Customer Reviews for

The Journal of Curious Letters (13th Reality Series, #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Try it

This book took me a while to read,but it was worth it! If you can't decide if you should get it or not my advice is try the sample first then you would know what I mean by intresting. This book is great for people 8 and up. I warn you it not one of those baby books...
This book took me a while to read,but it was worth it! If you can't decide if you should get it or not my advice is try the sample first then you would know what I mean by intresting. This book is great for people 8 and up. I warn you it not one of those baby books with pictures on every page,with three words on every page,and it is definitly not one of those books that reads it's self to you.So if your looking for an intresting novel this is exactly what you looking for.

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Lame..................not

Sounds bad corny if made a movie it would be terrible just kidding sounds great

posted by 240977 on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Voracious Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Can you solve the mystery? <BR/><BR/>James Dashner's first story in his new THE 13TH REALITY series, THE JOURNAL OF CURIOUS LETTERS, revolves mainly around a young boy named Atticus (or "Tick" as he likes to be called). <BR/><BR/>Tick's adventure begins when he arrives home to find a cryptic letter giving him riddles on something that is supposedly going to save the lives of people around him. Intrigued, he begins his investigation, and, gaining a few friends along the way, tries to dismantle the riddles given to him in a series of thirteen letters. <BR/><BR/>With quirky characters and an engaging, humorous plot, Mr. Dashner also manages to include a little about Quantum physics that will hopefully cause the reader to question further. <BR/><BR/>The best thing about the book is that although it is magic, it incorporates reality effectively, which makes it more believable. Which, in turn, makes it easier to lose yourself within the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Curious...

    If I love the kingdom keepers series, will i like this? I saw the book and thought it looked interesting... PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Felicity Green guide to reading

    It is a great YA book. I reccomend it to al young readers. But some of it did sound familiar. I liked it. I think every one should read it at least once in their life. But the ages are 11+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    An amazing book!

    When i first got this book it seemed boring but then after about the first chapter or so i was so absorbed in it that i could just not put it down. I stayed up late reading this book so in the morning i couldn't get up. But i felt like the characters needed an edge to them or something, but overall a super book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great new fantasy series

    For all those readers who love the Keys to the Kingdom series by Garth Nix, Skullduggery Pleasant, Bartimaeus Trilogy, Artemus Fowl and Gregor books, YOU WILL LOVE THIS ONE!
    James Dashner has created a great fantasy story that has adventure, action, twists, and a plot that keeps you flipping back and forth as you try to figure out the "code"

    Book two - Hunt for Dark Infinity, continues the great pace and story line
    Pick it up and enjoy

    Surprisingly satisfying for adults as well!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    The 13th's Reality: A Tremendously Fun Book

    When Atticus ¿Tick¿ Higginbottom receives a cryptic letter in the mail, he is challenged to embark on a puzzling journey where life and death ¿ including his own ¿ hang upon the answers he and a few brave others uncover. Tick¿s brilliance, inventiveness, and courage are tested to the limit in solving the Curious Letters, which foreshadow a threat not only to the world, but to all Realities beyond. ¿The 13th Reality: The Journal of Curious Letters¿ is an engaging, funny story with elements of originality that differentiate it from much of mainstream middle grade fantasy. The story includes two fairly clear sections or stages, each of which blends mystery and suspense with action. The first half of the book is primarily driven by the mysterious letters Tick receives in the mail and the enigmatic clues they contain. Each clue adds instant intrigue and tension to an already well-paced story. Also, kids will have a terrific time trying to figure out the solutions to the clues before characters. Reading the book actually becomes a kind of friendly competition. As Tick begins to more fully realize what is going on, and how great the stakes of his little mystery truly are, the action kicks into higher and higher gear until the climax, which works well as a jumping point to the rest of the series. Dashner¿s style contains liberal doses of humor that sometimes add insight and a genuine childlike quality to his protagonist. Also, the book¿s portrayal of family is refreshing for several reasons. Not only does Dashner not rely on the overused trope of abandonment or displaced parentage for the child protagonist, but he also creates an authentic-feeling family unit where parents and children feel and show genuine respect and regard for one another. This adds a very healthy aspect to what is by-and-large a story meant to entertain and thrill. Dashner¿s grounding of magical feel and milieu in scientific principle adds unique texture to the story while encouraging interest in science and physics, another positive factor for many parents. While clearly calibrated for children, the plot and characters of this lively story will appeal to many adults as well. This makes ¿The 13th Reality¿ a wonderful family book that all can enjoy, a fine parallel to the message the book tries to portray. Few who buy this book will find themselves disappointed with the decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1