Customer Reviews for

John Adams

Average Rating 4.5
( 361 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(260)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 361 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    A masterpiece simply put................

    For anyone who loves history and especially this period of time in our country's life, this book is a must read. Additionally, for the times we live in, this book shows the intense feelings, the "Can Do" spirit, and the commitment and dedication these colonists each show one another. Brilliant minds all working together and warning us of the times we live in today...........Jefferson, Washington, Hancock & Franklin were outstanding and brilliant...............however, it took the noble lawyer from Boston to piece it all together..........<BR/><BR/>The other great value is the language used which is completely gone today.<BR/>I had to stop and keep the dictionary handy.............learned a great deal about our forefathers and the difficulties they faced in creating this country.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and enlightening

    The life of John Adams is one I am glad I read about- filled with American history, the story is set through the American revolution and beyond, with an interesting look at our earliest presidents and their lives, and the policies they put in place over two hundred years ago that we still follow. I really enjoyed the incorporation of the Adams' letters to each other and others. Also, it was a good mix of history of the country and story of the man. I read this in the midst of our country's last presidential election, so it was interesting to see how different it was for our founding fathers and politicians of today.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Wonderful Book, Highly Insightful

    David McCullough does a phenomenal job at bringing to life the larger than life person of John Adams. McCullough shows thoroughly the kind person John Adams was. He shows Adams to be a family man, a hard worker, an independent thinker, a dedicated stateman, a good father and husband, a farmer, and a man of faith. In addition to all these qualities, Adams had the foresight and integrity to stand against the degredations of slavery when so many of his contemporaries (e.g. Washington and Jefferson) helped to perpetuate the evil of slavery at a time when slavery was so in vogue and mainstream. <BR/><BR/>Adams was a man who was as dedicated as any to the birth of the New Nation. He traveled across oceans and continents in service and advocacy of the new nation. He sacrificed years and precious time with his wife and kids all in service of the new nation. <BR/><BR/>John Adams is a man who gets forgotten by many as one of the greatest Founding Fathers. Jefferson gets great credit as a key Founding Father, but to say that Jefferson was a man of greater character or importance than Adams is flat wrong. These two men were rivals for much of the later part of their lives, and I would argue that Adams was much the greater man. Adams face deserves to be on Mt. Rushmore as much as any of the four up there, save for Washington and Lincoln.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    The Adams Family

    I don't know that I can conjure up any more noteworthy praise for this biography of a great American than has already been done. All that I can do is encourage others to read it and make it part of their own library, so that it can be read multiple times over a life time. This is truly a fascinating read about a fascinating man as well as the fascinating men and women around him (I believe this is the first time I have used fascinating three times in one sentence.) There is so much brought into play such as Adams love for learning and his love for reading throughout his entire life. His interactions with the other founding fathers were immensely enjoyable. The author also enlightens us much about Abagail and John Quincy Adams as well and the influence they had on Adams life. There was much brought to light about John Adam's accomplishments that I was unaware of before. McCullough also writes in a highly enjoyable way and the book does not seem long at all. He also does touch some on Adams religious beliefs and how this affected his worldview, though I would have like to see him go even a little deeper. I found this to be a thoroughly enjoyable read and imagine I will read it again within the next few years, Lord willin and the crick don't rise.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    Unbelievable!!!!

    I good friend read Adams last year and it took him six months but I was captivated by it that i completed it in last four weeks. I typically never watch a movie before reading the book but that was not the case with this book. And yet I was not disappointed what so ever. This book is a must read for any one who has a true interest in the creation of our country. McCullough has done another outstanding compiling such a story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    INSPIRATION FOR TODAY

    A riviting biography, uplifting in it's description of a man, and his wife, both committed to the cause of freedom and the building of the United States. John and Abigail are an inspiration to me, especially in our current political climate, when all politicians seem to work first and foremost on their own careers, rather than for the country's benefit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    The Best Book I Have EVER Read

    David McCullough is the finest author of our time. I have read other books by several other authors and none compare to David McCullough. His unique way of writing history is truly inspiring and original and i only wish he would write thousands of more books because his words and the way he expresses himself through writing is fantastic.

    This book is truly amazing. it captures John Adams' life in its entirety and i would highly highly recommend it to anyone thinking of buying it. John Adams was truly a patriot and a terrific American. While he was tense and confrontational, Adams was also a magnificent politician and American and we owe a great deal to him. Without McCullough, a lot of people would not know how important Adams was to the formation of the original states. Unfortunately, Adams is not as remembered as the inspiring Jefferson or Washington but he was just as critical in the forming of our country.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Adams Redeemed

    David McCullough has rescued John Adams from the dusty pedestal his has been placed on. McCullough brings both Adams and his wife, Abigail, to life in the same way Edmund Morris has revived Theodore Roosevelt (subject of another McCullough book). I really cannot praise this biography enough. It will be read as the definitive life of Adams for a long time to come. I used to think a great fantasy dinner would feature TR and Thomas Jefferson together at the table. I now believe both John and Abigail Adams would also have to be present. I have also read McCullough's accounts of the Panama Canal and the Johnstown Flood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    John Adams Biography - A Must Read

    I haven't seen the HBO mini-series, because I wanted to read the book first. I was so taken with this book that I could not put it down. It is wonderfully written. You get a real sense of the man, his thoughts, his politics and his love for his wife and family. A man often overlooked for the great things he accomplished as one of our country's founding fathers. Simply enjoyable from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Love it, love it, love it!

