Customer Reviews for

The Journey Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 780 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(231)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(190)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I really wish 12 year olds would stop giving all the free books no stars just because they want twilight or whatever.... dont rate if you didnt read! I read this book a while ago and it is pretty good. Not really normally my thing but i still liked it.

posted by 6391639 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Customer review does not mean you tell the story

State your opinion don't tell us all about the story!!!!!!

posted by 5193682 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    I really wish 12 year olds would stop giving all the free books no stars just because they want twilight or whatever.... dont rate if you didnt read! I read this book a while ago and it is pretty good. Not really normally my thing but i still liked it.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    An interesting, and heartwarming story!

    THE JOURNEY HOME by Michael Brown is a Contemporary novel. It is set in modern day. It is well written. It has family drama, a true love, loss, and sickness. It is the journey of three family members and how they collide. An aging mother with Alzheimer's who is living the early years of her marriage to her beloved, a father who died five years prior, a son who has been dead for years, and the son who is going though a divorce, loss of work and his declining mother. The husband, and eldest son collide and come to find the mother who is waiting for her beloved. This is an interesting story. This book was received for review and details can be found at The Story Plant and My book Addiction and More.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for a gentle walk on the sentimental side.

    Michael Baron has a smooth, flowing style that intrigues even as it lulls, and he assures that we will care about his cast of characters. There are some odd situations where the unseeable is unexplainably seen and the flaw, for this reader, of a resolution that is both pat and overly sentimental. Still, accompanied by a quiet room, a comfortable chair, and a pot of tea, The Journey Home offers an ultimately comforting escape from everyday cares and snares.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Liked it

    It was a good book but you have to keep up...it goes back and forth and can lose you at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Good

    A short read at 134 pages. This book was very good. It was sad but lovely, although i did figure out the mystery half way through. A great book you will likely enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Beautiful

    It's a wonderful story of love and the magic that happens when we are open to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Sweet Story

    I hope it's really like this.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Good

    I enjoyed this
    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Just ok

    I thought this was a good book overall, but the end confused & weirded me out quite a bit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Inspiring

    This is an inspiring story to keep you thinking. I read this when my grandmother passed and kept me moving forward in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    A calming, sweet, "must read"!

    I almost didn't continue reading this b/c the 3 main characters starred in single revolving chapters. However...I am SO GLAD I stuck with it!!! A quick, relaxing read that I'd recommend for many!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Compelling storytelling with a message that warmed my heart. I

    Compelling storytelling with a message that warmed my heart. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Short moving story

    Not my normal genre but a good read. Sad at times but true to life. Loved that it had no foul language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Good/sad

    The book is a good read, but after a while i had a feeling where it was going. It was a little hard to read as i started to think of my mother who pasted a year ago. I jumped to the last chapter and my thoughts were correct. I pray that my mother is in a wonderful place with her friends like in the book. ( sorry for the spoiler)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    Read it please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    good

    132 pages. A little confusing at first to ,keep people separate. But the story was very sweet, intriguing and such a satisfying end. A beautiful story how heartbreaking it is to watch your parent decline with alzheimers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This is a well written book. It is keeps your interest from the first page. It's also fairly short, so it can be read in a weekend. Just the kind of books I like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Enjoyed how the stories evolved and connected in the end. Like

    Enjoyed how the stories evolved and connected in the end. Liked that I thought I had it figured out, only to be wrong. Its nice to be surprised. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. Will be looking at other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Wonderful book of an older couple in love.

    This book is so good. The couple are so loving and respectful all their lives that it makes their son want the same thing.

    Reminds me a little of my own childhood. My dad could be a rascal but my parents joked and played and truly loved one another. What a gift to your children and yourselves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming tale

    This is a very heartwarming and sentimental story. Joseph, Antoinette and Warren are all searching for something. Joseph who one day wakes up in a strange place and doesn't remember much of anything is searching for his wife. Antoinette is living in an assisted living facility after her husband's death and is searching for ways to connect with her beloved husband again. Warren, Antoinette's son has just lost his marriage and his job and he's searching for a new life all while watching his mother's condition slowly decline. Ulitmately what they are searching for brings this cast of very different people together in ways that are at times predictable, and yet very endearing and poignant. It's a quick and easy read, but still a wonderfully told story of love and what it means to truly come "home" once and for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11