Customer Reviews for

Journal of a Civil War Nurse

Average Rating 3
( 362 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A heart- tearing look at our nations history

Every American History student should read this journal to get an accutate view of what war and wounds meant to every soldier and family before medical advancements. Unlike today most wounded warriors died in squalid conditions. Thank Goodness for modern medicine avai...
Every American History student should read this journal to get an accutate view of what war and wounds meant to every soldier and family before medical advancements. Unlike today most wounded warriors died in squalid conditions. Thank Goodness for modern medicine available for today's soldiers. This is not just a story; it was life and death to our great great grandparents. LadyB

posted by 9135414 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

not the full book

im not sure what is up here, but this book is only 15 pages long. so unless that is actually the length of the book or if this is just a sample. be warned.

posted by californiagrown on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Interesting - too short to be a book

    This was more an essay than a book. Just 15 pages. Seems like there should be more. I'm glad it was free. I'd have hated to pay for it.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Short Story

    While interesting this book was a pretty short read. A little mumble jumbled, no real story or understanding of character.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Not too impressed

    As a RN, I was expecting so much more! I was disappointed, but still cant beat the price--it was free!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Okay

    I thought I would like this book because I am a nurse and could associate with it, but I was disappointed. Author was very scattered with ideas and hard to follow, also book was very short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Good read.

    Good history book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    So So

    Too short but intresting civil war perspective
    KELLI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Not,,,,

    Very uninspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Excellent to read but only 15 pages??? A little misleading &

    Excellent to read but only 15 pages??? A little misleading & disappointing. The Civil War is worth more than 15 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Disappointed

    Not very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Too short

    I actually loved reading the material, it was just way too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Quick read

    Very quick read. First-hand account but not the best, too limited a time span to really understand what it was really like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Good topic but not so great book

    I enjoy the topic but not this book! When i saw the topic the civil war nurse its a good topic what could be bad about it? It is not horrible but i dont think that it is very descriptive .
    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Was disappointed

    My exceptions was not met. I thought it was going to be more history like I as used to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    A little skimpy

    I love journals, but this one was dry and skimpy on real info.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    ok

    Just an okay read. It was over before I even realize what I was reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Scattered Story!

    The story or diary inserts was hard to follow different event was unfolding which was cause the story or message to be out of order. I AM not sure why this was published in book form?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4