BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

John Wayne: The Life and Legend

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    John Wayne was a bigger than life star. His classic movies are s

    John Wayne was a bigger than life star. His classic movies are still popular today. Scott Eyman has written a great book about Wayne. The details are great. I really enjoyed it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Interesting and full of information

    As a John Wayne fan for a long time I was very impressed with the amount of new, to me, information that was included in this book. I knew he did not enter the armed forces in WWII but did not know that he attempted to join the OSS.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Very informative

    This book answers many questions about the origin, life and times of John Wayne, aka Marion Morrison. Although the book spends a great deal of time discussing the production and direction of many of his movies it also covers his marriages and family fairly well. It is a little drawn out in some areas but was well worth the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Biography! Then get Hector's Juice and Gary Cooper!

    Great Biography! Then get Hector's Juice and Gary Cooper!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    This was an amazing book. I would consider it the gold standard

    This was an amazing book. I would consider it the gold standard of John Wayne biographies. The author is a knowledgeable film critic who clearly knows what he is talking about. He goes into detail about John Wayne's life in film and politics in a knowing, unusually evenhanded way. John Wayne never separated himself from his movie personas, and he made himself as expert as he could be in every aspect of the art of film-making. He maintained very public right-wing views, but was willing to accept that others did not agree with them and doesn't seem to have demonized anybody who was willing to argue with him about a different political point of view. Quite refreshing, really! If you want to read a lively, intimate, well-informed and evenhanded review of a man who remains larger than life, you can do a lot worse than read this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    This was one of those books that I find irritating.  It has enou

    This was one of those books that I find irritating.  It has enough interesting information on Jihn Wayne and his life to keep me hooked- and searching for these tidbits - but is irritating because the author apparently fancies himself a film critic and spends too much time offering up his indictments of the pictures he personally didn't like.  He also spends way too much time trying to impress the reader with his knowledge of the film making process, using industry technical term throughout as regards camera techniques, etc.  yet he never explains what these terms should mean to the layman reader.  My Eman goes far afield when addressing Waynes's politics and reveals his own left leanings, often inserting his own opinions and judgements into what I thought was supposed to be a simple biography
    Mr Eyman's castigation of all parties concerned making those films he didn't personally care for detracts the reader from the subject at hand.  He specifically attacks some of films that most John Wayne fans view as classics because, in his mind they were not "artful" enough.  Eyman's snobbery is at times very hard to take.  I found myself scanning over his all too frquent personally biased "observations."  As I say, this is distracting in the least.  A whole lot more could have been told about Mr Wayne's life, his family and his legacy if Eyman had skipped his personal agenda.  As it is, the page count could have been cut by half without losing any of the title subject matter.  Would not recommend this book to anyone who is really interested in Jihn Wayne himself.  There are many other, and better, books on John Wayne to choose from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    I absolutely loved this biography, it was THAT phenomenal. I'v

    I absolutely loved this biography, it was THAT phenomenal. I've always enjoyed watching the classic John Wayne Westerns and through this book I've now been given a tour through the Duke's life as well. It is certainly one of the best-written biographies I have read and pays great respect to the legend of John Wayne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Good book

    The book was very informative. There was a lot of details given about his movies. The book was well written, I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    I found the book to be a very balanced story of John Wayne's life.
    It didn't seek to lift him above human status, but didn't strive to denigrate the man he was either.
    It lets you see the man behind the film screen, faults and all.
    I enjoyed it a great deal although it did seem repetitive and wordy at times.
    Overall I liked it very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1