Customer Reviews for

Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key

Average Rating 4.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Higly Recommended/amazing

Joey Pigza is a bright 10-year-old boy that looks like you and me. But everything starts when his grandma was born. Though out his family they had problems with alcohol and when his dad runs away Joey is left with his crazed up grandma. His grandma doesn't help with his...
Joey Pigza is a bright 10-year-old boy that looks like you and me. But everything starts when his grandma was born. Though out his family they had problems with alcohol and when his dad runs away Joey is left with his crazed up grandma. His grandma doesn't help with his problem. And when his meds don't work Joey is out of the ordinary. From swallowing his house key to sharpening his finger in a pencil sharpener will his determined mom and loving teacher help Joey get better?
I would recommend this book for ages 8-99. It's a book for everyone and when you pick it up you pick it up you won't put it down. From the odd and interesting story line to the author's descriptive language obviously out of 5 stars this is a 5 star book. And if Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key isn't enough for you then you should pickup the next book Joey Pigza Loses Control to read more about the crazed up life of Joey Pigza.

posted by Mike-n-Ike on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

not good at all :

I thought in Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key Jack Gantos didn't make it as good as it could of been. It was boring but in some parts it was okay like when he swallowed the key or when he cut Maria and when he went to the Amish farm with his school for a field trip. I would...
I thought in Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key Jack Gantos didn't make it as good as it could of been. It was boring but in some parts it was okay like when he swallowed the key or when he cut Maria and when he went to the Amish farm with his school for a field trip. I wouldn't recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Higly Recommended/amazing

    Joey Pigza is a bright 10-year-old boy that looks like you and me. But everything starts when his grandma was born. Though out his family they had problems with alcohol and when his dad runs away Joey is left with his crazed up grandma. His grandma doesn't help with his problem. And when his meds don't work Joey is out of the ordinary. From swallowing his house key to sharpening his finger in a pencil sharpener will his determined mom and loving teacher help Joey get better?
    I would recommend this book for ages 8-99. It's a book for everyone and when you pick it up you pick it up you won't put it down. From the odd and interesting story line to the author's descriptive language obviously out of 5 stars this is a 5 star book. And if Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key isn't enough for you then you should pickup the next book Joey Pigza Loses Control to read more about the crazed up life of Joey Pigza.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Great Book for Children, Teachers & Parents alike!!!

    This is an amazing book that puts you in the mind of a child struggling with ADHD. His struggles and the responses of those around us teach a lesson that I think could be great for all ages. Plus the added bonus that it is a really fun read!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    I thought it was good but, I've seen better books

    Recently, I read Joey Pigza Swallowed the key. It was a very exciting book.Wether Joey is swallowing his house key and throwing up or cutting off Maria Dombrowski's nose and getting suspended,he is always up to something.One of my favorite parts is where joey eats a whole molasas pie and he jumps off the rafters of an Amish barn on a field trip and jumps into the haystacks and hurts his ankle and blames his 'dud' mediceine because he is A.D./H.D..He is sent to a hospital for radioliogy.His Dad and grandma ran off to Pittsburgh (n or he thinks). Overall give this book two stars because it could be boring but it sucked you into it.I recommend this book for young readers-a 6th grader

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    not good at all :

    I thought in Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key Jack Gantos didn't make it as good as it could of been. It was boring but in some parts it was okay like when he swallowed the key or when he cut Maria and when he went to the Amish farm with his school for a field trip. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Good book

    I like this book. I thought the book was written well

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Pretty good

    I like it because it could happen in real life

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Poor maria

    I feel bad for maria becuz joey cut off her nose but it was hilarious it wasnt myy fav. book

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Good book

    It was gross but funny and yet i like it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Written well

    Good word choice,and creates a clear pictute in my mind of what's happening.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    He is like me

    He has adhd like me

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Great book

    I think this book can relate to a lot of people with ADHD cause i have ADHD and i thout (sorry i forgot how to spell) i could relate to him a lot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I bought this book for my 9 year old son to read.

    It usually takes a lot of begging to get my son to read and with this book we did not have to beg. He would read a chapter and then tell us something funny in it. He really enjoyed reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Funny stuff

    This is a funny book i cant believe he swallowed a key for a buck hilarious

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    AWESOME

    The writing is good and joey is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great book

    I love all the description. Its funny and u can really relate

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    What drives me nuts

    I am ten and i think when people write btw or lol it says you have bad vocabuary

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Joey

    Oh...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Gabby about the book what am i writing about wasting the title characters oh well it really doswnt matter i ca jut blab and blsb all day long anwho this book was sooooooo ┬┐berfuunny and i mean sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ┬┐berfunny.

    Good but i never heard of someone cutting off a nose and btw i will blab until this characters run out iam flabby gabby that blabbys i love blabbing until the world ends any way about the book its great stupendous its funny its the bst book i have read in ages its also the funniest it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo funny i was laughing and saying COOL instead of ewwwwwww and by the way like i said before the author made a mistake i forgot the page but on one of the pages i made a note saying that its not accidents its accident but oh well it may not even bea mistake im the one making the mistake but jack gantos is soo funny and descriptive mabe a little to descriptve like im being with this comment of mine more than two thousand characters left so i better keep writing and like in the ¿ber LONG and i mean LONG titlw the book was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooopooooo ¿ber funny like ¿berduper¿uper funny this is like a chat room lol five stars for this ¿berduper¿uperfunny nook lol i mean book isent that funny i saidd nook when i ment book and it was while i was using the nook so how are you people doing u may think im crazy for posting a long cooment but im done now but so i can use up my charcters im putting soo very long teehee sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    d

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Joey pigza

    Good book for people who are wired

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Rocks

    This book rocks i just finished reading it at school i have to do a projectyou should read it it is awesome

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9