Customer Reviews for

The Journal of Curious Letters (13th Reality Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Try it

This book took me a while to read,but it was worth it! If you can't decide if you should get it or not my advice is try the sample first then you would know what I mean by intresting. This book is great for people 8 and up. I warn you it not one of those baby books...
This book took me a while to read,but it was worth it! If you can't decide if you should get it or not my advice is try the sample first then you would know what I mean by intresting. This book is great for people 8 and up. I warn you it not one of those baby books with pictures on every page,with three words on every page,and it is definitly not one of those books that reads it's self to you.So if your looking for an intresting novel this is exactly what you looking for.

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Lame..................not

Sounds bad corny if made a movie it would be terrible just kidding sounds great

posted by 240977 on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Try it

    This book took me a while to read,but it was worth it! If you can't decide if you should get it or not my advice is try the sample first then you would know what I mean by intresting. This book is great for people 8 and up. I warn you it not one of those baby books with pictures on every page,with three words on every page,and it is definitly not one of those books that reads it's self to you.So if your looking for an intresting novel this is exactly what you looking for.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Great Book!

    This book rocks! Everyone must read this book!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Really good book.

    This book was really good. I recommend reading it if you like fantasy.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! VERY WELL WRITTEN, KEEPS YOUR INTEREST!

    I am a big fan of fantasy books but some of them are too childish, too full of romance or simply not interesting. But this whole series is! Its very well written, you get to know the characters well and the plot unfolds nicely. I'm not going to write an overview cuz there's already one available but let me just say its worth the read. I'm a fan of the Harry Potter series and the Magyk series and these books are just as captivating. Read them. You won't regret it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    The best in the wourld

    The best. This normal kid gets a leter and thin #$&%$%#%$!!¿¿¿€¿? the world turns upside down!!!!!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    LOVE

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND
    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Cool book

    Great book good read a must have!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ....amazing

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! i spent all night reading it, could NOT put it down. it is very absorbing. when you read it, the writer always leaves you guessing, and you're thriving to read more. amazing. on to book two!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    YOU MUST READ THIS SERIES! I was searching the library and stumb

    YOU MUST READ THIS SERIES!
    I was searching the library and stumbled on this book, so I tried it out. Even though I don't like sic-fi, I 
    instantly fell in love with this book. It was so good, I stayed up until 4 Am reading it. Then I woke up a 7Am to 
    continue reading this book. I did get lost a few times, but it was still a great book. If you want to read the series 
    don't skip any of the books.I loved the whole entire series. It is definatly worth buying! click yes if you agree! ;) 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    t

    test

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Er advice please?

    The first part of the overview confused me. I have a feeling the whole book will be confusing and im always up for a challenge of figuring out the twists and plots. Im still not sure if i should read it sooo advice anyone?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Lame..................not

    Sounds bad corny if made a movie it would be terrible just kidding sounds great

    1 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Great book!

    "The 13th Reality Book 1: The Journal Of Curious Letters" by James Dashner is a great book and I loved it! Even though the book started a little slow, it was full of action and mystery.
    The setting in this book is Washington state. The main character lives in Deer Park. It takes place in the modern day, which makes it much easier to understand.
    There are a lot of characters in this story. There is the main character, Atticus Higginbottom (Tick) and his dad Edgar Higginbottom. You also meet M.G. (Master George) who is the person who started the chain of events that led to the main conflict. Then there are Mothball and Rutger, friends of M.G. who Tick meets along the way of solving the mystery of the "curious letters." Through email, Tick meets Sofia and Paul, who have also received the letters, and they help each other. All of those people are on the good side, but what's a story without a villain, right? Mistress Jane is the enemy of M.G. who wants to take over the Realities. Her henchman, Frazier Gunn, tries to stop Tick from stopping Mistress Jane from taking over.
    There are two main conflicts in this story. One is that Tick has to solve the riddles in the letters that he gets from M.G. so he can save peoples lives. The second conflict is that Tick and his new friends and partners have to stop Mistress Jane from taking over the Realities. They will battle hideous creatures and show their bravery. If they fail, it will be the end of the world as we know it.
    So like I said, I loved "The 13th Reality Book 1: The Journal Of Curious Letters" by James Dashner. And as you can probably tell, it is full of action and mystery, because you're going on the adventure along with Tick and his friends. Keep in mind that this is only book one, so look out for "The 13th Reality Book 2: The Hunt For Dark Infinity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Voracious Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Can you solve the mystery? <BR/><BR/>James Dashner's first story in his new THE 13TH REALITY series, THE JOURNAL OF CURIOUS LETTERS, revolves mainly around a young boy named Atticus (or "Tick" as he likes to be called). <BR/><BR/>Tick's adventure begins when he arrives home to find a cryptic letter giving him riddles on something that is supposedly going to save the lives of people around him. Intrigued, he begins his investigation, and, gaining a few friends along the way, tries to dismantle the riddles given to him in a series of thirteen letters. <BR/><BR/>With quirky characters and an engaging, humorous plot, Mr. Dashner also manages to include a little about Quantum physics that will hopefully cause the reader to question further. <BR/><BR/>The best thing about the book is that although it is magic, it incorporates reality effectively, which makes it more believable. Which, in turn, makes it easier to lose yourself within the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Curious...

    If I love the kingdom keepers series, will i like this? I saw the book and thought it looked interesting... PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Amasing book amasing series too

    You should read this book because it is one of thouse books that has a boring title but are really good books well hope you will read it soon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    SO EXPENSIVE BUT WORTH IT

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    11 out of 10 EXTREMELY AMAZING

    James Dashner is my favorite author by far, but this time, he out did himself. This book is so amazing and it only gets better throughout the series. This series is highly regarded by myself, and Mr. Dashner has earned it. Well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4