Customer Reviews for

The Journey (Guardians of Ga'Hoole Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(209)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Journey

I thought this was a pretty good book. I read the first one and I had to continue. This book is when Soren, Gylfie, Twilight and Digger journey to the Great Ga'Hoole Tree (the journey there is quite remarkable). They also get picked for certain chaws at the Tree, and at...
I thought this was a pretty good book. I read the first one and I had to continue. This book is when Soren, Gylfie, Twilight and Digger journey to the Great Ga'Hoole Tree (the journey there is quite remarkable). They also get picked for certain chaws at the Tree, and at the end of the book Eglantine gets found and Ezlyrb goes missing. The third book, "The Rescue", is supposed to be about finding Ezlyrb and rescuing him.

posted by nook23AD on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Icestar

Is icestar here if so. Search falling trees.

posted by 5954430 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    The Journey

    I thought this was a pretty good book. I read the first one and I had to continue. This book is when Soren, Gylfie, Twilight and Digger journey to the Great Ga'Hoole Tree (the journey there is quite remarkable). They also get picked for certain chaws at the Tree, and at the end of the book Eglantine gets found and Ezlyrb goes missing. The third book, "The Rescue", is supposed to be about finding Ezlyrb and rescuing him.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    This is a really fun series. So far, I have been very impressed

    This is a really fun series. So far, I have been very impressed. It is original, unique, and completely different from anything else out there right now. I can see why it is a best selling series.

    The Journey did not have as much action or bloodshed as book #1, The Capture, but it did not take away from the story at all. There was a lot of mystery and intrigue going on as the owls try to piece together bits of information.

    They spend some time traveling, and learn some valuable things along the way. Then they reach the Great Ga'Hoole Tree and are welcomed with open wings. The four owls fit into life there easily as they learn more about how to be honest, courageous, and brave. There was something very Harry Potter-esque about that part of the book (and I mean that in a good way).

    Lasky has a knack for coming up with entertaining words and names for things that would matter to an owl. Who knew there was so much involved in flying? We finally learn what the mysterious "flecks" are from the first book, and we discover the fate of Soren's younger sister, Eglantine. There are new owls to love and new ones to be irritated with. Not many new enemies are made in this book, but plenty of owls loaded with character come into the picture.

    The Cover: I love the cover. It shows this book for exactly what it is, an adventure told from the viewpoint of an owl. The illustrated cover also lends itself to appealing to young readers. I was happy to see Soren on the cover this time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Satisfying Sequel

    After 'Guardians of Ga'Hoole: The Capture', I felt in anticipation this book may be disappointing. My anxiety on this subject died away when I began reading 'The Journey'.
    One of the best things about the book was the characters. They were much the same as I had left them in the first book, and then the characters of the owls began to grow. Not only were they distinctive by their personalities, but Kathryn Lasky let the difference in the characters clash humorously. I laughed while reading.
    Disappointingly, I could not find a lesson embedded within.
    All in all, it was an enjoyable book with near equal ups and downs.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    The movie wasnt bad either

    It was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    HATE THE ORAPNAGE

    Th owls ascaped great-gupie and soren.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Good to read with your child!

    My son is reading this series with his 3rd grade class. Since there are so many in the set, I started reading with him so we can discuss. My 1st grader is partcipating, too. Great series, especially for boys...lots of fighting and strife. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    best

    the book and the movie were so cool i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    first

    this was the first one in the sceries ive read and the book that made me want to read all the time.the book was so good.i dont have a favorit part cause all of it is my favorit part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    The BEST BOOK!

    This is the best book of the series and is a must read! Soren, Glyfie, Twilight, Digger and Mrs. Plithver ,Soren's nest maid, are on a quest to find the Great Ga'Hoole tree. The Great Ga'Hoole Tree is where warrior owls come from. When Soren and Glyfie hear the words of a wise owls last breath they fear that theres an evil greater than the Acadamy they escaped from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    REAL GOOD!!!!!

    I LOVED It!!!! There's Nothing else to say

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    A VERY GOOD BOOK!

    This book captures the true meanings of determination, adventure, and never giving up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3