Customer Reviews for

Joker

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Dark Knight Joker Fans Rejoice.

This book was gritty, dark, and gruesome.
I enjoyed it, but I felt that it betrayed the original Joker. Though I loved the new direction this book took, I think it was more enjoyable for fans of The Dark Knight and Ledger's Joker.
The story itself is rather bland and...
This book was gritty, dark, and gruesome.
I enjoyed it, but I felt that it betrayed the original Joker. Though I loved the new direction this book took, I think it was more enjoyable for fans of The Dark Knight and Ledger's Joker.
The story itself is rather bland and predictable, but the characters are superb. You feel the raw emotions due to life-like illustrations. Just reading it to better understand the characters is worth it. But, if you were hoping for a little Joker and Harley romance, you won't find it. There is one tender moment, but even that is portrayed sleazily.
The writing was average, except for a few metaphors that got me thinking. There was also some confusing wording (for me personally) and I found I needed a dictionary at some parts.
The book wasn't long and only took me about two hours to read through. A great book for a quick read with a lasting impression.
This book wasn't wow, amazing, but it's worth a read. For Batman/Joker fans it's a must and the new Joker is someone whose really interesting. Before reading be prepared to think and make connections between the artwork and dialog.
My final note: If you liked The Dark Knight, read it.
If you are a die-hard retro Joker fan, you might be disappointed, but this new Joker is interesting and thought-provoking. So, give it a shot.
Oh! Also, there are some suggestive parts to this book. There are a few sexual scenes and lots of violence and blood. Not for those who may be squeamish. Hope you give it a chance. Best of luck and happy reading!

posted by ShelbyBoo on July 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This Joker is Messed Up

This graphic novel does an excellent job of showing exactly how twisted the Joker is, cleverly done through the eyes of one of his new henchman. The story and writing are excellent. The artwork actually reminded me of Heath Ledger's Joker in The Dark Knight. There wa...
This graphic novel does an excellent job of showing exactly how twisted the Joker is, cleverly done through the eyes of one of his new henchman. The story and writing are excellent. The artwork actually reminded me of Heath Ledger's Joker in The Dark Knight. There was a resemblance. Was it intentional? This graphic novel is not for children and may be offensive even to some adults due to skinning a man alive, an implied rape scene, drug use, strip club setting, and lots of blood.

posted by Gunslinger on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This Joker is Messed Up

    This graphic novel does an excellent job of showing exactly how twisted the Joker is, cleverly done through the eyes of one of his new henchman. The story and writing are excellent. The artwork actually reminded me of Heath Ledger's Joker in The Dark Knight. There was a resemblance. Was it intentional? This graphic novel is not for children and may be offensive even to some adults due to skinning a man alive, an implied rape scene, drug use, strip club setting, and lots of blood.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Entertaining and Interesting Artwork

    A fairly entertaining read, this story is told from the perspective of one of the joker's new henchmen. The story kept me reading and there were definitely some shocking events and interesting insights into the joker character. That said, I wasn't blown away. I think "the killing joke" and "whatever happened to the caped crusader?" are both significantly better batman comics. I do, however, think any batman collection would be lacking if it was missing this piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    " A Hitler in Gothum City"

    Could this be???????????? The joker is out "AGAIN!" How could this be? READ TO FIND OUT!

    THIS book was brilliant, extraordinary, and off the limit!

    THIS book was outstanding, and a real cliff- hanger!

    It was a tad bit diffulcult. I do not recommend this book for kids 10 and under too diffulcult, I am pretty old myself and I found it a tad bit hard and hard for someone who is in collage, might sound weird!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1