Customer Reviews for

Journal of a Civil War Nurse

Average Rating 3
( 362 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A heart- tearing look at our nations history

Every American History student should read this journal to get an accutate view of what war and wounds meant to every soldier and family before medical advancements. Unlike today most wounded warriors died in squalid conditions. Thank Goodness for modern medicine avai...
Every American History student should read this journal to get an accutate view of what war and wounds meant to every soldier and family before medical advancements. Unlike today most wounded warriors died in squalid conditions. Thank Goodness for modern medicine available for today's soldiers. This is not just a story; it was life and death to our great great grandparents. LadyB

posted by 9135414 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

not the full book

im not sure what is up here, but this book is only 15 pages long. so unless that is actually the length of the book or if this is just a sample. be warned.

posted by californiagrown on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    not the full book

    im not sure what is up here, but this book is only 15 pages long. so unless that is actually the length of the book or if this is just a sample. be warned.

    39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Would have been good but only 15 pages loaded

    I don't believe a journal is only 15 pages long. I was just getting into it and bam it was over. bear-lady

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    Too short

    I would be impressed if it were longer

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Teasing glimpse to the real thing 2.5 stars

    I was disappointed at the short nature of this "book", if you could really call it that. A whole whopping 15 pages, that starts to whet your appetite and then directs you to follow up on the website for more. Glad it was a freebie, I'd be none to happy if I had actually paid for it. That being said, if the whole of it were available in either hard copy or ebook format I think it would be a worthwhile purchase and an engaging read.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    very good

    Very good and detailed wouldnt mind reading more on this subject.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Way to Short !

    Could be very interesting but would not consider this a "Book since it is only 15 pages long. Hardly worth the time it took to download it !

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Journal of a Civil War Nurse

    Three stars because as other reviwers have stated, just gotten into it when it was over. However to the author and barnes and noble, thank you for the free book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Insightful short read...

    I found this to be a quick page turner. Of course i
    I wish it were longer but for free book it was nice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    interesting

    Interesting prespective on the Civil War. Very short but it is free so you can't complain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Decent

    It was really short but it has good info if you wanted to know a little more about conditions in the civil war. What also dissapointed me was that in the back of the book it said that it was a work of fiction based upon the letters that this nurse wrote. If you really want a good civil war nurse book, you are better off purchasing a different, longer one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Very short.

    Short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Good

    Was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    good book

    This novel was about a nurse from the Civil War with all the injured and maybe saving some of them. Their was no forks, knives, spoons or even plates to be had. The next hour had brought a wagons containing condensed milk and bottles of whiskey, Every hour there after trains from the North carried improvements: tents hospital supplies, doctors and more nurses. This nurse had gotten a silver metal. I enjoyed this novel. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Good but short

    Disappointingly short. Very interesting but I was left wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good book

    This is an excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Lykki

    What side is the nurse on? Because I heard the Yanks had better meds than the Rebs. Oh, you know that honest Abe came to Gettysburg after the battle buried all the yanks but left the rebs on the feild?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Too short jmm44

    Is there a book with more of her letters??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Not recommended, not worth the download time. Way too short. 15 pages only.

    Would be good reading if she ever finished the story. I guess that's what you get when you get something for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Good but too short

    14 pages is too little :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Too short

    Had a good start, wished it was longer than 15 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5