Customer Reviews for

Joseph Had a Little Overcoat

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    joseph

    Joseph Had a Little Overcoat is about Joseph who had a coat that had a lot of holes in it! I loved this book because it sparks a child¿s imagination. Each page is a new adventure for the reader. It also shows how you can take something old and ratty and make it into something beautiful. The artwork was very colorful and enticing. This book would be good for kindergarteners or first graders. Simms Taback is famous for his children¿s books and Smithsonian calendars. He worked for the New York Times as an illustrator and eventually opened his own design studio. He lives with his wife who is also a writer and three grown children. Taback, Simms. Joseph Had a Little Overcoat. Viking Penguin. 2000.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Joseph Had a Little Overcoat

    The picture book titled Song And Dance Man is without a doubt worthy of the Caldecott Medal award. Full of imagination and excitement, this picture book captures the attention of young readers as soon as the story unfolds. This picture book consists of a well thought out plot which is heartwarming and varies in suitability for young readers from the very youngest audiences to beginner readers. The characters in this picture book remain essentially static and don¿t change. The text of this picture book is so well written and thoroughly detailed. The illustrations in this picture book are utterly remarkable with immense detail. In addition, the illustrations naturally draws the readers and listeners into the story. The story¿s setting most likely took place sometime in the past. The plot itself evokes strong emotions from the past which keeps the audience feeling excited and in high spirits. This is a picture book that many young readers will take pleasure in reading over and over. This picture book could also fall in the genre¿s of both biographical and historical realism because the story could have actually happened in the past, a grandfather could have actually been a tap dancer. Also, the picture book contains historical information about the grandfather¿s past. The author of this bright picture book, Karen Ackerman, has written numerous picture books. For example, ¿Flannery Row: An Alphabet Rhyme¿ which won the ¿Parents` Choice Award¿. Today Karen resides in Cincinnati, Ohio. The illustrator of this book, Stephen Gammell, is highly talented. In fact, he has not only illustrated two Caldecott Honor books, he has also written several books as well. Ackerman, Karen. Song And Dance Man. New York, Stephen Gammell, 1988

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    My Review

    Joseph Had a Little Overcoat is a delightful story of a man named Joseph who had a coat that was old and worn. Joseph was very proud of his coat and as time passed it became even more old and worn, ¿so he made a jacket out of it and went to the fair.¿ Joseph¿s love for his coat inspired him to be creative and to think of new uses for it as the threads continued to unravel. A true story of making the best out of what you¿ve got and definitely one of my favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Review for class

    Joseph had a Little Overcoat is a colorfully illustrated story about a boy who has an overcoat and manages to use it in everyway he can instead of throwing it away when it gets worn out. For example 'he made a vest out of it' when there was nothing else to do with it. He also patched his coat, 'better to have an ugly patch than a beautiful hole.' Taback Simms is the author of this story, he grew up in Bronx NY, and became a designer for the New York Times. Simms, Taback. Joseph Had a Little Overcoat. New York: Viking, 1999.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2006

    A Wonderful Picture Book

    Joseph Had a Little Overcoat, by Simms Taback, is a wonderful story. The theme of the book is that you can always make something out of nothing. The book is centered around Joseph and his overcoat. Like Joseph the coat is growing old. Instead of throwing it away he decides to make something new out of what is left. Joseph is constantly coming up with new ideas, for example, 'Joseph had a little jacket. It got old and worn. So he mad a vest out of it.' I would recommend this book to 1st and 2nd graders. Simms Taback grew up in Bronx, New York, where he originally wanted to be a engineer. Eventually he realized his true passion and enrolled in Cooper Union. As an illustrator he has worked with graphic artist with CBS Records, was a designer for the New York Times, owned his own design studio, taught at the School of Visual Art and Syracuse University, and illustrated over 35 books. He won the Caldecott Medal for Joseph Had a Little Overcoat in 2000. Simms Taback is an incredible writer and illustrator, and his book, Joseph Had a Little Overcoat, is a fine example. He uses colorful and vibrant pictures. Also in the book he die-cut throughout the story to show what Joseph will make next. Also if you pay close attention to his illustration, you will notice different small pictures of people throughout history. One of those photos, is a photo of Sigmund Fruad. Also notice that there are small saying scattered throughtout the story an example is,'Better to have an ugly patch than a beautiful hole.' I truly enjoyed reading this book. I even found myself flipping back thru the book to read the little saying and to identify the different figures. It is a remarkable book. Taback, Simms. Joseph Had a Little Overcoat. New York: Penguin Putnam Books, 1999.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    A classic children's book

