BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

John Carter of Mars Series (ALL TWELVE BOOKS) The Barsoom Chronicles

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Now we're talkin'. All twelve books are included in this book. T

    Now we're talkin'. All twelve books are included in this book. This really is the complete collection.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Awesome

    I must admit that the movie John Carter is what got me interested in this book. I am so glad! I have read a great deal of Edgar Rice Burroughs' work, but nit this one. The story is very suspense building. There is war, love, prejudice, friendship and trust. Don't let the fact that it is old or that it is a Science Fiction. FYI, it does have 12 books as this edition does. I purchased three others that said it was the complete series, not. Enjoy the tales of John Carter, I sure did.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Very Good but the stories get repetitive

    I enjoyed reading these stories and am old enough not to freak out at the obvious racism in them. People have to understand that these were written in a very different time from today. Mr. Burroughs had to think of a lot of ways for the girl to get kidnapped and the hero to save her. That part got tiresome after reading for some time and I had to take a break and go back to the books later.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    It is difficult to Rate these "collections" as it is u

    It is difficult to Rate these "collections" as it is useful to know how they were put together and work on the Nook, AND possibly rating the book/contents/author himself. IN this case, I suspect you know who Edgar Rice Burroughs is and are looking for a format/collection at good value that you can read on the Nook. I recommend Edgar Rice Burroughs if you are use to reading Science Fiction classics where science has possibly outdated the story over time. In this case we, unfortunately, know the condition of Mars. Perhaps we can reason that the air plant was destroyed after the stories!

    As far as the formatting, the publishers are quick to say they are formatted for the Nook with minimal errors. This may be true in relationship to some other anthologies I have purchased as far as layout and hypertext table of contents. There are still, however, numerous errors from the Scan/OCR process that could have been correct. I would estimate well over 100, in many cases the incorrect scan/OCR created other "real", but incorrect words. This hampers the reading somewhat, but again is better than most. The hypertext table of contents does not list the page numbers and the overall "title" at the bottom is for the last story. I have found compilations of other works that tell you how many pages are left in the segment you are on. Useful for planning reading/timing dinner when one is engrossed.

    Yes, these are public Domain at this point, can be found free on the web. If you want, however, all (11 or 12 depending on how you count the last two) in one handy Nook version, these are worth the cost of admission. Regarding the 12. There were actually, 10 full novels and the last two listed as 11 and 12 have unique characteristics. 11 was written by Burroughs son and is different in many ways, although his father was said to have helped. There are "newer" sciences invoked, such as remote cameras and speaker systems. The tone is different and I personally did not find it as enjoyable, especially after reading the other ten sequentially. It was anthologized in several parts and gets a little repetitive between parts as in a pulp serial you have to consider you have someone reading parts, or picking up over n elapsed time. 12 , Skeleton Men of Jupiter is actually the FIRST part of what was intended as a multi-part serial. It was NEVER finished, leaving one someone disappointed to end 12 books, totaling over 2000 pages with John Carter still on Jupiter. Burroughs was a war correspondent after writing this first module and then had ill health. After 10 (or 11) full novels, one can fill in the ending with their imagination, or maybe sneak this 50 page or so in between some of the other novels and end their reading on 10. I mention this detail to save someone from blaming the publishers as I have had some others end in mid-story. IN this case, the ending is the ending, just no "the end".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I was a fan of all of Edger Rich Burroughs books. I learned to read by reading these great books that were filled with excitment, humor, and people i could enjoy. I am glad to be able to read them again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Awesome reading!

    All 12 books in one handy volume. Much better than all the other "complete" versions, most of which have only the first 5 books. If you're a fan of the movie "John Carter" you'll love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Recommended

    A very good set of adventure novels, from a classic author of the genre. I read these novels when I was a boy and enjoyed them very much. There will be some readers that won't be able to get past the times of when these novels were written and some of the implied politically incorrect themes and dated theories of the science of the time, but the more intelligent reader should be able to look past that and enjoy them for the very good adventure stories that they are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Jfjcjfffjcuxxxccjj

    Pppppppppantelones

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I am glad to have all of the books together.  For when the books

    I am glad to have all of the books together.  For when the books were written, it is a very good series.  You can tell that they were written to be a series, because of the way that most of them end. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Darn good read for a 100 year old character ......

    A really good read (considering the character debuted 100 years ago). If you're into sci-fi (classic or otherwise), give the John Carter series a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    For early SF cultists

    If you have never read Burroughs' Mars books, $2 gets you not only an introduction, but the whole thing. John Carter is the James Bond of Mars. Indestructible, but subject to falling into hopeless situations at a moment's notice. Do not expect polished writing or thought provoking literature. Read these for fun, until you get bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    CelestialRainbow to all

    (Ok, im back.) "Meeting! Cosmos guides us to meeting room!" (I didnt mention our religion. AND WE ARE NOT MLP!!!!!!!!!!! We are horses at least. We are powered by starforce and Cosmos is our go<_>d...)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Butterbean and co

    Butterbean: I wish there where someone good to battle... <p>

    Sugarsplash: I am happy as a Stargazer. You all are crazy <p>

    Marisol: I will!!! I am epic!!! Pick me!!! <p>

    Gamer: (snorts) yeah, right Marisol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Drak

    Kk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Bluefeather

    Looks up at him

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Great books

    Reading the real thing again makes the movies disappointing.
    Reading these books gives some insight into the 1800s, at least from Mr. Burroughs perspective.

    I see where some of the Star Wars ideas came from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Great

    A must read for the fiction buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    To below...Highly Reccomended

    I am 16, and when I first read this series, I coud not put it down. I wholeheartedly agree that some kids simply do not have the attention span to read it. I am home schooled, so I have read other books like this ( including Gone with the Wind) and I loved them! It is too bad men do not treat women like John Carter does. If they did , then the world would be a much better place than it is now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    It all started with John Carter

    First I saw Disney's film "John Carter" which I instantly loved. I began researching more Edgar Rice Burroughs writings and found all the John Carter books in one neat volume. I haven't put it down since. The stories vary but the theme remains life on Mars for John Carter, his princess, their son and his adventures. I have read at least 9 of the 12 stories and loved every word. I highly recommend this book if you are a Sci Fi lover and a fan of action/adventure tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Not complete

    It is only 270 pages of the first book and will not open any others. Too bad!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2