BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Johnny Angel

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!!!

    I am 23 and read it when it first came out, best book i've read by far ever. I could'nt put the book down, i finished it in 3 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Absolutely a wonderful book.

    Once I started reading this book I just couldn't stop. A great book and a good book to make you cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    a must read!!!!!!!!

    could not put it down! read in 1day i cryed through the while book thatz how good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Great Book!!!

    Great Book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    nice story

    Not one over her best but was still good. Great to relax with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Repeative

    I liked the story and it was touching but it kept repeating the same things over and over. I was getting tired of it. If she didn't repeat herself so much I would of gave it a high rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    One of Steel's best.......

    This book was wonderful... I couldn't put it down. Steel is getting better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A very GREAT book

    This was a great book, because it tells a story of a mother who looses a son, which is quite accurate to todays life because of the leading teenaged death, car accidents. I cried in this book, and i am not a crier at all. I love to read, but not usually books like this. If you like books about love and relationships, this is one for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Too Predictable

    This book was very disappointing. A reader could predict the outcome right from the beginning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    very moving and touching..

    i was very touched by this book. its one of my favorites to read. i cried while reading the last few pages but i really enjoyed it. i highly recommend this book to anyone who hasn't read it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    ONE OF STEELS MOST TOUCHING STORIES

    JOHNNY PETERSON IS THE HIGH SCHOOL SENIOR EVERYBODY ADMIARD. LOVING, CARING, ALWAYS THINKING OF OTHERS BEFORE HIMSELF, HE HAD A BRIGHT FUTURE. BUT THEN SOMETHING UNEXPICTED AND TERABLE HAPPENS. ON PROM NIGHT, DAYS BEFORE GRADURATION JOHNNY GETS INTO A CAR AND IS KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT. IN THE MONTHS THAT FOLLOW THE PEPOLE WHO HAVE TO DEAL WITH THE TRADGEDY ARE JOHNNY'S GIRLFRIEND BECKY, HIS LOVING AND CARING MOTHER ALICE, AND BOBBY WHO HAS BEEN SILENT FOR THE PAST FIVE YEARS. WHEN A SUDDEN ILLNESS COMES ACROUSS ALICE MONTHS LATER DUE TO THE TRAMA OF LOSING HER SON A MYSTARIES THING HAPPENS. JOHNNY SUDDENLY APPEARS AT HIS MOTHERS HOSPITAL BEDSIDE AS AN ANGEL. JOHNNY ADVISES ALICE TO KEEP STRONG. IN THE MONTHS THAT FOLLOW JOHNNY ALSO HEALS BECKY, HER MOTHER PAM WHO LOVED JOHNNY LIKE HER OWN SON, HIS ACOHOLIC FATHER, AND HIS YOUNGER BROTHER BOBBY WHO AT THE END STARTS TALKING AGAIN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Most Read

    Johnny Peterson is the high school senior everyone admires. Loveing, caring, always thinking of other befor himself, he had a bright futuer. But on prom night something terable, unexpicted has happend. that day, days befor graduration Johnny steps into a car and gets into a car accident and was killed. The people who cared about Johnny now have to deal with him gone. His girlfriend Becky, his mom Alice, and his little brother Bobby, all have been affected by the accident. A few months after Johnny's accident, Alice his mother, got an illness. Now it has been 5 years and Bobby still hasn't spoke since the accident. Then something has happend to Alice one night when she was in her room of the hospital, Johnny's angle came. Johnny told her to stay strong, he also maid everything cool with Becky and his brother Bobby. Now something ealse has happend to the petersons family Bobby is starting to talk again from what happen with Jonny's angel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    MUST READ

    This book is definitely a MUST READ. I rarely cry and thought I wouldn't all through the book (which I couldn't put down and read in one day.) However, even though I guessed the ending in the last 20 pages, I cried and was deeply moved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    A. Cimilluca

    Johnny Angel was a really great book. The story was so heart warming. I did not want to put the book down the entire time reading it. It was a happy and sad story at the same time. It made you appreciate life a lot more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Great Book

    This is a really good book, really opens up your eyes. I felt though that at times it repeated itself, like repeating over and over the things that had happened to this family. It is a really good book for teenagers to read to help them see that anything can happen at any age and to the good or the bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Beyond Words Wonderful!

    Danielle Steele brought this mother of a son to her knee's. Unexpectedly...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    Angels And Miracles

    Johnny was the good son, beloved brother, devoted boyfriend and an all around nice guy living the American dream. A fatal car accident would shatter his hopes and dreams and take him away from those he knew and loved. But he would return again to help those suffering from his death. Slowly everything unfolds as emotional wounds heal, and miracles rain upon his family and friends. Like any other Danielle Steel book, her characters are stereotype ¿ they had to be handsome/beautiful, intelligent, popular, admired and revered by many . Johnny, the hero-cum-angel in this novel, was described as `what any seventeen year old boy would love to look like and to be like¿. And his girlfriend, Becky was pretty with baby blues and a smile that still melts Johnny¿s heart everytime he looks at her. Questions like ` Why must Steel write about people like this all the time? Does everyone have to be beautiful in her world?¿ bullets the mind. Everyone¿s character was lacking, some statements repeated over and over again (Miss Steel, I think you should give your readers more credit. Iam sure they GOT THE PICTURE), and her prose seemed to reach out to grade school students. But I must commend Steel on the way she can make a story into a tear jerker as I found myself shedding a tear or two. There is joy, sorrow, happiness, poignant moments that will make your heart ache, survival and enlightenment. So although you might find yourself cringing at her on the blink writing style and bad grammars, you will still find your heartstrings being tugged. We all know that Steel has suffered a tremendous loss when her beloved son Nicky passed on in September 1997. Maybe this book was her way of expressing her fantasy of having her son appear to her as an angel, or her wish to have a conversation with him for just one more time. Maybe writing this book has ignited feelings of utter sadness and despair that she could not bring herself to give it her all. Forgive me. I¿m pulling an ` Oprah Winfrey¿ here. Seriously, I feel for Danielle Steel. I have a fifteen month old son and my wish is to see him grow into a fine young man and be a father himself, and I¿m sure it was painful for Steel to realise that she would never experience that with Nicky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Bring Tissues!

    This book was different from a lot of Danielle Steel's books. If you have a son it will truly TUG at your heart. I almost felt like I was going through the agony with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    I too lost my son, my soulmate

    Having lost my 'angel' son three and a half years ago, I so related to this book. It touched me deeply and I sobbed throughout the book. I felt nearer to my own beloved son after reading this book. I bless Danielle Steel for this experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Heartwarming

    I haven't read much of Steel's work, but this really touched my heart. A friend of mine gave it for me to read, and I'm sure glad I did. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6