    Joseph Had a Little Overcoat is a classic book that reminds me of the woman who ate the fly story/riddle. It is an easy to read book that children would enjoy to read as well as listen to. This book could also be used in the classroom with an interactive activity as well. The children could be very creative with this! The book starts from a man who owns a big overcoat and overtime gets smaller and smaller until the overcoat is soon the size of a button. The children start to notice the size difference starting from big to small and start to laugh, guess, and anticipate the next item they think the material will turn into. It allows children to have an imagination and keeps them focused while having fun reading or listening to the story. The illustrations were bright and detailed, and the cutouts drew the children in as well because they got to witness the change from the material changing from big to small. I believe this was a great book for children to read! 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Joseph Had A Little Overcoat Review

    Caldecott: Joseph Had A Little Overcoat, keeps your attention. From page to page it keeps you wondering what he will turn the material into next. I thought Joseph was very useful/creative in turning the material into something new every time it got worn out. Simms Taback is an award-winning illustrator known for his picture books, posters, Smithsonian calendars and his own line of greeting cards. He grew up in Bronx, New York and originally wanted to pursue a degree in engineering after graduating from Music and Art High School. His creative talents took over, however, and he enrolled in Cooper Union. Mr. Taback's illustrious career included graphic artist with CBS Records, a designer for the New York Times, opening his own design studio, teaching at the School of Visual Arts and Syracuse University, and illustrating over thirty-five children's books. When he's not illustrating or receiving awards, Simms Taback enjoys life with his wife, a writer, in Willow, New York. He has three grown children. The book, Joseph Had A Little Overcoat, is about a man and his overcoat. His overcoat becomes ragged, so he turns it into a jacket. Then the jacket turns ragged and he turns it into something else. He continues this process throughout the book. The man is trying to show people that you can make something out of nothing. ¿Joseph had a little jacket. It got old and worn. So he made a vest out of it,¿. This shows that once Joseph¿s jacket got worn out he made it into something else. He did not throw it away. Taback, Simms. Joseph Had A Little Overcoat. New York: Penguin Putnam Books, 1999. Grade Level: 1st

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Wonderful Childrens Book!

    This books theme is about a man named Joseph who had a overcoat. But, soon it started too old and shabby and he made it a jacket. Joseph loves the coat so much very time he changes the coat into another form of clothing like a tie, vest, scarf, and a handkerchief. What else can Joseph make with the coat next, have any ideas? As you turn the pages in this book it has die-cut holes to show you what does makes out of the coat. The moral is that he makes something out of everything or nothing. The genre of this book is a picture book. It would be a wonderful book for every age child to enjoy and understand that you can use a coat to make several different items from it. The author of this book Simmns Taback is an illustrated about thirty-five book for children, twice being selected for a New York Times Best Illustrated Book award. In 2000 he was awarded the distinguished Caldecott Medal for Joseph Had a Little Overcoat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    amazing story

    this story is absolutely amazing. the theme of this book is what drew me to it in the first place, but even more than the illustrations did. it teaches kids to stare adversity in the face and repect everything they have, as well as, not taking anything for granted. this story is truely inspirational and will be an instant classic in the literary world for ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    'Adorable!'

    OK, I know this is a kid's book, and I'm way too old, but this book is wonderful!! The Joseph story is SO good--it is simply the finest 'happy ending' story in the bible. Someone needed to write this story for young children, and this is it!! Illustrations are appropriate and well-done! OK, I enjoyed it! (For mature readers, and those wanting the best adult perspective on this WONDERFUL story, try the ones listed below. But for younger kids, this is the best!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Look on the Bright Side!

