BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Journey Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 778 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(190)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I really wish 12 year olds would stop giving all the free books no stars just because they want twilight or whatever.... dont rate if you didnt read! I read this book a while ago and it is pretty good. Not really normally my thing but i still liked it.

posted by 6391639 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Customer review does not mean you tell the story

State your opinion don't tell us all about the story!!!!!!

posted by 5193682 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Simple, OK

    Not a challenge, just OK for a quick, easy, mind numbing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I don't recommend this book.

    I only finished this because I had started it, and it was a short book so it seemed worth sticking with it to see if it got better. I have heard this author compared to Nicholaus Sparks - they are male authors of romantic fiction - the comparison should stop there. Sparks creates believable characters & stories that you just can't put down. Journey Home was like reading two just-okay completely separate short stories that finally have a connection in a disappointing & unbelievable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Started off well

    Very interesting beginning and middle and then it all fell apart as it descended into afterlife experiences as a way to tie it together. I was quite disappointed in the way this resolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Dissapointing

    The story was slow and a bit young for my taste. I could see the end of the story right away. For such a short book it took me a while to get through it. I got this on Free Friday and would say i got what i paid for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Did Not Like

    I am not sure but I just couldn't get into this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Ugh

    Too confusing!!! Not my type of reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Interesting Story

    Not a great book but worth the short read. I couldn't figure out how the two stories tied together until right towards the end - that's always fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    I wouldn't recommend

    I can't say I really enjoyed this book. There were parts that I enjoyed, but I never really got into it like a Nicholas Sparks book, which one of the reviews compared to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Interesting read. Clever plot.

    Not my cup of tea. I don't care for ghost stories and prefer that a small chance exists that the story could truely happen. Not the case with this story. Still Baron is a talented writer and I hope to find a future story from him that is more down my alley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    A quick and easy read

    Skimmed through parts. Not really my cup of tea. And I felt it was predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    Enchanting story with very likable characters. I plan to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    OK for a free book

    This book was OK - a little confusing at first but part way through I figured out what was happening. Glad it was a freebie and I didn't pay for it. Not sure I would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    so,so

    hard to get into the story .didn't finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Predictable

    Not very engaging. I knew what the "mystery" was almost from the start. Kinda hokey, to my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Just OK

    I can't believe this writer was compared to Nicholas Sparks...worlds apart. The book was just ok. He has years to go before he can compare to Nicholas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Different

    It was different. At the end it tied it all together and end ok. It was not a real exciting book but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Just OK

    With few exceptions I find the free friday books slow, plodding and boring. This book was hard to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Just ok.

    I don't have much time to read, so I really would have been happier reading something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Not my cup of tea

    Started off ok but then I found myself skimming or skipping over all the boring cooking paragraphs and there were a lot of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Great At First

    This book started out very interesting. 25 Chapters all together. A fast read. The way the author made the people in this book. Warren's mother "Hannah" ( what her husband called her as a pet name for her ) made me a little sad. Even though it is not mentioned directly it looked at if she has Dementia. Going in and out of the present to the past. Then there is Joseph the his memory loss and trying to find his way home to his family. He takes a trip with Will to see if he can jostle his memory. But when I get to Chaper 24 and it went down there for me. Both Will and Joseph are not alive but dead and that Will is actually his son Billy that died when he was 14 months old. Hannah in her mind sees Don ( her huband ) and they talk with one another before Hannah passes away. Chapter 25 picks up a bit with Warren finding his happines he was looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5