BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Journey of Souls: Case Studies of Life Between Lives

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    From the author of Tales of Ancient Xenar

    I have read many books about the afterlife, including Embraced by the light, Life on the Other Side, the Ripple Effect. But I would have to rate this book to be the best of them. Because this book doesn't give the views of the afterlife of just 1 person, but the views of 29. Dr. Newton put these people under hypnosis to talk to their superconsciousness to get details about the spirit world and their past lives. The way I see it, when a person has a near-death experience, their memories of the experience are often filtered by their consciouness. This often causes the person to have incomplete memories of the experience and can sometimes change certain details. But in this book, no one is recalling a near-death experience. They are put under hypnosis and their superconsciousness is awakened. This provides a very detailed and virtually unfiltered view of the spirit world. I would suggest to anyone out there, please buy this book or check it out at your local library. It is very much worth reading.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OUTSTANDING UNDERSTANDING

    There are SO many "new age" books out there you have to cull through alot of barbage to find the gems. I had run across this book before but Llewelyn spares no amount of money to design terrible book covers that I passed it over twice before hearing the author on the Art Bell show. Many of the books I've come across dealing with life between incarnations dealt with "angels, ascended masters, ascension" and alot of terms that just plain make me sick. When people HAVE near death experiences they don't have spirits running up to them claiming to be an angel or otherwise. This ia a nuts and bolts look at what we do and plan between lives. Don't get me wrong, its full of stories of love and spiritual adventure but without any of the flakiness we find in so many books of this type. This book stands alone as well grounded and researched and incredibly lucid in its explorations of who we really are. After reading this work and you happen to be having a bad week you'll be a little more tolerant of life knowing what you've been exposed to here.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    Life changing

    This book was perhaps one the most life-changing books I have ever read. I have purchased several copies and given them away as gifts. It was recommended to me when I was grieving the death of the last member of my family of origin. It led to healing and understanding on my part. It took me forever to read because I "felt" it all the way through. I have a degree in psychology and am not "flaky". This book speaks to the thinker part of me as well as the emotional part. I cannot thank Dr. Newton enough for his work.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Dr. Newton, through summaries and transcripts of his hypnotherap

    Dr. Newton, through summaries and transcripts of his hypnotherapy sessions, helps us learn about spirit guides, (guardian angels), our welcoming into the spiritual world after death (judgment), and the maturation of the souls (karma/nirvana/the beatific vision).
    I've looked for this kind of guidance for years in the monastery, in Europe, in Asia, in the Middle East, in scriptures, books, fellowships, churches, temples and synagogues. Life After Life and "The Journey of Souls" and has caused changes in the very foundations of my beliefs, and helps unite the concepts of Christianity, Hinduism, Christianity, Judaism, and other religions. For my own journey toward an understanding of the meaning of life and death, Dr. Newton has offered sign posts in poorly charted territory.
    If you are interested in spiritual life beyond the doctrines of the organized religions that are based on power and money, "The Journey of Souls" is a must read. Michael Newton collected interviews with some of his patients about their experiences between lives. My journey through this book was a confirmation of what I already believed happens right after death and of what the between-world, the place of souls, is about. So, although there was not a lot of new information for me in the first third to half of the book, it made me feel very happy just reading it because the descriptions from others paralleled my own. There is nothing so rejuvenating as corroboration from a myriad of strangers.
    For anyone who wonders if there is life after death, this answers that question as well as providing insight into soul development and progression. 
     

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    An amazing book with so much to learn from.

    Journey of Souls is a great book, it teaches about spirts and the spirit world through a medical process. I personally enjoyed the recorded cases with his clients talking to Newton while medically hypnotized.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    I have always know in my heart that there is a better place than this, and with Michael Newton's books, now I know for sure. I have read his sequel to 'Journey of Souls', 'Destiny of Souls', it's just as wonderful. Thank-you Michael Newton.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    The best reading for me after the loss of so many, so dear to me.

    This book helped me get through the great number of deaths I have experienced in such a short time. It helped me understand what goes on during and after death. Gives me a great deal of comfort knowing that my friends & family are in a better place, and we will meet again someday if we have not already. I am grateful for this book to help me move on. I purchased this book in 1999, and I still pull it out on tough days to reassure myself.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Find out exactly what happens as soon as you die.

