Customer Reviews for

Journal of a Civil War Nurse

Average Rating 3
( 362 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A heart- tearing look at our nations history

Every American History student should read this journal to get an accutate view of what war and wounds meant to every soldier and family before medical advancements. Unlike today most wounded warriors died in squalid conditions. Thank Goodness for modern medicine avai...
Every American History student should read this journal to get an accutate view of what war and wounds meant to every soldier and family before medical advancements. Unlike today most wounded warriors died in squalid conditions. Thank Goodness for modern medicine available for today's soldiers. This is not just a story; it was life and death to our great great grandparents. LadyB

posted by 9135414 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

not the full book

im not sure what is up here, but this book is only 15 pages long. so unless that is actually the length of the book or if this is just a sample. be warned.

posted by californiagrown on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Short but good

    Well written - would have liked to read more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Highly recommended for both Nurses and Non Nurses~ Womans and Social History

    This is the real thing. A short but honest report on the efforts of a Nurse on the front lines during the Civil War. Powerful and haunting. I reflect back on her words as I mentor women in the workplace.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Interesting

    It was so interesting to learn how things were at that time in the history of our country and how people were, how they thought and how things were then. It begins to put the peices of the puzzle together to learn from then to now, which will be tomorrows history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Good Read

    I found this to be very interesting short story. Lots of insight into the day to day life of Civil War Nurse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    war nurse

    the war nurse is an awesome ! Story about a nurse in the war .

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Azvnrjxf drrwr

    1234567890
    Cncirxcr d.h v fv b hhvjkgdzxx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    True Story great book

    I have Throughly Enjoyes this book anyone whom likes history shoud read this wonderful book great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    This is a great book!!!!

    Its a short story but its a good one made me feel like i was there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I may only be 15 pages long but it is a good book. The facts are right & it has a good plot. It is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Good read

    While just a taste of the author's style, she did an excellent work of taking the journal of a real Civil War nurse and turning it into a very interesting, realistic glimpse into what it was like in a Union field hospital. War is so stupid and uncivilized; it's such a hellish way to resolve differences.

    Fifteen pages read quickly, snd I felt I was actually there.
    This sample left me wanting to read more by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Girl

    Wow... thats all i half to say... wow...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    A walk on the Battlefield

    This was a very short read (15 nook pages) but it was very interesting and thought provoking. Living in Missouri I felt drawn to this book. It was as I expected the war to be, but with the insight of being on the battlefield and seeing the horror with which she had lived. I will never forget it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Havent read

    To those revews r totaly awsome i think i am so going to read it it sounds awsome u shuod read it tooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooiooooooooooooooooooiooooooioooooooooooooooooooooooooooooopoopooooooooopopooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo yep u shoud read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Firegirl

    AMAZING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    ? Waz up people

    I haven't read it yet #) and i rated it 5 dtar because... i dont know

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Will leave you wanting more!

    Very short story, but I loved it. Really wish there was a lot more. A glimps into the horrors leftover after battle. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Recommended!!

    Very interesting!! I wish it was longer! It is only about 15 pages!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    To the one under me

    Just look up journal of a civil war nurse on search and see if theres a full one in there and if there isnt but you already got the book put a review on this book for kaeli if you need me to tell you how to delete it from your nook and not just archive it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Too Short!

    This "book" was way too short! I was just getting really interested in the reading and poof! it ended. I would have liked to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4