Customer Reviews for

The Johnstown Flood

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    This brings the Johnstown flood to life!

    David McCullough shows that fact really is, at times, stranger than fiction. He obviously did a lot of research; there were many facts given to help set the record straight. His book reveals the people behind the events; you can see it happening before you. I appreciated reading the newspapers' headlines and inflated stories told, the maps and photos, along with the (lack of) justice served by the S.F. Hunting & Fishing Club. Lawyers would have a hay-day if the flood would happen in our time! I can't wait to travel to Johnstown to see the site of a long-ago nightmare and pay my respects to a town of survivors.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    Awesome!!!

    I stumbled across this book by accident about two months ago. I had never heard of David McCullough before. This book just sounded so interesting, and I like history, so I thought I'd give it a try. It really makes you feel as though you were there!!! Now that I have 'discovered' this author (thank goodness on my own, but now he is all over the news for 1776, and rightly so) I am certain I will be reading other books of his soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    'INCREDIBLE'

    This book was so well written that I almost felt that I was going through the flood myself. This is an incredible book! I live about a hundred miles from Johnstown but have never really read much about the flood. All I knew was 'hearsay'. But as I read this book, I came to realize that all the stories I heard about the Johnstown Flood were just that. Stories! This book told everything. I went through the 1972 Agnes Flood and it was nothing.....nothing like what these people went through. I can't imagine having to endure such a tragedy as this. They've made movies about the Titanic and Mt. St. Helens. Why not this? This book would make a great movie! Read this book! I guarantee you won't be able to put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Great PA History

    As a forner resident of PA, the Johnstown Flood is a part of my history, albeit one that aside from the basic facts I was unfamiliar with. McCullough dispelled myths and set the record straight, providing facts while also telling a captivating story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    A detailed historical disaster- Oh the humanity!

    It's easy to look back from my comfortable chair in 2012 and say, " How could they not see this coming?". A vast lake, high in the hills held back by a decaying dam, looms over a wary populace below held back from strong protest by their belief that the millionaire industrialist dam owners know best and the complacency that comes with generations of coexisting with the threat.
    Add an epic storm and you have a disaster story that will keep you turning the pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Masterful Storyteller

    McCullough knows how to engage the reader into story. I couldn't put this book down...which made for a couple sleepless nights!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Typical McCullough Thoroughness

    David McCullough brings history to life in another book. I thought at first that this was a new book by McCullough, until it referred to an event which happened over 120 years ago as happening almost 100 years ago. That explained how he was able to interview actual survivors in his research. The book displays his usual attention to detail and thorough research. I liked also that he didn't stop with the flood and its causes as other treatments of the subject that I have read have, but continued on to the aftermath of the event. What happened to those who survived--and how the courts dealt (or didn't) with those most responsible for the tragic flood.

    If you like history well-told, I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Tourism

    If you liked the book so much, go to Johnstown and visit, but don't just go into Johnstown itself to the museums, go to Sidman/St. Michaels and see the actual dam and the tourist sites in the area. Johnstown is an amazing place that has memorialized this tragedy. It is so good to know that McCullough helped to put them back on the map.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Well researched

    I grew up near Johnstown so I was familiar with the area but not all the details and pictures. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    highly recommend

    very interesting story about the lives of the flood victims and survivors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    This was one of the best books I've ever read...in fact, I've re

    This was one of the best books I've ever read...in fact, I've read it 3 times! I love the detail David McCullough weaves into his writing..you almost feel like you're there. I don't quite know what it is about him, but he's one of my favorite authors. This book is one of my favorites..you won't be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Amazing book

    Have always heard about the famous flood but this book describes it in such great detail. Its a wonder anyone survived it. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    great book of forgotton american history

    David McCullough is one of my favorite historians. His books never let me down and this is no exception. You feel as though you are there as the waters descend down the hill. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Very well written

    David McCullough is an excellent historian and author. You feel as though you could see what was happening from his descriptions, which appear to be very well researched. In addition, the background on the various people involved at that time makes you truly feel that you know what they went through. I recommend it for everyone who has an interest in American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    An amazing story

    McCulloch brings the story of the Johnstown flood to vivid life. When the flood hits, he takes you on a wild ride. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Well written well researched and an extremely good read!

    As a native of Pittsburgh I grew up hearing about the Johnstown flood and had been looking for some time for an accurate accounting of the incident. After reading several of David McCullough's other books I decided his was probably one to look into. I was not in the least disappointed. His depth of research and his easy style of writing almost makes this a novel instead of a lesson in history. It is dramatic to the point of feeling as if you are fleeing from the flood yourself and as maddening as can be that no one was found at fault for what was truly a man made disaster just waiting for the right circumstances of events. The story was new but the names of the players were familiar. Anyone who has lived in western pennsylvania should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    I loved this book! It read like a fiction novel. It was so interesting for me because the last time I read about the Johnstown Flood, I was 10 years old. So this book of course, explained everything at a higher educational level but easy reading. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves history of any kind. David McCullough did an excellent job writing this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great book!

    I had never heard of this story before. The details are amazing and it puts you right in the book as you read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    The story of an unexpected flood that destroyed a town by a master historian.

    This was McCullough's first major book. He is always accurate and interesting but it is amazing to see how his presentation improves over the years. Get this book just because it is one of his. The bad side of the edition I got is that the pictures are terrible, perhaps they are better in a hard cover edition?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Must Read

    I am a big fan of this historical writer and this book is no exception. I like that the author is objective and brings all sides to the table. I was sorely disappointed there were not any pictures as this would have made for better visual clarity. I did peruse thru a hard copy at the store which helped but one of the points of the Nook is NOT having to go to the store! Otherwise was happy with this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5