Customer Reviews for

The Journey (Guardians of Ga'Hoole Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(209)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Journey

I thought this was a pretty good book. I read the first one and I had to continue. This book is when Soren, Gylfie, Twilight and Digger journey to the Great Ga'Hoole Tree (the journey there is quite remarkable). They also get picked for certain chaws at the Tree, and at...
I thought this was a pretty good book. I read the first one and I had to continue. This book is when Soren, Gylfie, Twilight and Digger journey to the Great Ga'Hoole Tree (the journey there is quite remarkable). They also get picked for certain chaws at the Tree, and at the end of the book Eglantine gets found and Ezlyrb goes missing. The third book, "The Rescue", is supposed to be about finding Ezlyrb and rescuing him.

posted by nook23AD on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Icestar

Is icestar here if so. Search falling trees.

posted by 5954430 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    The Journey

    I thought this was a pretty good book. I read the first one and I had to continue. This book is when Soren, Gylfie, Twilight and Digger journey to the Great Ga'Hoole Tree (the journey there is quite remarkable). They also get picked for certain chaws at the Tree, and at the end of the book Eglantine gets found and Ezlyrb goes missing. The third book, "The Rescue", is supposed to be about finding Ezlyrb and rescuing him.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    This is a really fun series. So far, I have been very impressed

    This is a really fun series. So far, I have been very impressed. It is original, unique, and completely different from anything else out there right now. I can see why it is a best selling series.

    The Journey did not have as much action or bloodshed as book #1, The Capture, but it did not take away from the story at all. There was a lot of mystery and intrigue going on as the owls try to piece together bits of information.

    They spend some time traveling, and learn some valuable things along the way. Then they reach the Great Ga'Hoole Tree and are welcomed with open wings. The four owls fit into life there easily as they learn more about how to be honest, courageous, and brave. There was something very Harry Potter-esque about that part of the book (and I mean that in a good way).

    Lasky has a knack for coming up with entertaining words and names for things that would matter to an owl. Who knew there was so much involved in flying? We finally learn what the mysterious "flecks" are from the first book, and we discover the fate of Soren's younger sister, Eglantine. There are new owls to love and new ones to be irritated with. Not many new enemies are made in this book, but plenty of owls loaded with character come into the picture.

    The Cover: I love the cover. It shows this book for exactly what it is, an adventure told from the viewpoint of an owl. The illustrated cover also lends itself to appealing to young readers. I was happy to see Soren on the cover this time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    A good book

    I can read this book over and over again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    OH wait didI say can? I mean I do read this book over and over again. I just love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    AWSOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Satisfying Sequel

    After 'Guardians of Ga'Hoole: The Capture', I felt in anticipation this book may be disappointing. My anxiety on this subject died away when I began reading 'The Journey'.
    One of the best things about the book was the characters. They were much the same as I had left them in the first book, and then the characters of the owls began to grow. Not only were they distinctive by their personalities, but Kathryn Lasky let the difference in the characters clash humorously. I laughed while reading.
    Disappointingly, I could not find a lesson embedded within.
    All in all, it was an enjoyable book with near equal ups and downs.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    I LOVE OWLS!!!!!!!!

    I am so happy Soren found his sister Elegantine. Keep reading the whole series! I am on the third book and I love the books I've read. Know I want to read all the books the author has wrote!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Wonderful!!

    Great book, great series!! =)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Loved It Loved It

    I just got done reading the first book and it's incredible.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Charley

    This book sounds facinating. Intracite and delightful. Little owl, big words

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Grat book deserves 10000000000000000000000000000000000000

    Stars plus 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000009999999999999999999999999999999 stars loved every part of it but my preferd auther is Rick Rioridan best auther alive next Suzane Collins last Every body loves the diary of the kid series Jeff Kinney

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    AWSOME

    I love it!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Great!!!

    This was a great book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Outstanding Owls!

    Yep, this is a 5 star book I recommend to read. Once you pick up the book, you can not put it down until you have read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Great book

    Go to youtube and look up take to the sky it is all about the book series and the song is on the dvd

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    c==={========>

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Let's go Guardians of Ga'hoole!

    SOREN IS TOTALLY AWESOME! SO IS GYLFIE! WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    -Sylveon

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Landen clay likes all of searys of Ga'Hoole

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!do you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    SSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOGGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!

    best seires ever!if you like this READ WARRIORS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    the best book ever

    this book is so great I read the first one and when I finished i bought the seccond one and read it in 2 days. I can wait for the third one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    To SEA

    An interesting part 7

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm~44

    Thank you review below me. I think it was an okay part. It wasn't my best. Next part at Guardians of Ga'hoole series #3: The Rescue. This part will be in hmm... l'm gonna switch it up a little. This part will be in Max's pov. If you don't remember Max, he is a Roman. ~~~~~~ We had been tracking those dreaded Greeks and the traitors for a while now. Skyler would usally shapeshift into a sparrow and fly ahead to look for them. No such luck. Kim was still angry about that son of Athena making fun of her father, Cupid. Of course, Kim was nothing like the daughter of love. More like the daughter of hate or...or dispair. Carson was in his nautral state. He was always alone somewhere, leaning againest a tree or something. Skyler came back from one of her flights, one day, and called a meeting." I was thinking," she started," why look for the Greeks when they are headed straight to their deaths when we can attack their precious camp." We leaned in closer." The camp must have a protective bordor, like our camp. So if we are demigods we can just sneak in. We can pretend to by unclaimed demigods and get into camp. We destroy it from the inside, starting with their precious trainer, Chiron." Carson nodded," l like it. But what about the traitors: Kolby, Simon, Amber, Jordon, and Elle. They deserve to die." Skyler smiled, evily," Oh don't worry. They'll get whats coming to them. I garrantee it!" ~~~~ Sorry if its so short. I'll write another part later. SEA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15