Customer Reviews for

Johnny Tremain

Average Rating 3.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

This Book Is a Classic

I write this review as a retired teacher. This book, historical fiction, is a Newbery Medal Winner, and is typically found on the reading list for grades 6 though 8. Esther Forbes does an excellent job of blending her fictional characters with the famous figures we hav...
I write this review as a retired teacher. This book, historical fiction, is a Newbery Medal Winner, and is typically found on the reading list for grades 6 though 8. Esther Forbes does an excellent job of blending her fictional characters with the famous figures we have come to know from history in Boston during the period leading up to the Revolution. It is a coming-of-age story on two levels: Fictionally, it deals with an insecure and immature fourteen-year-old seeking to find his roots and his way in life. We believe that Johnny makes an interesting character for kids from eleven through fourteen to relate to, because his negative attitude in the beginning makes him somewhat unattractive. Consequently, he gets very little sympathy when he needs it the most. Fortunately for Johnny, he latches onto a genuine human being named Rab, who becomes his mentor and role model. It is really heartwarming to see how Rab's kindness works as counseling that rearranges Johnny's thinking, which in turn, causes Johnny to work to correct his own behavior. You can't help but love Rab! By the end of the book, sixteen-year-old Johnny has emerged as a responsible, caring, self-respecting young man who has also acquired respect for others. And like Rab, he too, has become lovable.

On a historical level, this story deals with America's coming of age. The colonies are outgrowing the Mother Country. In Boston, Sam Adams and his Committee of Correspondence members are paving the way for independence. The Sons of Liberty are rebelling against King George III, in a manner not unlike that of a two-year-old rebelling against parents. "If I don't get my way, I'm going to make you pay. I'll dump your tea into the sea." Had King George III been less of a tyrant, and Sam Adams less of a rebel, would we be the United States today? (Interestingly, underneath King George III's portrait hanging in the British Museum is a line labeling him as the ruler who cost England her American colonies.)

I see reading this book as an opportunity for students to increase their word power. Underlining unknown words and making a list of them to look up in the dictionary is the way to learn new words. Words like Whigs, Tories, and apprentice will be easily learned from usage. Also, if this book is required reading for a reluctant reader, I strongly recommend buying the audio version to use in conjunction with the reading. The audio comes unabridged on CDs and makes an excellent supplement for reading improvement, because reading and listening at the same time is twofold learning. This book has too much to offer in both history and fictional character development to not support it completely. It deserves the Newbery medal it received.

posted by Liz4 on February 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Should have never been published. (No offense Esther Forbes.)

Worst book ever. Period.

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Great for a Historical Fiction fan and for classwork

    I teach Johnny Tremain at a gifted and talented school each year because I believe it gives a look into the world that was the American Revolution. Although the book goes into some slightly slow explanations, it ends up getting the reader involved and caring. This novel is intriguing and interesting at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Bad Book?... Keep Dreaming!

    I thought this bok was great. For Kindergarden-4th grade it would be boring but if you read it as a class or with someone else and discuss it, then you would understand and like it better. Esther Forbes used great description so that is another reason why I liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    It Was Great...

    My fifth grade teacher would read this to our class everyday. It was so good. I'm about to be a sophomore in high school and I still love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    Johnny Tremain

    Johnny, a great silversmith who is proud of his work and enjoys what he does burns his hand in a horrible accident and his whole life changes. His life is no longer that great.Throught the book more hardships occur. The main one would being the rich and powerful Lytes. Then Johnny joins a rebel rousing group and another horrible accident has occurred,death. To whom you may ask , read for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    This Is A Really Great Book

    This is a great book. It really pulls you into the world of Johnny Tremain, Cilla, Rab and the Revolutionary war. I totally enjoyed it and have read it about 4 times. ( only 4 stars do to the death of Rab )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Pretty good book

    Great for historical content. An entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    Great story with a backdrop of our nation's beginnings

    I loved this book. I was constantly wondering what would happen to Johnny, Rab, the Laphams and the other characters. My only complaint is that Dove doesn't get his in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    Great book, poor ending

    This book was outstanding. Esther Forbes is at her best. This book gives an up close view of the lives of famous people such as doctor warren, paul revere and john hancock. i would recomend this book to anyone , even if you don't really like the revolutionary war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    A very good book

    I liked this book. It was very interesting throughout the whole story. I reccomend this book to anyone that loves reading about history. This was one of the best historical fictions that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    This Book is very interesting

    If you love History and want another piece of the Boston Revolutionary?Then you just have to read Johnny Tremain.I recommend this book to everybody!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Good junction of fictional youth life and real historic events

    What makes Johnny Tremain so intriguing is the way it weaves the fictional life of Johnny Tremain to the real-life situations of colonial America. It somehow brings to life the viewpoints of average people during the pre-war period, while keeping up with adolescent pressures with romance and finding a place in life. All the characters are well developed. For me, the only major setback of this book is the drag in some parts. For example, even though I could vividly imagine the Lapham¿s home, the early descriptions of the home were not really needed, as the majority of the story did not take place there. Other than that, it is a solid read, good for anyone interested in the American Revolution. In fact, I remember watching the Simpsons one time, and there was an episode where Bart had to read Johnny Tremain- and liked it, quoting ¿they should call this book Johnny¿s Deformed Hand.¿ If even TV¿s worst child read the book and got some knowledge out of it, can¿t everyone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    A very nice book to read

    This book seemed quite boing at first, but later the book got more and more interesting. At the end, I could not stop reading. I recommend this book strongly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    An Interesting Period in History

    One of the most interesting time periods is when the thirteen colonies were revolting against their founding nation, Great Britain. This is why I think the book Johnny Tremain by Ester Forbes was so interesting to me. It is set in Boston when it is revolting. The main Character, Johnny Tremain, lives in two main places in the book. One is in his Master¿s house, and the second place is the Boston Observer. Johnny is training to be a silversmith when something goes very wrong. He burns his hand very badly when a crucible full of melted silver collapsed. He burns it so badly that he can¿t use it for silver work anymore. This was a very good book because of the topic. I would recommend it to anybody because it was such a good book. Paul A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Johnny Tremain, by: a 5th Grader

    I enjoyed the book Johnny Tremain, not only for its way of describing a veiwpoint of an observant young male. Though I was shocked at him being a young silversmith, I enjoyed the times when they 'described' the Boston Revolt. My actual first glance came on a Thursday as I suppose,( my day for library) and we had to pick a book for a book report.( To make a long story short)I looked at an extremely thick book and read the reveiw on the back and decided to check it out. Then and there I knew I would enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Exceptionally good

    Our teacher had this book assigned to us and we discussed every chapter in detail. This book is a great way to learn about the turbulent times of the 1770's. It isn't a boring history book, but you still learn a lot about America's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2000

    Great Book!!!

    I thought this was an intreaging and suspenceful book.It portrays one of the most important periods of history in America.I would recomend this book for Jr.high students who enjoy historcial fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    The boy that matured

    Johnny Tremain was a story about a boy who first worked for Mr. Lapham after his mother died. He burned his hand for breaking the Sabbath day. He pride was gone after that so he decided to leave. This is a good book for students who are learning about the Boston Tea Party. It is also a fun and exciting book!!!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3