    This book could easily have been entitled, 'Opportunity Knocks.' The philosophy of the glass is always half full is humorously and realistically portrayed here in fairy tale fashion. The beautiful illustrations make imaginative use of die cuts to develop the story in delightful ways. Joseph is a man who lives alone in a farming community in what could be Eastern Europe around 1900. Although he is a poor man, he always sees hope. His hope shines as a beacon to us all, like the torch held by the Statue of Liberty. The story begins with Joseph wearing an old, worn and patched overcoat that gets older and more worn. But it can still provide benefits. He turns it into a jacket! A die-cut overlay onto the prior page makes the transformation in a way that makes the process more obvious to the young reader. The story evolves in that general direction, and the smiles are broad as it does. Then, just when you think that Joseph has run out of options, he finds an even more wonderful opportunity! This is a great book to teach children to see change as a reason to think about opportunities. I would hope that every family would have a copy. The book also can serve as a beginning reader from around ages 3 or 4 because it has few words, and much repetition in the use of words. 'It got old and worn' is repeated several times, for example. I also encourage you to ask your child what things make life challenging in her or his life, and how to turn those challenges to advantage. That can be a source of irresistible advantage for the rest of your child's life! Have a great new wardrobe whenever you want one . . . and always see great opportunities, wherever they may come from! Donald Mitchell, co-author of the Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    clever with fabulous illustrations

    We received this book as a present for my 4-year-old son who immediately loved the illustrations and clever cutout pages. The moral of the story is still a little over his head, but it reads quite well (just enough words per page). It is a keeper that i think he will enjoy for many years to come, and would happily purchase for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    Joseph had a Little Overcoat

    Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback is a fascinating and wonderfully detailed book that is a pleasure to read. Joseph, the main character, has a favorite overcoat that has become old and worn. Because he likes the coat so much, he makes various, new articles of clothing from it, ranging from a jacket to a button, which he eventually loses. The theme of thriftiness and the wise use of resources seen in this Jewish tale is a common characteristic of most Jewish tales. The moral of the story is that one can always make something out of nothing. Each time I read this book, I feel captured by the story, almost as if I am a part of it. I can easily place myself in Joseph's position in various places in the book. This is because of the author's rare style. Simms Taback uses a creative approach to draw the reader into the story by evoking the imagination. I am drawn into the story best through the author's use of holes in different garment shapes, also known as die-cuts, throughout all of the pages. This is a creative way of re-emphasizing to the reader that the new garment is made from the old garment, which is the remains of the overcoat. Once Joseph made the vest, I realized that he would continue making new garments until the coat was gone. The die-cuts made me eager to imagine what Joseph would make next from the overcoat remains. I am able to place myself in Joseph's position and ask if I would make the same decisions as he does. This is an excellent way for readers to be drawn into the plot and to capture their imagination. Another creative approach that Taback uses which catches my attention is the fact that Joseph never speaks. Instead, a narrator tells the entire story. The readers are drawn into the story because they are constantly imagining how Joseph feels about the changes to his beloved overcoat. Narration is common in storytelling, but what I found interesting about this particular book is that Taback lets Joseph use simple facial expressions to convey his true inner thoughts and feelings about the overcoat. This approach to expressing Joseph's feelings allows the reader to always know what Joseph feels and to imagine what he would say. When Joseph does not know what to do with the old, worn garment, he looks sad and downtrodden. When he changes the old garment to a new one, he always smiles and appears happy. Once Joseph has made a button and cannot make anything else with the garment that was once his overcoat, the moral of the story emerges: you can always make something out of nothing. Even the moral draws the reader into the story through the use of imagination. The moral forces me to look at my life and question how many times I could have made something better, rather than giving up on it so easily. I can place myself in Joseph's position and imagine having an old, rugged overcoat. Most likely, I would pack away or throw away the garment instead of making something better out of it, as Joseph teaches the reader to do. This moral can be applied to any bad situation in life. Usually with time and effort, a bad situation can become better. Joseph Had a Little Overcoat held my attention by forcing me to use my imagination and therefore drawing me into the story from many different angles. I believe that capturing the imagination is Taback's desire in writing this unique book, which is emphasized through the three creative approaches discussed above. These approaches all express Taback's desire for the reader to be part of the story. Taback is definitely successful in his attempt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    Good Story and Good Pictures

    This is a wonderful book because rather than simply having just good pictures, it has a great story as well. The story is about a man who has an overcoat and when it got worn out he made it into a jacket, and then into a vest and so on. It has a wonderful moral of not wasting. I really liked the book and want it in my house for my children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2