    Well written, fascinating view into the founding of our nation. Always timely - as you compare congressional and governmental activities then to life today. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Great Book

    I'm almost finished with the book and I'm teaching every adult friend or relative a little history....My conversation usually starts of with, "Did you know.........?
    Love the book, I really don't want it to end. I can't get over how much I didn't learn in school about John and Abigail Adams and I grew up just down the road from their home in West Quincy, MA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    Hated to put it down

    I love to read and when I purchased this book I was skeptical of how large a volume it was (in number of pages)........however, as I got towards the end, I didn't want the story to end! This is a fantastic and extremely well written book that takes the reader along for the complete journey! I am planning on rereading it sometime next year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    John Adams

    The story of America's second President, John Adams is brilliantly written in this detailed and inspiring biography. This book will henceforth be considered the authoritative volume on the life of John Adams. Thank you to Authors David G. McGullough and John Henrickson for your thoughtful masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is great!

    I chose John Adams since I saw many people read it. Now I know why. McCollough shows you the life of one of the underheard of founding fathers, from farm boy to president and how he helped shape this nation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Vigorous Life

    David McCullough's "John Adams" paints an intimate portrait of our 2d president and one of the principle figures in the American Revolution. As usual, Mr McCullough's superb gift for story telling animates Mr Adams world, his relationships with other great actors on the world stage and is an essential ingredient in bringing Mr Adams' world to life. An excellently researched book, written by a master storyteller and superb historian "John Adams" should be an integral volume in a serious reader's library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    True to Life

    This book revealed the life long passions of John Adams. Those passions consisting of his country, family and love of books. In doing so, it showed that even great men are in the end still men. Subject to all the personal faults, frailty and tragedy that are magnified by public office. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested or uninterested in our country's history. If history is a passion you will be fulfilled. If history has never been of interest it will become your greatest. This was a wonderful book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    Absolutely fantastic!!!!

    If you read only one book about the founding of our great nation, read this one. It reads like a great novel, brings this historic period into clear focus and brings to life an amazing list of characters, John and Abigail Adams, their offspring especially John Q. Adams, Ben Franklin, King George III and of course Thomas Jefferson. Should be on the mandatory reading list of every university in America.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    An Inspirational American

    The freedoms we cherish, and that we have been so shockingly reminded continue to have enemies today, were before all else the ideas of a group of people in 18th Century America. One of the most significant of those creators was John Adams, and David McCullough¿s thorough and engrossing biography of him shows how the Revolution was truly fought as bravely on diplomatic and intellectual fronts as those fought by the Minutemen and Redcoats. The timing of ¿John Adams¿ is perhaps perfect. Just like Rudolph Giuliani has done by digging into the traditions of Winston Churchill, we must all seek role models as we band together to fight this newest and most complicated war. Ordinary citizens can take great pride in the fact that Adams was just that. He embodies what has always been truly great about the American Spirit; our second President was strong, flawed, loyal, humorous in the face of failure, and unafraid of having an outspoken and even more intelligent wife. He loved Abigail dearly, and by the end of the book one can¿t help but feeling like this is one of the greatest love stories ever told. I¿m a fan of McCullough¿s, so my praise for his work takes on the tone of gushing geek, but I am sure this will be known as his masterwork. ¿Truman¿ is a widely quoted text, and most fans of history I know have read ¿The Path Between The Seas.¿ I still count ¿Mornings on Horseback¿ among the best of all history books. Surely, though, the passion that flows through every page of this book is something McCullough discovered within all the fantastic exchanges between John and Abigail. Many seem to be hung up on the fact that the book is 751 pages long, including the very comprehensive index. I can¿t imagine a page that doesn¿t belong. I was impatient for the action to start, of course; my Generation X genes are strong. Once the Revolution did begin I was glad for the insight into Adams¿ character and entranced by his written accounts of his experiences. Every citizen should be issued this book as a lesson in the American Revolution and our country¿s early history. I was fascinated by the tales of political intrigue involving Hamilton, Jefferson, and a host of other friends and adversaries. That friendship with Jefferson is reverently described in this book. It would seem as though Adams had both the greatest wife and the coolest friend in the history of the United States. Jefferson is seen as a kind of brilliant doofus whose loyalty to his friend was temporarily sidetracked by Iago-esque political forces surrounding him. The relationship isn¿t simple, but that¿s of little surprise. The fact that they died on the very same day is a more than creepy coincidence. This is a book every American should read. Adams is the kind of American we should all be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    What an inspiration!

    John Adams was truly such a great man! And David McCullough is a great man for bringing this piece of history so deliciously to life! Adams' passion, intellect, and integrity are an inspiration. Equally important, the fact that he was 'human' -- he endured suffering, tragedies, humilitation -- just as the rest of us do. It was a joy to get a peek at the love affair he had with his wife who was so intelligent, so strong, and whose influence was so important to the history of our nation! I no longer feel like he and Jefferson and Washington are 'those men from long ago who wrote the Declaration of Independence'. I now feel like I am intimately acquainted with their personalities, their hobbies, the nuances of the lives they lived. Horrah for this book! I am recommending it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    Wonderfully written!

    David McCullough has obviously taken great pains in his research and development of this biography of the second U.S. President - pains that are rarely taken in today's world. The result is a work that exemplifies the term 'researh', and provides what could be called the greatest look at a man who is largely unknown. John Adams' presidency is often overshadowed by the events of the time. Most people don't realize the impact that he made while he served as the leader of the fledging nation that would evolve into the most prominent nation in the world. McCullough delves into the man, without really taking away from the myth, going into various details that have been sorrowfully left out of other writings. This book has an appeal to me as a personal student of history, as well as an author of my own accord. Mr. McCullough has exemplified the methods by which historical information is presented, and delivers his work in a manner that is enjoyable for all, regardless of their degree of interest in the period. As the author of Strike Hard, I would firmly recommend this book to anyone who would like to have a better understanding of what John Adams was like, what he went through, and where his true philosophies came from. The result is amazing, shocking, and altogether a wonderful experience that is one not to be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 361 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19