Customer Reviews for

Johnny Tremain

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This Book Is a Classic

I write this review as a retired teacher. This book, historical fiction, is a Newbery Medal Winner, and is typically found on the reading list for grades 6 though 8. Esther Forbes does an excellent job of blending her fictional characters with the famous figures we hav...
I write this review as a retired teacher. This book, historical fiction, is a Newbery Medal Winner, and is typically found on the reading list for grades 6 though 8. Esther Forbes does an excellent job of blending her fictional characters with the famous figures we have come to know from history in Boston during the period leading up to the Revolution. It is a coming-of-age story on two levels: Fictionally, it deals with an insecure and immature fourteen-year-old seeking to find his roots and his way in life. We believe that Johnny makes an interesting character for kids from eleven through fourteen to relate to, because his negative attitude in the beginning makes him somewhat unattractive. Consequently, he gets very little sympathy when he needs it the most. Fortunately for Johnny, he latches onto a genuine human being named Rab, who becomes his mentor and role model. It is really heartwarming to see how Rab's kindness works as counseling that rearranges Johnny's thinking, which in turn, causes Johnny to work to correct his own behavior. You can't help but love Rab! By the end of the book, sixteen-year-old Johnny has emerged as a responsible, caring, self-respecting young man who has also acquired respect for others. And like Rab, he too, has become lovable.

On a historical level, this story deals with America's coming of age. The colonies are outgrowing the Mother Country. In Boston, Sam Adams and his Committee of Correspondence members are paving the way for independence. The Sons of Liberty are rebelling against King George III, in a manner not unlike that of a two-year-old rebelling against parents. "If I don't get my way, I'm going to make you pay. I'll dump your tea into the sea." Had King George III been less of a tyrant, and Sam Adams less of a rebel, would we be the United States today? (Interestingly, underneath King George III's portrait hanging in the British Museum is a line labeling him as the ruler who cost England her American colonies.)

I see reading this book as an opportunity for students to increase their word power. Underlining unknown words and making a list of them to look up in the dictionary is the way to learn new words. Words like Whigs, Tories, and apprentice will be easily learned from usage. Also, if this book is required reading for a reluctant reader, I strongly recommend buying the audio version to use in conjunction with the reading. The audio comes unabridged on CDs and makes an excellent supplement for reading improvement, because reading and listening at the same time is twofold learning. This book has too much to offer in both history and fictional character development to not support it completely. It deserves the Newbery medal it received.

posted by Liz4 on February 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Should have never been published. (No offense Esther Forbes.)

Worst book ever. Period.

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Good Book

    It is a good book but it dosent include enough about the apprentice system.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    Best Book I've Ever Read

    I read a lot of books but this is the best book I have ever read. I first had to read it in fifth grade but I didn't want to because it was long. But I loved it after I read it. Then in eight grade I had to read it again. Actually I could have read something else but I read this again for my project. The first time I had not understood it very well but the second time you read it it makes way more sence. I thank my Fifth grade teacher for making me read it and I'll never forget it, Thank you Mrs. Lenaghan. (hope I spelled it right)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    WOW!!!

    I was never really that interested in History. I decided to choose Jonny Tremain for my Book Report. After reading it, I was into the subject! I highly recomend it to anyone learning about the revolution. This is where the fun begins!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    A Very Good Book

    A very well written. This book has sparked my intrest in the American Revolution. After reading the book, I got on the internet and found information about Paul Revere, Sam Adams, Joseph Warren, and others. I highly recommend this book to EVERYONE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    The Best Book Ever, Not A History Textbook!

    I read this book and and am still reading the book. It is about a boy who burns his hand and can not work for his master Mr. Lapham.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    It Was a Great Book

    I thought that this book was a great portrayal of what the patriots were really fighting for. It also did a good job of connecting fictional characters with non-fictional events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 1999

    Thanks to a wonderful English teacher from the past!

    I can not think of anything more memorable than reading this story in my 5th grade English class in 1983. I am surprised to see that it is now not normally taught until 8th grade. I remember highlighting various parts of the book, reading and re-reading. Sixteen years later I still have that book on my shelf and read it maybe once per year, smiling at all the notes I made in the margains. It is my hope that when my children are old enough they will love the story as much as I did. I never would have given it a chance if not made to by my teacher, so to her, I say thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    Very good story!!!!

    I thought that this story was a great story. It made me smile, laugh, and, cry. I recommed this book to people of all ages!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Please...

    Its OK??!!... for JT lovers my sister read it... NOT me?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Amazing!

    It is a great book and I noticed that many of the people that disliked it made spelling mistakes. Hmmmm what do you think that means?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    By cd

    Great book you need to read it NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    For all of you who say there is no emotion or danger...

    It does to have emotion. Seriously does no one feel the friendship between Johnny and Rab? Or the love between Johnny and Cilla? Secondly, if there isn't any danger, then why does Rab die? Why does Johnny have a maimed hand for most of the book? I loved this book, by the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Johnny Tremain is a wonderful book for a 10 or 11 year old who is studying the Revolutionary War in school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Good BOOK Read this book

    I read this book 4 a book report + loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    American classic!

    This is one of my favorite books! Set in the backdrop of the early days of the American Revolution, it provides the reader with a great story full of history. I loved watching how Johnny's character progressed throughout the book. Although I read it in 4th grade, I would recommed reading it in 5th or 6th grade because there are some tricky words throughout. This is a great classic read for kids all and would be great book to read as a family. Just as a side note: I do not have the ebook version, only the paperback, so I can not testify to the quality of the ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Please read this good review

    Wasnt the worse book but i keep on getting lost. Kind of boring but if u like history then u will LOVE this book. I also dont like reading long books about war and stuff like that so dont always take peoples and my advice. About a boy named johnny tremain that gets his hand manded by silver which changes his life forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN PUBLISHED OEVEN THIUGHT OG BORRINNNNGGG!!!!!!!!

    DONT REAIT WHATAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Boooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!:(

    I was forced to read this for school, would never read this again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Suck si bad

    The worst book ive ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great Book

    This one of my all-time favorite books. I read it when I was in the fourth or fifth grade and loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13