Customer Reviews for

Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Higly Recommended/amazing

Joey Pigza is a bright 10-year-old boy that looks like you and me. But everything starts when his grandma was born. Though out his family they had problems with alcohol and when his dad runs away Joey is left with his crazed up grandma. His grandma doesn't help with his...
Joey Pigza is a bright 10-year-old boy that looks like you and me. But everything starts when his grandma was born. Though out his family they had problems with alcohol and when his dad runs away Joey is left with his crazed up grandma. His grandma doesn't help with his problem. And when his meds don't work Joey is out of the ordinary. From swallowing his house key to sharpening his finger in a pencil sharpener will his determined mom and loving teacher help Joey get better?
I would recommend this book for ages 8-99. It's a book for everyone and when you pick it up you pick it up you won't put it down. From the odd and interesting story line to the author's descriptive language obviously out of 5 stars this is a 5 star book. And if Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key isn't enough for you then you should pickup the next book Joey Pigza Loses Control to read more about the crazed up life of Joey Pigza.

posted by Mike-n-Ike on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

not good at all :

I thought in Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key Jack Gantos didn't make it as good as it could of been. It was boring but in some parts it was okay like when he swallowed the key or when he cut Maria and when he went to the Amish farm with his school for a field trip. I would...
I thought in Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key Jack Gantos didn't make it as good as it could of been. It was boring but in some parts it was okay like when he swallowed the key or when he cut Maria and when he went to the Amish farm with his school for a field trip. I wouldn't recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    I thought it was good but, I've seen better books

    Recently, I read Joey Pigza Swallowed the key. It was a very exciting book.Wether Joey is swallowing his house key and throwing up or cutting off Maria Dombrowski's nose and getting suspended,he is always up to something.One of my favorite parts is where joey eats a whole molasas pie and he jumps off the rafters of an Amish barn on a field trip and jumps into the haystacks and hurts his ankle and blames his 'dud' mediceine because he is A.D./H.D..He is sent to a hospital for radioliogy.His Dad and grandma ran off to Pittsburgh (n or he thinks). Overall give this book two stars because it could be boring but it sucked you into it.I recommend this book for young readers-a 6th grader

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Good book

    I like this book. I thought the book was written well

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Good book

    It was gross but funny and yet i like it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Written well

    Good word choice,and creates a clear pictute in my mind of what's happening.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I bought this book for my 9 year old son to read.

    It usually takes a lot of begging to get my son to read and with this book we did not have to beg. He would read a chapter and then tell us something funny in it. He really enjoyed reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great book

    I love all the description. Its funny and u can really relate

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Joey pigza

    Good book for people who are wired

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Hmm...

    What if the key was a tiny human? I know, I have a sick mindi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Good almost perfect

    I think its almost perfect for a child that doesn't like to need that much. I was like that until I read books like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Joey pigza swallowed the key

    Best book ever. Halariouse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Awsome

    Joey is so crazy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Anyone

    I love this book i read it i second grade

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    best book ever

    this book is the best. it will make you laugh. i know it made me laugh. it will make you sad. it sure made me sad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Totally sweet

    I just read Joey Pigza swallowed the Key By Jack Gantos. And I think you shood read Joey Pigza because it is funny and hilarious. In the first chapter Joey tells you that he is wired.A chouple chapters into the book Joey jumps off a high beam at the Amish farm. Then in chapter 7 Joey cuts the tip off of Maria's nose off. Because of that Joey gos to special ed school.Joey's mom said he could get a dog. After special ed school Joey gets a test on his brain. Joey is crazy at first but he gets better. Thats why I think you should read Joey Pigza swallowed the Key.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Not bad

    The book Joey Pigza Swallowed The Key by Jack Gantos had its highs and lows but for the most part its very funny and well written. joey is a boy that is 'wired' as his grandma would say and has a hard time a school and home, especially when his grandma is in charge because his parents are away due to drinking problems. Joey for the most part Joey is a good kid bit he does have some decision-making problems and doesn't always make the right choices. One time he steals the teacher scissors from the teachers desk and cuts a girls noes of course it was a huge accident. After the scissor incident Joey was sent to a six-week special-ed school downtown. Joey always means good but sometimes people get the wrong message. Some parts were a little ridiculous but I would defiantly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    I thought it was good

    I really liked Joey Pigza swallowed the key. When I read this book I really felt sorry for Joeey Pigsa. because his first meds were not working, and he would get in trouble alot.One key point is when Joey cut off a part of someone's nose and got sent to a special ed center for six weeks. another point is, he and his mom went to a hospital in Pittsburgh to get an exray of his brain. And his brain is fine. Another point is the doctors didn't think his first meds were not working, so they gave him new meds. I read joey Pigza swallowed the key as a class project. Joey pigza is by 'Jack Gantos'. I think you should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    This book was okay but i would recommended it to kids and parents!!!

    For the last book of the year we read Joey Pigza Swallowed The Key. I thought it was an okay book. Some parts were good and some were just okay. One of the parts i liked was when Joey and his class went to an Amish farm, the things he did there were so funny. But, it was sad when he got hurt. i didn't like the parts were Joey would wait for his mom in the window by the door and his grandma would say 'she will come' but she wouldn't. Lastly I kinda liked the part where it was Harold's birthday and Joey blew his cake candles out. He thought he was doing the right thing but in the end he was sent to the 'chair'. I guess if you want to know what the chair is and how it ends you will have to read Joey Pigza Swallowed The Key by Jack Gantos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    WOW! A great book by Jack Gantos.

    Wow! Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key was a great book. Jack Gantos did a great job with this book. He included a good amount of detail about Joey Pigza and his life. In chapter one Joey is at school and Mrs.Maxy his teacher ask him a question and Joey Pigza says '' can I get back to you on that'' he says that almost every time he is asked a simple question. Normally arround lunch time he starts top get hyper because his meds are wearing off. My favorite part in this book is when he cuts off the tip of Maria's nose, even though it was funny I felt really bad for Maria. Well i hope you decide to get this amazing book by Jack Gantos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    This book was FUNNY

    Joey Pigza was an okay book.I think Joey has his ups and downs in the story.First Joey starts off living with his grandma because both of his parents ran off.After a while Joey's mom comes home to live with Joey.Then in class he was trying to be good but ends up cutting a girls nose off.I would suggest that you should read the book. By Jack Gantos

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    An LOL moment book

    This book had man LOL moments. Joey is a hyperactive kid who's meds where off pretty quickly. I enjoyed this book very much so, but typically not the type of book I'd ready on the usual. It had its funny moments, very many!!! I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good, funny book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3