Customer Reviews for

A Journey: My Political Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Glad Tony Blair published this book!

My review if of a reviewer named "Anonymous"; who sounds like a stupid, cowardly, idiot and horses-rump. Are you also one of those half-wits who doesn't like George W. Bush, for whom Blair has great respect. Most intelligent people have great respect Tony Blair and, a...
My review if of a reviewer named "Anonymous"; who sounds like a stupid, cowardly, idiot and horses-rump. Are you also one of those half-wits who doesn't like George W. Bush, for whom Blair has great respect. Most intelligent people have great respect Tony Blair and, as far as Americans are concerned, the Approval Ratings for George W. Bush continue to go up, up, up and he isn't even sitting in the White House anymore ... and so will the Approval Ratings for Tony Blair go up, up, up!.

posted by DeafDeeDee on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

a series of worrying admissions from a once powerful man

(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)
This review is from: A Journey: My Political Life (Hardcover)
It was 0830 on 1 September 2010 as I walked past a large London bookshop. The window display comprised 2 books - one of which was this much awaited Blair Memoirs. Mine was the first c...
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)
This review is from: A Journey: My Political Life (Hardcover)
It was 0830 on 1 September 2010 as I walked past a large London bookshop. The window display comprised 2 books - one of which was this much awaited Blair Memoirs. Mine was the first copy sold. Whilst political insiders will doubtless find much over which to raise their eyebrows, my own surprises were over his relationship with his immediate successor Gordon Brown. Don't you just hate it when people say "THEY KNEW" that such and such was going to happen but did nothing to prevent it from happening when they had the power to make a difference. In this work, Blair actually claims to have known Brown would be an awful Prime Minister. Well, we can all say that - after the event. More importantly, he also admits that he failed to sack Brown for fear of creating problems for the Labour Party and accelerating Brown's succession to Number Ten! I found this difficult to digest.

This is neither a pro nor anti-Blair review, it is based on his book and his revelations. A couple of years before standing down in the most diabolical fashion ever!, Blair stated he would reduce immigration to the United Kingdom to a certain figure by the September of that year. Eventually, however, nothing happened because he was unable to make any difference whatsoever. Now ask yourself this; If the Prime Minister is unable to change things, who can? Because of his disclosures in this book, for the very first time I have begun to see Blair as a weakling. Here is a man who admits to crying because a soldier was killed in Iraq. Well what did he expect? Here is a man who would not remove or even demote Gordon Brown for "FEAR" of the consequences. Not a strong man then! Here is a man who admits to having turned to drink because of the pressures of the job. Definitely not! Altogether, I began to feel so disappointed in this man, it came as something of a betrayal. Perhaps we were all fooled to some extent by the young, pretty boy, self assured image - although it is an image that has now also caught on in other parties!

The memoirs commences with the revelation (for those who did not know!) that, as he entered No 10 for the first time as Prime Minister, he had not previously held any government post whatsoever - not even a junior post. From there he went on to change the face of British politics, change the face of the Labour Party and introduce several American-style techniques by employing spin-doctors to provide the most positive gloss onto anything that might be perceived as unsavoury. It really is a candid and revealing exposé of the man in charge for all those years and for that he must be applauded.

Only now, however - some two years after stepping down, do we read this personal account of those years only to learn it appears he became a victim of his own spin. In so doing he leaves a lingering question over whether or not he was ever completely suited to the job. This book has changed my perception of so many aspects of British political life in general and Tony Blair in particular. No longer will I blame Gordon Brown for the financial mess in which the UK finds itself at this time. Why? Because it is abundantly clear from this book that Brown should never have been Chancellor and the only person able to remove him from that post had become frightened of replacing him.

My own political inclinations are simple; I subscribe to the view that one m

posted by 4636093 on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Excellent!

    Agree with him or not, it is a thought-provoking, insightful, and witty book by a man who definitely made his mark on the world stage.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Glad Tony Blair published this book!

    My review if of a reviewer named "Anonymous"; who sounds like a stupid, cowardly, idiot and horses-rump. Are you also one of those half-wits who doesn't like George W. Bush, for whom Blair has great respect. Most intelligent people have great respect Tony Blair and, as far as Americans are concerned, the Approval Ratings for George W. Bush continue to go up, up, up and he isn't even sitting in the White House anymore ... and so will the Approval Ratings for Tony Blair go up, up, up!.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    is b&n going delusional?

    an ordinary ebook for 28 dollars?
    are you serious?
    do you mean it?

    again: is b&n going delusional?

    my very next move: buy an amazon's kindle.

    there i'll buy this book, and many others, for an affordable and fair price.

