Customer Reviews for

Journey to America

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Terrific Novel

    I really thought this book was interesting and exciting. The pace was fast moving, but not so fast that I couldn't keep up. There were interesting parts, such as the father going away for America, the family moving from Germany to Switzerland to a small apartment, the two older girls Lisa and Ruth leaving for a boarding home, all three girls going to different homes, the mother going to the hospital, Lisa getting a letter from her friend, and then the family leaving for America. There was no doubt in my mind that this book was NOT boring. Plus, it had factual information put into a narrative. The fight in Germany against the Jews and the soldiers parading around saying cruel and gory things about the Jews was scary and I can honestly say I would not want to go to Germany at that time period, even though I'm not even Jewish! I could not believe what Lisa's family had to go through and felt thoroughly bad for her, although she did end up with a nice family during her stay at Switzerland and they made it to America safely. Sorry to anyone who hasn't read the book for giving away the ending. Ah well, read the book anyway. It's very interesting, well written, and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Heart-warming

    I first read this book in the 3rd grade. Since then, (quite a few years later) I've read it about 10 times. I never get tired of it. The transitions could have been smoother, but overall, it's a touching story of a family's struggle to stay together in troublesome times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK!

    This book was a great book. It is told through the eyes of the ten year-old Lisa Platt. It is about a family from Germany when the Nazis were taking over. The Dad leaves to go to America to get a job and then the rest of the family was supposed to go to America when he could afford to take care of them. To get out of the country they said they were going to take a trip to Switzerland for a vacation but that was a lie. They were going to go from Switzerland to America. While they were staying in Switzerland, they were going poor, so the two oldest girls had to go to an orphanage. It was not going to well there, so the Mom got them back. She got very sick, so she got some families to adopt the kids. After she was better they got some letters from the Dad and they said that they could come to America now. But they had trouble getting the passports to leave to go to America. They finally get them; they go on a boat over to America. They go through Ellis Island, and the father meets them there. The father takes them to his apartment and they have a happy life with the family all together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Not read

    I have not read this book but it sounds really good and a little deppressing.Hope to read it soon.(I only put three stars because I have not read it yet.)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Get the book

    I didntget this book on my nook but i read at my school library and loved it i asked my librarian about the second and third and they didnt have it and i asked y and she said other kids must not have like the book and i was like in shock cuz i dontknow how u cant love this book when u finish it there might b a few boring pages but not many so u should get the book. Ps ionly have 3113 words left :))))))))))))))))))) now only 3067 djrjfjdjmbgfxgdt,gtfhhtfdtutddgfhj hTjlldgkgkdjcbdjyctuav mhgjyffgvhfy.dchfchhffh.vvnmyefhkhfdgcgcbcb . Jydmhcydfhdykhfkfkydyidgvyfydgfykyjfjfjfjrjrjfjfkrlepekdkwlwoejffjtjtjrhfjrielwoekelelrhdjjddk,sjldbszks now 2848

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    the journey to america

    i read this book because a teacher recommended it to me and it was ok but not enough details for me and it was a bit of a disapointment to me~ too short and all that.. (but then, it IS a bit of a low standard for me but it should be good for ppl in elementary..) ( and like the other person said, they got off things too easily and the sisters did NOT have to sell their rings. their mom had to sell her engagement ring though)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    hmm....

    I had to read this book for school. It was okay, but i don't feel that it told of the hardship Jews had to endure during the Nazi occupation. In fact, I think lisa and her family had it easy-their father escaped without susupicion,and their family was able to stick together. Overall, I was pretty dissapointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2000

    Depressing and very sad!

    Annie, Lisa, and Ruth¿s father left for America and were going to call for Annie, Lisa, Ruth, and their mother to come when he was ready. He had taken a ship to America that was the only why he could get there. After awhile their father sent for them to come to America. They went and stayed in a city called Zurich City until their father said that he had a place for them to stay. They met a lot of new people while they were there. They didn¿t have that much money so they had to sell the rings their father gave them before he left for America. They finally got a letter from there father saying that it was Ok to come to America since he had found a place to stay. He said that the place were they were going to be staying wasn¿t very big in just had enough room for everyone. So they went on there way but did they actually make it to America through all the guards or not? Read to find out. I liked the book off and on. It got a little confusing during parts in the middle but besides that is was an Ok book. I really can¿t tell you if I liked the book or not it was just a story that was interesting but then again it wasn¿t. Why it got confusing was because the author really didn¿t explain what was going on in the story. The author jumped from one subject to the next. All I can say about the book is that it was very mysterious. The author was good with the details but not putting the story together in the right order. She mostly messed up the part when the letter came from their father and it said that they could head for America. They started out well but then they went talking about a different city and you just couldn¿t catch on to what they were talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    Book is Heart-Taking

    The story of 10 year old Lisa Platt struggling through the tough times. They move out of Berlin to Switzerland. They were going poor so the two oldest children had to move into an orphange. Many things trouble them during the time period of the Holocaust

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    Journey to America

    This book was a great book.It is about this family from Germany when the Nazis were taking over. So the Dad leaves to go to America to get a job and then the rest of th e family was supposed to go to America when he could support them. They said they were going to take a trip to Switerland for a vacation but that was a lie. They were going to go from Switerland to America. When they were staying in Switerland they had some money troubles,so the two oldest girls had to go to an orfange. Then it wasn't going to well there, so the Mom got them back and she got very sick. So she got some families to adopt the the kids. After dhe got well they got some letters from the Dad and they said that they could come to America now. But they had some trouble getting the passports to leave to go to America. Will they get there or not? You will just have to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1