Customer Reviews for

The Journey (Kentucky Brothers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Check This Out!

    Titus Fisher lacks confidence and feels as though he has lived in his twin brother Timothy¿s shadow. His girlfriend Phoebe, whom he has been waiting years for to settle down, decides to break up with him and move to California. Titus is devastated and heartbroken. He seizes an opportunity that comes his way and moves to Kentucky, hoping to start a new life. He takes a job working in a wood shop where he meets the owner¿s granddaughter Suzanne Yoder. Suzanne bears an uncanny resemblance to Phoebe, which catches Titus off guard. Suzanne is dealing with her own issues. She wants to work in the wood shop, but her family believes a women¿s place is in the kitchen. She would much rather be doing anything outdoors instead of learning to cook. Titus and Suzanne¿s relationship is at best strained. She thinks he hates her and he can¿t seem to keep his emotions under control when he looks at her and sees Phoebe. Each is on a journey of sorts trying to figure themselves out. Can Titus mend his heart in time to open it up to a new beginning? You will just have to read this book and find out! You will not be disappointed. It is the first book in a series of three. Happy reading!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Wonderful

    I enjoy Wanda's novels. This is 1st bk in Kentucky Brothers series & it didn't disapoint! She is 1 of a handful of authors that I won't start reading until I have the complete series. You can buy this as a 3 in 1 bundle. However, I recomend not doing that. While it is.cheaper you do lose some of content in each bk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Linda loves amish!

    Quick enjoyable read! Not real intense but cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Not sure

    I can't write a review when I have not yet received my books.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Love all her books

    I have read just about all Wanda Brunstetter book. What a great read about how this young Amish boy/man grew up by leaving the only home that he knew. It makes you feel as you know how the Amish live. Can't wait for second Kentucky Brothers Series to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I loved the story, the way it was written and would recommend all to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Do Check Out This Book!

    As usual, Wanda Brunstetter has captivated suspense and love in this novel. She takes you through the twists and turns of a romance.

    She has a knack of making you feel as if you know these people. I always get immersed in her stories.

    Titus Fisher has to prove to himself that he can become the man he wants to be. Suzanne, too, has to come into her own by wanting to learn the skills it takes to be an Amish wife.

    I highly recommend this book. It has all the makings of a beautiful relationship. Love, though complicated, is sweet and Wanda proves this in this story.

    I cannot wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Amish romance

    An excellent Amish love story. The author has fleshed out the personalities of the three main characters, Titus, Phoebe, and Suzanne in a superb style. Their stories are told through their thoughts as well as their interactions with their families and the world around them. Learning to lean on God in times of trial is one of the themes that applies to both the young and their elders. Titus learns to sort out his feelings and become more mature and confident when he leaves his family and friends in Pennsylvania to work for strangers in Kentucky. In the process he also learns the difference between surface infatuation and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Wanda's book you have to read this one.

    I don't want to give an spoilers away.
    This series is the sequel to the series 'Daughters of Lancaster County', where we meet the Fisher family, follow the parents, get to know the children. Now in 'Kentucky Brothers' we meet are following the Fisher children as adults and meeting their families.

    "The Journey" is about Titus Fisher becoming a man and proving that he can be a man that his family can be proud of. Put can he do that in Lancaster County, Pa? Or will he have to move to prove he can be a man?

    In Kentucky, you'll read about Suzanne Yoder. She seems not to believe in herself. What she wants to do as a trade is frown upon others in the community. Will she master one skill that is expected of her and gain approvel for the one she likes to do?

    Will Titus and Suzanne fall in love with each other?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining tale

    In Paradise, Pennsylvania, Titus Fisher always compared himself with his twin Timothy and found himself lacking. He loves his brother, but envies him. The latest comparison is Timothy is happily married to Hannah with a young daughter Mindy; while Titus' beloved Phoebe Stoltzfus ended their relationship to move away from the Amish in California. When Englischer Allen Walters stops at the Fisher family spread, he informs Titus they need a carpenter in the Amish community in Christian County, Kentucky. Titus decides to take the position as he feels a need to start over.

    In Pembroke, Kentucky Titus and Amish Suzanne Yoder meet. They are attracted to each other as each is excellent at woodworking; however she looks like a sister of Phoebe so he knee jerkily dislikes her. Besides which he rationalizes she is a tomboy who can't cook. However, as she watches how considerate of others she is, he reassesses his assessment of Suzanne when Phoebe arrives for a second chance.

    The latest Wanda E. Brunstetter's Amish family drama is an entertaining tale as Titus' response to the Lovin' Spoonful song "Did You Ever have To Make Up Your Mind?" is to trust in the Lord to guide him. Although some minor subplots feel like inane padding, fans will rejoice with the first Kentucky Brothers' tale as there is joy and heartbreak making for a tender realistic journey.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As always Wanda has done it again

    I missed one of the other series of Wanda's but when I started to read this book I remember right off. Now Zach is a grown man with children, as he was the little boy that was taken off the picnic table in front of his house as his sister went inside to get the tourist a drink. That just made me want to turn the next page and see what had happened with the other children as they had grown up.


    They were all living their own lives except Titus Fisher as he was one of the youngest children, he and his twin brother Timothy were born in the late years of his mother's life. Titus just was not satisfied with the way his life was going and he had been in love with Phoebe since he was sixteen and she was thirteen. When she broke up with him and told him she was going to California with a friend and that she didn't know if she was ever coming back, it broke his heart.



    Titus moved to Kentucky with a friend of Zach's and found a new life. He had quite a few problems as he tried to live in a very run down trailer owned by Allen, the friend that he had gone to Kentucky with. Will he stay there or will he go back home when he had grown up? What about Phoebe will she stay in California?



    This is a great book and I can't wait until the fall when the next in the series comes out "The Healing"


    Thanks so much to Barbour Publishing for sending me this advance review copy, to do my own review. Love the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Amish Story

    The Journey is the start of a new series...Kentucky Brothers, it is a spin off from the Daughter's of Lancaster County Series.
    Titius is a twin and his brother Timothy has already settled down with a wife and a young daughter. He also has chosen his career path. While Titus is floundering in a relationship that has just broken up with his girl choosing to go to California rather than join the Church. When an opportunity in the form of a friend of his brother comes along, Titus decides to go to Kentucky with Allen and start his own life. He will be leaving his big extended family and the only life he has even know. He is also leaving his identical twin.
    Suzanne Yoder lives with her Mother, brothers, sister and her Grandfather on a farm in Kentucky. Her Grandfather owns a Woodworking shop and her brother Nelson is learning to take it over. Suzanne loves working with wood, and would rather fish than cook...she is a horrible cook...just what every man wants in a woman!
    When Titus meets Suzanne she resembles his lost love Phoebe and he takes a dislike to her. As you follow along with the story you will have some very sad, moving moments, and some really laugh out loud times. The trust in the Lord is seen in both families is very inspirational. This is a wonderful story, and I can't wait for the next book in the series.
    This book was provided by the publisher, I was not required to give a good evaluation, the opinions are my own and no further compensation was received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3