    A Journey, by Tony Blair

    B&N price $28.00
    Amazon price $18.90

    what a difference a price makes!

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and a master of contrasts and articulation

    "Leadership without delegation is usually a mess. But when it is crisis time, forget delegation. That's the moment you're there for: grip it, shape it, decide it and solve it." (Tony Blair). The bio is not so much about his early life as it is his rise to politics and a reflection of his struggle to move the left-leaning and politically failing Labour Party to the center and his frenemy relationship with Gordon Brown, who eventually succeeded in displacing him. (To Americans not familiar with parliamentary procedures, the British system of selecting a frenemy to succeed you during your term in office is inconceivable and repugnant, but it's the way they do things over the Pond.)

    His memoirs are full of humor, and anyone familiar with government will get a kick of his descriptions of public life ("So I would go from meeting to meeting, each event a risk, each encounter potentially explosive, each remark liable to be scrutinised, each facial expression a cause for serenity or alarm, each smile a grimace if too small, cheesy if too large"). His description of London's New Year's Eve event the night before the Millenium is LOL (to his wife: "Darling, there is only one thing I am going to thank God for tonight, and that is they only come round every thousand years").

    But his memoirs have poignant moments as well. He treats the paradoxical Princess with respect, and the scene with Rudy Gulianni right after 9-11 is deeply moving.

    Blair's resoluteness is laudable: his unwillingness to let the unions economically destroy his country ("As their consequence diminishes, so their dwindling adherents become ever more shrill and strident, more solicitous of protecting their own shrinking space rather than understanding that the voice of the times has moved on and they must listen before speaking"), and his belief that the innocent citizens in terrorist states must be offered something better than that which we are trying to take away from them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Tony Never Fails to Mesmerize: Just rid youself of the Bilderbergers!

    Tony wins my heart, everytime despite his associations that lead freemen to very shabby futures with his endorsements
    that further sustainable/ greenie code speak!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Important History

    As an American, I appreciate Mr. Blair's viewpoint and information on Europe and the Middle East. The chapters on Iraq are a must read for anyone wanting the facts in context with the time decisions were made. Thank you, Mr. Blair. I hope you will write a book on world religions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thank You Tony Blair

    Extraordinary for it breadth, introspection, honesty, intellect and experience-based wisdom. Blair's progressivism is passionately focused on improving the lives and opportunity for what is now called "ordinary people". He believes this agenda is undermined by government intrusion into the economy, excessive regulation, ineffective (soft?)approaches to crime, poor education, excessive deficits, and other phenomena more often the result of ideologies and shibboleths woven in the DNA of liberal thinking from its labor roots in the first of the Century.

    As a former Peace Corps Volunteer whose political philosophies began with the Ballad of Joe Hill, I found one of Blair's most intriguing conclusions about Progressivism's continual courtship with in-electability and irrelevance (a mirror of current US politics) is the difficulty academics and educated liberals have with the notion of "aspiration" -- that most on the bottom of society do not view themselves as the noblest class. They want to join the middle and upper class, an ambition liberal academic and media find somewhat distasteful(bourgeois).

    Possibly 7 books in one there is something for everyone here.
    (1) Major events and decisions of the Blair era;
    (2) Performance reviews and "thank you's" to myriad public and private personnel with whom Blair worked;
    (3) The World Leader's Club - how they work and interact on a personal level and Blair's personal experience of many,
    (4) Living in Downing Street with Children and a working wife; (5)The Islamic Conundrum;
    (6) An unaccountable greed and ratings-driven media's increasingly destructive and destabilizing force on democracies;
    (7) Progressivism - values, principles, and practices it must understand and adopt to effectively enable the aspirations of middle and lower socio-economic people.

    This book will cause discomfort to "liberal" ideological purists. Expect academics and media reviewers to shun this book. The facts as presented do not correspond to their current world view and, as we see continually, the establishment today does not differ markedly from those in Galileo's time. So whether it is George Bush, statism, income redistribution (a la Robert Reich), etc.--in that ecosphere the world is flat and the sun revolves around it.

    Read this book if you want fascinating insights to the world of social change, globalization, Islamic fundamentalism, governance or just a "People Magazine" look at some of the amazing men and women with whom he interacted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    Good book

    Worth buying

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Good

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    Good CHange

    Congrats to the publishers for changing the ebook price for this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3