Customer Reviews for

The Journal of Curious Letters (13th Reality Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Try it

This book took me a while to read,but it was worth it! If you can't decide if you should get it or not my advice is try the sample first then you would know what I mean by intresting. This book is great for people 8 and up. I warn you it not one of those baby books...
This book took me a while to read,but it was worth it! If you can't decide if you should get it or not my advice is try the sample first then you would know what I mean by intresting. This book is great for people 8 and up. I warn you it not one of those baby books with pictures on every page,with three words on every page,and it is definitly not one of those books that reads it's self to you.So if your looking for an intresting novel this is exactly what you looking for.

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Lame..................not

Sounds bad corny if made a movie it would be terrible just kidding sounds great

posted by 240977 on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Great book----A must read series

    This series is about clues, different realities

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Slow at beginning, but picks up speed

    If you like mystery, adventure, and a little action all wrapped up in one, then it's a great read! I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Felicity Green guide to reading

    It is a great YA book. I reccomend it to al young readers. But some of it did sound familiar. I liked it. I think every one should read it at least once in their life. But the ages are 11+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Journal of Curious Letters

    When I read the beggining of this book I thought it would be boring.But as you read into the book you don't ever want to put it down.It starts with Norbert Jhonson,Master George,and Mistress Jane.Read forward to find out who the mysterious letter writer is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    This book stinks.

    This book will not let me read it! Grrrrrrr!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Amazing

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great! One error

    On page 238 there is an error where they forgot a quotation mark, but who really cares. The book is fantastic and I highly recomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    should i get it

    Read the maze runner series and it was great and this sounds good but i have about 10 dollars left, is it worth it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Read this book

    I love this book because the character is not perfect at all and I love it. Don't you hate it when the main character seems too perfect? This kid seems super weak but he builds character throughout the book, which I love. Could have been at least a second main character as his partner or something, but you should definitely give this book a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "The Journal of Curious Letters" by James Dashner :: The 13th Reality

    "The Journal of Curios Letters" What a great name, huh? Journal. Curious Letters. The. But I digress. *** Atticus "Tick" Higginbottom is a strange boy, there's no question about that. Quiet, constant target of the school bully, always clinging to his scarlet "Barf Scarf", and, weird as it is, he actually likes science?! So we have established that Tick is not, in most ways, normal. But to make it all even stranger, he starts getting these letters. Letters addressed from all over the world: Japan, Alaska, Kansas. All of them are written by the same "MG", and all of them contain clues. To what, there is no mention. The only other information given? Many lives are at stake. *** James Dashner, author of "The Maze Runner", has written another classic. I, personally, loved "The Maze Runner", and hope to do a review on it soon. Both of his aforementioned pieces have masses of potential, "TMR" is already being made into a movie. "The Journal of Curious Letters", I predict, will soon follow its predecessor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    An amazing book!

    When i first got this book it seemed boring but then after about the first chapter or so i was so absorbed in it that i could just not put it down. I stayed up late reading this book so in the morning i couldn't get up. But i felt like the characters needed an edge to them or something, but overall a super book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sci Fi Fantasy Novel for teens!!!

    this book is amazing! Besides the magic in many novels, the whole universe of the story is based on quantum physics! It's educational, thrilling, mysterious, and funny all in one book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great new fantasy series

    For all those readers who love the Keys to the Kingdom series by Garth Nix, Skullduggery Pleasant, Bartimaeus Trilogy, Artemus Fowl and Gregor books, YOU WILL LOVE THIS ONE!
    James Dashner has created a great fantasy story that has adventure, action, twists, and a plot that keeps you flipping back and forth as you try to figure out the "code"

    Book two - Hunt for Dark Infinity, continues the great pace and story line
    Pick it up and enjoy

    Surprisingly satisfying for adults as well!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Masterpiece!

    This book was packed full of mystery, adventure, fantasy, mind-boggling riddles and much more. Do not miss experiencing the thrill of reading this book. It was a masterpiece that was made by James Dashner, who will continue to create great novels for the adolescent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Middle of the Road Kid's Fantasy

    The 13th Reality is a kids fantasy series masquerading as science fiction - sort of. The characters are quite typical of this sort of series, down-trodden male protagonist (Tick), spunky female protagonist (Sophia), etc. The secondary characters tend to resemble Harry Potter characters with slight changes (Hagrid is female). The primary factor that 13th Reality has going for it is its SF tinge; it all comes down to Quantum Physics (keewpy). This first volume is decently written, though not raptly engaging. Very similar books have done the same idea better. I recomend this for those who are devouring every kids fantasy, and can't get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Non-Stop Action!

    "The 13th Reality: The Journal of Curious Letters," by James Dashner is a story full of mystery, humor, suspense, and non-stop action! While the clues keep you pondering what the answers are and reading constantly to find out what is going to happen next, the humor keeps you laughing, and the suspense keeps you trembling, feeling like you are right beside Tick on his strange roller-coaster ride of a life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good sense of adventure

    Will you join Atticus "Tick" Higginbottom and his friends on an amazing adventure through time and space also known as the "Realities"? What if you had to make a choice right here and now which had a significant consequence and could alter reality as you know it?
    In the first book of the 13th Reality series this is exactly what Tick and his friends find themselves facing. At thirteen years old, Tick has to make a choice and whatever he chooses could change the future or should I say the future of an alternate reality.
    This isn't the first book by James Dashner, but it by far one of his best. With 12 postmarked letters coming from all over the world to Tick, each containing a clue as to how he can help save the world and those he loves. But what is he saving his family from? And who is this M.G. sending the letters? Dashner doesn't miss a beat-from riddles to mathematical problems kids will find themselves being drawn into Atticus "Tick" Higgnbottom's reality.
    But it's not all fun and games. Tick doesn't know it yet, but M.G. has a very serious enemy and she doesn't want anyone helping or joining M.G. From Gnat Rat's to a crazy hit man, Tick must discover the magical words and prove he is willing to help. However, Tick can't do it alone, but who can he turn to? He doesn't have any friends. Well . . . where else would a thirteen year old turn . . . the internet and his dad.
    Finding his not alone, and having the trust and support of his dad, Tick is ready to face the unknown, solve M.G's riddles, and join his new found friends (via the internet) on one crazy quest into the 13th reality.
    I truly enjoyed reading The Journal of Curious Letters. The conflict and action are nonstop. The characters are well developed. The storyline complex yet entertaining. However, I did find the jumping around of character point of view a little annoying and distracting. I felt it was a weak way to explain details which could have easily been dropped into the storyline through dialog and observation from the main character . . . Tick. But, putting that one flaw aside, I feel children will enjoy reading The 13th Reality series. James Dashner won't disappoint those who have a curious mind, sense of adventure, and love for science.
    Stories for Children Magazine editor, VS Grenier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the 13th Reality

    The 13th reality is a great book for anyone who doesn't enjoy reading. It is action packed and filled with suspense and wonder. I give it a 10 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    It was AWESOME!!!!!!! i CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I thought it was fun and exciting to see where the next letter would take him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    it blow me all the way to the 100th reality!!

    it didnt take me long to finish it but it is not better than harry potter, twilight is 2 percent better maybe 100 hahahha i love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4