Customer Reviews for

John Adams

Average Rating 4.5
( 363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 363 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2001

    Thank you David McCullough

    Now that I have read this wonderful book, I can no longer consider John Adams anything other than passionate, lively and totally an American Patriot. I was going to say that the author had brought to life a President that had once been obscure, but obscure he surely is not. McCullough brought to life, through some wonderful research, the wonderful Mr. Adams. But not only is Mr. Adams treated with such care, but all of the characters are as well. The wonderful array of Americans, French, British, and even Dutch are given equal treatment. You will love this book. It is somewhat long but every word is worth reading. Thank you David McCullough, I treasure your gift to Americans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2001

    This presidential biography is a page-turner.

    John Adams never heard of the word 'spin.' This highly educated, decent man had persistent devotion to independence, commitment to balanced government, a clear distaste for war and foreign intrigue, fidelity to and appreciation of his wife and family and a clear conscience at life's end. David McCullough,a master of 18th century American History, gives new meaning to 'the good old days.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    An Historical Romance

    It is through the letters of John Adams and Abigail Adams that we get a sure sense of the unsteady beginning of our nation. Reading the letters between this husband and wife is equivalent to listening in on a telephone conversation today. Their opinions and attitudes bring them and the people they knew to life. The book is fascinating in its history, engaging in its humaneness. I was hooked by page 30 and was very sorry to see this more-than-600-page book come to an end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2001

    A Book For Our Times

    This book was fascinating in it's own right and the stories told here should be compulsory reading for all americans. However, this reading was especially impactful, at this time of sorrow for our nation, because it revealed the hardship and sorrow endured by John Adams in the name of freedom. Reading this book reinforced my belief that we will weather this storm as well and above all else it will be worth our suffering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    One of the most accurate

    This book is a must read for all those interested in American history. Not only do you get an accurate (and personal portrait) of the life of John Adams, you also learned interesting side notes of American history. Consider for example, 1. John Hancock wanted to be the general instead of George Washington 2. The first American foreign Embassy was built near Amsterdam 3. The smallpox vaccination was actually first used in Africa and it was an African slave who gave the vaccination treatment to John Adams' uncle who then distributed to America This book is a great reader and once you start, even though you know the outcome (we gain our independence, Adams becomes president, he dies), you still do not want to put the book down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2001

    Vindication of a President

    John Adams, probably our one forgotten founding father, may soon be recognized for his leading role in the founding of our country. A passionate man, who loved his country and its people before we were called Americans. He fought for what was right, he hoped we would become a nation of laws. John Adams did more than any other member of the Revolutionary generation to bring about the successful conclusion of the war and to promote the newly independent American state. In this new biography of a truly great American, we find John Adams the man, the politician, the president, the father, the son, the husband, and the Patriot. For too long he has languished in the background of American history, too long forgotten by this nation he loved so dearly. It is a great tribute to a truly Great American. To miss this book, is to deprive yourself of your history as an American

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2001

    Adams as a Human Being

    I just returned from a lecture by the author David McCulloch at the JFK Library in Boston. Although I'm only half done reading the book, the personality of our second president and the love and humor he exibits throughout his early life is all there. As the author stated tonight, despite his incredible genius, John Adams loved a good story and could tell one as well as the master, Ben Franklin. His relationships with Abigail and the children are most interesting and the fact that he abhorred slavery all of his life make for terrific reading. It is great to see our founding fathers as real men and not god-like or superhuman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    A Stirring Account

    The author was correct to write about John Adams, perhaps the most influential and fascinating of the founding fathers. His patriotism, as discussed by the author, was equaled only by Adams's tender devotion to his wife. The book reads like a novel and is worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Answers!

    1) Patrick Henry. <p> 2) Richard Nixon.<p> 3) John Hancock. <p> 4) 1776. <p> My amazing mini-quiz! ~ Sevi & Da Pear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2014

    An excellent read. Highly recommended. If you like history, you'

    An excellent read. Highly recommended. If you like history, you'll love MCCulough's &quot;John Adams.&quot;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    My son, the history major, gave me this book as a gift, and I ha

    My son, the history major, gave me this book as a gift, and I have endeavored to read it at first for that reason. However, as I began to get into the text, I learned a great deal about this famed, yet
    largely unknown patriot, and his work and life. Admittedly, McCullough's handling of his subject is a bit &quot; glass half full &quot;, giving Adams substantial credit, and little fault. However, the book takes a stiff figure of history and brings him into sharp focus, identifying all the amazing things he did for our nation. This book should be of particular interest to young people.....they should understand that our forefathers lived and succeeded in a world where letters took weeks and months to be delivered; where ocean voyages were fraught with peril and where transportation even over short distances was a risk and an adventure. Bravo, Mr. McCullough on a fine volume, and an interesting (though lengthy) read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Daijah

    Walkzs in naked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Bravo

    I am currently reading this book. It is completely fascinating and reads like a story. The author is brilliant and the learning is timeless and applicable for today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    This was an amazing biography because it was not only factual bu

    This was an amazing biography because it was not only factual but entertaining and McCullough developed the characters well. He not only focused on Adams’ life but the events surrounding him. Throughout the book he keeps the reader entertained by keeping the story present and important. Many think of Adams as irrelevant, and only present at the time of the Revolution. The book brings to light the story of how a man united the people to fight, fought for international recognition, and formed the government we know today. Adams nominated Washington to lead the army, Jefferson to write the Declaration of Independence. Without Adams two of our founding fathers would most likely not have had such a large role in the new nation. Later Adams worked as ambassador to France and worked to ensure the war would go in The United States’ favor. After he worked to reconcile with Britain. While many feel as though his presidency was a failure Adams should not be remembered for his faults in his four years. He worked against corruption in the XYZ affair, worked to end hostilities with France, and helped the nation from internal threats. The election of 1800 shows that Adams was willing to give up power due to the simple reason that he wasn’t reelected. His relationship with Abigail shows that kind of man he was, one that should be remembered and praised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Amazing

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    A must read for American Revelution histories

    This was a very well researced endeavor. No American person in public life has ever left so much information through various corespondence as John Adams for historians to pour through , and left a very clear impression of his character and life as it was in his turbulent times. There is also discussion points at the end for added mental ruminations were you to be a member of a book club! Hats off to David Mccullugh on another masterful job relating this glimpse into the past with flare and clarity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Reading John Adams

    I'm only 70 pages into this book and in love with the writer. This book is so well written and extremely insightful. The wealth of information so well put together keeps you enthralled with not only the biography of Adams himself but the history behind this great man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    McCullough's John Adams was a thorough and engrossing read on th

    McCullough's John Adams was a thorough and engrossing read on the nation's second President.  This was my first foray into McCullough's work and it met my expectations.  Although I had my preconceived notions about Adams and his contributions to the development of our country, I found my knowledge greatly expanded and at times, reshaped.  During the course of my reading, I wasn't entirely sure I actually like the &quot;character&quot; of Adams until I reached the end.  McCullough's real mastery, in my opinion, was painting the portrait of the end of Adams' life.  It was there that he really drew the reader into Adam's heart and made one happy to reconsider preconceived notions about Adams and his legacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    An amazing founding father

    This was a great book. It made me realize how brave our country's founders really were. If only we had politicians like this man today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I enjoyed thisand learned much

    Excellent biography . It seems as if John Adams is much under rated, compared to his contemporaries Washington and Jefferson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 363 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19