    The most comprehensive and interesting book I have read regarding death, the death process and the afterlife. Do you have questions about what happens to 'you' at the moment of death? Do you wonder what it's like and what you do on the other side? Unbelievable accounts and case histories are provided by Dr. Newton. I'm anxiously awaiting another in-depth book examining similar issues. Highly recommend. Non-stop reading from cover to cover. Answered so many of my own questions. And I've read a lot of these books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    After reading numerous books about the afterlife, this books sums it up just right. It opens your mind to the reality of death and what really happens. It is by far the best book I have ever read on this subject. If you lost someone close or about to, this is a must read. It was a great comfort to me on the loss of my husband last year. I am in the process of reading Michael Newtons next book, "Destiny of Souls" which is also excellent. Journey of Souls is a book you don't want to pass up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    Mind opening

    A very good friend was dying from a incurible disease. While visiting him weekly for healing and prayers he gave this book to me. Upon his departure from the earth plane. I was relieved, for the journey this man was now about to take is tremendous. It is a great book for anyone who is having a hard time with a loss or just wants to know what it could be like in the next expression of life

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Wonderful book!

    This book opened up new understandings for me. It is something that I think we have all known at some level, but this book gave us the gift of a better understanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    Whole new perspective

    As I continue on my own spiritual journey, I am always looking for information brought to me in a way the 'feels real'. Dr. Newton does this with rivoting excellence through his case studies. I couldn't put it down and I want everyone I know to read it. I now see with much greater clarity the learning I and others in my life receive in each and every day. Thank you, Dr. Newton and your clients.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    I was rivited to it.

    This book was amazing, a must for anyone who has lost or is losing someone they love. I couldn't put it down when I read it two years ago. It has helped me countless of times through the trails of death and saying good bye for now. "READ IT!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    A New Understanding

    This book is outstanding. I felt that, having been written by someone with a PhD, it came from a credible source. It is full of real-life principles and advice that is relevant to everyone. You don't need to believe that people lived other lives to believe in what is said in this book. It brings understanding to any religion or way of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    OPENING A CLOSED DOOR.

    I READ THIS BOOK SEVERAL YEARS AGO, AND I AM ALWAYS REREADING IT. IT IS THE MOST INFORMATIVE BOOK ON PAST LIFES ON THE MARKET TODAY. GOOD READING, CANT PUT IT DOWN...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2000

    enrich your soul

    for this column i give endless stars for journey of souls. don't waste your time on false physic networks, etc... start here !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    I have read many, this is among the best

    Hats off to Michael Newton. He helps speed the new age towards us. Straight talk. I was amazed that so many different subjects paint nearly the same picture. I only wish he had another book to sequel this one. -- Thanks for your wonderful contribution Michael.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    Is it True?

    I believe its worth to mention an incident related with this book. I am a graduate student of engineering and I would humbly admit that I seldom listen to radios or watch television. I was working on an assignment (in which obviously, I wasnt getting anywheres) and to take a break, turned on the radio and surfed through all the frequencies when from a particular station I heard the word 'hypnotism'. I tuned into that and an hour later I was still sitting on the floor listening. I was listening to Dr. Michael Newton's interview about his work on hypnotism and souls. The interesting part of this story is, I have never been able to tune to that particular station after that day!! This makes one often wonder was it a mere coincidence or was there 'something' or 'someone' working on it. Dr.Newton's book answers this question in no uncertain terms. He clearly claims that there is another world out there and that he has explored it through hypnotic regression of his subjects. He talks about the purpose of life of each one of us and the concept of cause and effects of our deeds (karma). His conclusion - we are leading our lifes to pay our Karmic debts.And we would continue to do so till our deeds are perfect. What makes the book outstanding is the conviction with which the book has been written. Its not easy to rationalize whatever he claims is true. Someone who believes in souls and reincarnation will find this book to be a landmark in the efforts to find the truth. Someone who doesnt would call it a figment of imagination, but it would be worthwhile to explore how much a human mind can imagine!! Enjoy the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    Read this if you want answers about souls and death

    This book is a great read on souls. It's filled with tons of information. If you are looking to learn about souls, where we came from and where we go, this is the book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    FAKE REVIEWS!!!!!

    Don't be foolef by all the positive reviews!! Read them and you will find they seem to be written by the same person.....probably the writer or publisher....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6