations on visiting an absent parent, realizing parents make mistakes, the experience of being ADHD and needing medication, the health complications of smoking. And so on. If a teacher shares this book with a student or class, he or she must be certain to show sympathy for Joey and encourage personal response to the narrative.

    If students have read the first book, a teacher could ask how their views of the characters have shifted. Do they feel more sympathetic toward Joey, his mother and grandmother?

    Since the story ends rather abruptly, students could write a continuation of the story, letters to Joey and his family members or just go on to read the next book.


    Favorite Quotes:

    "That's the one thing I liked about [my father] already. [Mom's] mind was on him, him, him. Usually it was on me, me, me, and I couldn't do or say anything that she didn't notice, but now I was hiding inside his shadow like a drop inside an ocean, and he got to take the blame for her bad nerves" (p. 7).

    JOEY'S MOTHER: "I'm sending you because you might like [your dad] and because I think-not with my heart-that it's a good thing for you to have a relationship with your father. And now that he claims to have stopped drinking and has a job and has gone to court to get some visitation. I'm sending you to him because I think it's the right thing to do" (p. 8).

    "My patch is not a drug," I pleased. "It's medicine" (p. 93).

    For more of my reviews, visit sjkessel.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    Fun Read

    This book has recently been on my mind and I must admit that my review may be clouded by nostalgic feelings.<BR/><BR/>Back when I was about nine years old my mom handed me this book. It's the first book I can really remember reading from front to back in a very short amount of time. <BR/><BR/>Joey is a funny and likeable character; his wacky antics just make you want to smile and shake your head. His attempts to help those close to him and to control his ADD urges are simply endearing. The author handles Joey's problems in a way that, while making the reader feel sympathy for him, make them seem humorous and cute. <BR/><BR/>This book is a fun read, plain and simple. I would highly suggest picking up this book and the entire series for your kids. It should also be noted that you don't have to read the first book in this series to enjoy this one. I didn't even realize that this book was part of a series while I was reading it, I found out much later and had sadly outgrown Joey by then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    SADDAM HUSSEIN

    pathetic book

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    Joey Pigza Loses Control is a great hit for local 6th grader courtney Donham

    Joey Pigza books are a very great book to read wether your in 1st-12th grade. I recamend this to all people (that is if you can read)!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    I love this book!

    It is one of the best books I've ever read, and I've read quite a few. It's hilarious, it gets the point across loud and clear, and is just plain good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    I really enjoyed this book!

    I love this book a lot because it mixes 2 different genres: It is funny but with some dramatic and dissapointing sections.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    The Great Book of Joey Pigza Loses Control

    Joey Pigza is a story about a boy who live with his Dad for the summer. There both wired. They play baseball!! YEAH! Buth then I forgot! Its a fabulius book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    I recently read the book Joey Pigza Losses Control by the author

    I recently read the book Joey Pigza Losses Control by the author Jack Gantos. I had to read this book for a project in reading class. I dont really like reading, but i had to for this project. So, I read Joey Pigza Loses Control. I would recommend this book because it tells you Joey's story and maybe you can relate to his story. In the book Joey Pigza Loses Control is the little boy and his mom couldn't handle him in the summer and he was on patches because he had ADD or ADHD. Then he went to his dad's house and his dad was hyper and was on patches because he drank alot. The author used alot of really entertaining setences to make you keep reading on. Joey jioned a baseball team. I would recommend this book to a boy like me. The author Jack Gantos has alot of Joey books. I hope this helps you to choose this book and thanks for listening. I would give this book four stars because it is good and entertaining but i couldnt really get into it. This book is good for kids ten and up and it is a very good fiction book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Great Book

    I bought the first one in the series and had to have more its still very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Jen 10 (part 18)

    Now that I've got the boring conjunction part done, I can freeflow with this! Next part at next result! And Winkyface, I will DEFINITELY use that BUT I have to wait for LE RIGHT TIME. Timing is key. Anywhooo... --- ...I come face to face with a slightly pissed-off looking girl. She has black-and-silver hair(probably dyed) put into a bun. She wears an orange tee with the words CAMP HALF-BLOOD printed on it. She has on a pair of faded blue jeans and grey boots. "Who are you?" she repeats. "Uh, um-" I say. "First day with your new lips? Come on! Talk! I can't find my friends, and YOU TWO are the only ones I CAN find!" she says. "Okay, calm down!" I say. "I'm Jenny, and this is DJ. WE, for one, have no idea how we got here." I return her unfriendly glare. The girl fingers a silver and blue bow slung over her shoulder. "I'm Pip," she says. "Is... is that a bow? And arrows?" I say, indicating to the ones slung over her shoulder. "What? Oh, uh.. heh, no, those aren't arrows. Or a bow. It's just, uh... a sash! Yeah!" Pip can tell I'm not buying it. Since she made up that lame excuse, she probably thinks I'm really dumb. "Okay, so you can obviously see through the mist. Who are you? Irregular mortal, Half-Blood, monster, or diety in disguise?" Pip says. "None of the above?" I try. "Okay, you're talking crazy," I decide out loud. "You've gotta be some alien. In that case..." I slap the dial down on the Morphitrix. "Wild Mutt? Great choice. Attack the so far not proved evil crazy person with the mean, menacing half-alien dog," DJ says. "Thanks for telling me," I say, but it probably just came out as growls to DJ. I launch myself at Pip. --- Short, but cliffhangerey ^^ keep reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    ToJen ten

    Good job nice dramatic ...................................................................................................................................................................pause

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    To winkyface man

    I might not go back to school on monday. I LOVE SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!! -Henry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4