Customer Reviews for

John Adams

Average Rating 4.5
( 358 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(257)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Great Book

    I'm almost finished with the book and I'm teaching every adult friend or relative a little history....My conversation usually starts of with, "Did you know.........?
    Love the book, I really don't want it to end. I can't get over how much I didn't learn in school about John and Abigail Adams and I grew up just down the road from their home in West Quincy, MA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    John Adams

    The story of America's second President, John Adams is brilliantly written in this detailed and inspiring biography. This book will henceforth be considered the authoritative volume on the life of John Adams. Thank you to Authors David G. McGullough and John Henrickson for your thoughtful masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    McCullough's John Adams was a thorough and engrossing read on th

    McCullough's John Adams was a thorough and engrossing read on the nation's second President.  This was my first foray into McCullough's work and it met my expectations.  Although I had my preconceived notions about Adams and his contributions to the development of our country, I found my knowledge greatly expanded and at times, reshaped.  During the course of my reading, I wasn't entirely sure I actually like the "character" of Adams until I reached the end.  McCullough's real mastery, in my opinion, was painting the portrait of the end of Adams' life.  It was there that he really drew the reader into Adam's heart and made one happy to reconsider preconceived notions about Adams and his legacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I enjoyed thisand learned much

    Excellent biography . It seems as if John Adams is much under rated, compared to his contemporaries Washington and Jefferson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    What a fascinating read

    This book was an excellent story of John Adams. I liked how his letters were woven into the story. It brought home just how truly difficult the VP job was back then, being essentially the 'loser' of the election. It was very inspirational to read. Between this & Common Sense, I have become hoked on American political history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    David McCullough Delivers Again

    Four Stars: I am prevented from giving it five because I feel DM should have spent more time on the weaknesses/poor decisions rather than so strongly focusing on his strengths.

    I found the book well written and enjoyable to read. Over the past few reads I have gained a tremendous amount of respect for JA. Resoundingly, regardless of opinion, those who knew JA have a common opinion. His integrity was constant. I think he expected that same sense of integrity in everyone and this was the source of a great deal of disillusionment, particularly when it came to those he counted as friends. He was fiercly loyal and often did not receive the same in return. He was often able to look past differences and find common ground when either working with someone or forming a friendship. He loved his country and sacrificed a great deal personally for it and often without recognition. For a man, admitedly, with a great deal of pride this was difficult to swallow. Politically his strengths seem to be his sense of timing and an ability to think situations through past immediate consequences. Further, he had a set of guiding principles that for the most part he tried to live regardless of the political consequences. His was progressive in thought as seen not only in what he said about slavery but in his actions. He was also ahead of his time in issues such as freedom of religion for Jews and some of his ideas for the Massachussets Constitution.

    On the other hand he was incredibly vain which provided ample ammunition for his critics. At first glance his time in Europe can be seen as unique experience strengthening his skill set for the presidency. However, in reality, in probably hurt him in that he no longer had his finger on the pulse of America. It seems to have weakened that sense of timing he once had. He liked to lecture people sometimes it was harmless as when he lectured an English community on its history but in the Senate as VP it hurt him tremendously. He could be impetuous. He often needed to take a breath before dashing off his thougths for print. The biggest mistakes of his presidency was not using his authority to veto on the Alien and Sedition Act, retaining Washington's cabinet, and allowing Washington to appoint Hamilton in the new standing army.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    the unwavering servant

    I loved This Book. It is my third presidential biography the second one by McCullough. what a portrate of a human being! when you are done with this book you feal as if you have relived the presidents experiances with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Questioning Bias

    While reading this book, I actually felt as if I was beginning to know the man, John Adams. At times it does get long, but to take a peak into the thoughts and feelings of such a dominant player in the creation of America was interesting. It usually made me wonder what Adams might of thought of America today. At times I wondered if these were his true thoughts and if the author was biased towards building Adams up. It has motivated me to read more on John Adams to see if there are any other views of the kind of man John Adams was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Revolutionary War History

    In an otherwise brilliant review of the men (and Adams' wife) who made the United States, McCullough only stumbles by not providing the background as to why public opinion turned against Adams. One does understand, however, that as Adams wouldn't resort to 'spin' his path to being a one-term president was set as if he were protagonist in a Greek tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2001

    Actually INTERESTING

    I read this for lit class and expected snoozey reading, was I surprised! This author really brought to light the person behind the name of John Adams. I think it should be read by all students if just to show us our founding fathers weren't the dull white-washed individuals we've been previously taught and that it was REAL people who formed our nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2001

    Buy it NOW

    Simple: this book has its slow parts, as any extended historical biography has for a non-academic. But wait it out (especially some of the detail about France) because you will wind up reading about the heavyweights, Jack, the guys who duked it out when it meant something. They weren't arguing about the earned income tax credit or about some dopey lockbox. Oh no, This was the War to Settle the Score and only the strong survived. Adams comes across as a very deep guy, despite his flatness. He was stuck up, arrogant, elitist and stubborn. But he gave a darn, he never backed off from a fight, and without him we may still all be subjects of Her Royal Majesty. Plus, you get to know Franklin (lazy), Hamilton (dangerously ambitious), Washington (dull) and Jefferson (kind of wimpy, in a way) through Adams's very discerning eye. He didn't hold back. If for no other reason, read Adams to not just find out how great men lived, but how we are getting freezer-burned leftovers today compared to the hot fresh meals of 200 years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    GREAT HISTORY

    Long but entertaining book for the history buff. Did not know he was so interesting. Worth the sit time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4