Customer Reviews for

Johnny Got His Gun

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Johnny Got his gun takes a potentially boring plot about and inj

    Johnny Got his gun takes a potentially boring plot about and injured WWI veteran and weaves it into a great book.Dalton Trumbo did a great job writing this book. he provides great imagery even with a blind character. Joe Bonham, the main character is severly wounded in war, he is blind,deaf, and has no limbs. You experience a great journey as Joe tries to put the pieces of his life back together. He has to reaquire the knowledge of time and other events. He is also left alone to his thoughts and often meditates on past experiences. Trumbo does an excellent job of foreshadowing the transition from present to past, making it smooth and easy to follow. Trumbo uses a unique way to make an almost lifeless character contain a giant amount of personality. Dalton provides a way for the reader to dive deep into the mind of Joe, where all of his thoughts lay. The thoughts of love and hate, admiration and disguest.The writing allows the reader to connect with Joe and picture the world around Joe, that Joe cant see himself. This book is a must read it contains a great plot,excellent writing,and a great character the reader can connect with and an emotional rollercoaster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Must Read!

    I thought that Johnny Got His Gun was a great book. This is a must read if you are interested about the nature of war and the history behind it. It has changed my life. This book was written in the early to mid-1920's. He left his family and friends even his girlfriend to go fight in the war. Everybody was devastated, but they were proud of him because he was fighting for the country. Joe the main character has many flashbacks to part of his life mainly from World War Two. He was nearly dead after the mortal shell had exploded. Instead of being dead they took him to the military hospital where they have treated him. It was unbelievable that Joe was suffering from such a horrific accident. He realizes after a while he cannot speak, see, or hear anything because he has lost his face from the accident. He has a Morse code we he can communicate with the nurses and his family. After the whole accident were it basically ruined his life he was always wishing he could die and not live through the pain. He wants to see what the world outside is like, but with no face, no limbs and half a body makes it a struggle for him. With being in any World War there are many tragedies and dangerous things that happen out in the world. With being in the military you are trying to save the country but you are also putting your life at risk, just like Joe did. Overall I think this was a great book and I recommended it to anybody either who is interested in the war even if there not. It's a great book and you get to understand how being in the world is really like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as depressing or as anti-war as I expeted.

    I read this book because of the substory of the corpse named Lazarus, which was very humorous in a macabre way. My sister had shown me that Lazarus passage once and I never forgot it, and it later motivated me to read the whole book. This book is easy to read quickly. The downside for me was that the themes were so gruesome that I never wanted to read it before bed because the horrible imagery might give me nightmares. I didn't really interpret this book as an anti-war novel, though, but rather more as a terrific example of how a human being can pull theirself out of any situation by ingenuity, perseverence, and time. The narrator's anti-war speeches weren't particularly logical or insightful to me, though they are a great basis for thought and group discussion, and politically they were right on target. I didn't interpret the ending as death or failure of the narrator, which is the opposite of what one reviewer claimed. One part that showed lack of concern for detail was that the Morse code transliterations were inconsistent and therefore provably erroneous: that such an obvious error wasn't corrected is disappointing. To sum up the book I would say that it's a good but not excellent read, and it's useful for many reasons: thought, discussion, humor, inspiration, a lesson about perseverance, anti-war sentiment, politics, motivation to learn Morse code, and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Life Changer

    This book changed the way I look at alot of different things. It made me notice the things that I take for granted everyday and how bad it is when you loose something that you've had forever. This book is a life changer if you comprehend of what your reading. I really enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2001

    If you want to know about the horrors of war

    As a student I read this book, and found it to be a superb book of the one mans triumph over war. A later this year I reread the book and found it to be even better the second time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    It really hits home

    I read this book while in high school, 1970. At that time I applied it to the Viet Nam war, and the soldiers returning from jungle combat. This book makes you appreciate the sacrifice our soldiers make for God and country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    It just made me think...

    Before I even started this book, I was throughly convinced that I would hate it. It just wasn't the kind of thing that I read normally. But it made me think about EVERYTHING. To the man in the book, everything had value--everything was worth thinking about. The only thing he had were his thoughts and memories. It made me, more than anything, appreciate the value of the smallest little things as a very big part of human life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Amazing viewpoint!

    Dalton Trumbo delineates the truth and experiences of a horrible postwar casualty. Compare to Metallica's song 'One'...which was origonally based on JOHNNY GOT HIS GUN. Excellent idea and well-written novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    I can not live, I can not die!

    Appreciation for one's life is more than often overlooked in today's world. This book will help the reader rediscover his/her own value on life and their possesions along with everyday simplicity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    Does this book rock? Well, read my well-thoughtout review to find out.

    Most defiantly! I found this book to be very good. Here's basically what happens. This guy goes into the war and gets as closed to killed as you can come; he barely escapes with his life, when you read it you'll see what I mean. He ends up going crazy and it takes him a very long time just to find out what his surroundings are. Then when he finally realizes that he can communicate with the outside world, after all his waiting...well you'll have to read to find out what happens. What did you think I was going to tell you straight out? In this book you'll find many anti-war themes thoroughly backed up by this guy's experiences. After you read this book you will get a sense of what war can to do a person. The only thing it failed to cover was what war can accomplish, however in the context of this book there was no reason to put that in. This book also puts the question forth of how far doctors should go to save a person's life, and if it is morally and ethically right to keep people alive sometimes. Something you will find interesting is how the book seems very realistic because it is constantly going between the Joe's thoughts dreams and experiences. It probably flows faster then any other book I have ever read for the fact that it contains no commas or semicolons at all. I really did like the book; I didn't give it a five though because it wasn't the cream of the crop. It was a little too anti-war and although he did express his ideas very well it just didn't deserve the five. However, that is my opinion and if you do not give it a four I would be surprised if you did not give it a 5. It was however a great read and nobody can go through life reading only 5's. I definitely recommend this book to you and hope you will take the time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1