Customer Reviews for

Journey to Rainbow Island

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I love this book, the story is full of action and is very descri

I love this book, the story is full of action and is very descriptive. Buy this book and you will fall in love with it right away!

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is the complete review as it appears on my blog. There may

This is the complete review as it appears on my blog. There may be links in the blog reviews which are not reproduced here, nor will changes and modifications to the blog review be replicated here.

I had the weirdest feeling when I started this that this novel wasn't w...
This is the complete review as it appears on my blog. There may be links in the blog reviews which are not reproduced here, nor will changes and modifications to the blog review be replicated here.

I had the weirdest feeling when I started this that this novel wasn't written for a lone reader, but for someone to read to children. I don't know if Hsaio intended that, but that's how it felt to me, which wouldn't have been so bad if the writing wasn't so flowery that it's actually hard to read (and I don't mean technically hard, either). There's far too much hyperbole, and too many redundant phrases like "obsidian black". While I think I see what she intended by that, it seemed about as meaningful to me as saying "dark black". Later, she uses the awful phrase, "jaundiced shade of pale yellow" which is so redundant as to be absurd.

I'm a sucker for Asians and their mythology, but I'm definitely not the intended age range for this novel (which is 8 - 12 years old), but I do have two sons within that age range, and I can assure you that they would not touch a novel like this with a ten-foot pole. And rest assured that if I had a daughter, she would not like it either because it's simply not an engaging story, nor is it intelligently written. The story should appeal to the My Little Pony crowd, but if that's too immature for you or your kids, you won't like this novel at all. I do however, have a suggestion as to how that could be fixed at the end of this review.

Much as I wanted to enjoy this, Hsaio seemed determined to irritate me with every fresh chapter. She's yet another of these shamefully ignorant writers I've encountered this year who think the upper arm muscles (biceps and triceps) come in a singular form! Indeed she refers with an authoritative tone to the upper tricep! Honestly? A simple spell-checker would have caught this gaff. I may not deserve better than this, but my sons do, as do others of their age group.

These people seem to have no problem with killing (no, that's cruel, I meant rendering....) when it suits them. The real irony of this exchange with the hunter is that without the knowledge and skill of such people, Yu-ning would never have a hunting weapon (her bow) to go after the Obsidigons to begin with! Indeed, at one point, a giant owl named Suparna, declares proudly "…in order for the light to shine...we must rend - or tear - the light from the dark." Why the violent language?

There are unintentional moments of hilarity: Yu-ning's arms started to tire from the power of the light? Light has no mass, so how is it tiring, exactly? If you want to enlighten children, don't keep them in the dark about light! Explain the science without vague allusions and obfuscations regarding faith and inner light - especially when you really don't understand light! This level of hilarity was somewhat unleavened with unexplained events such as Julian's claim that Yu-ning cured him? Of what? Hunger? She gave him an apple and that's it!

I expected a lot more from this novel and was sorry that such a promising premise failed to deliver on all levels but art. The illustrations were charming, and quite well done, but they were sadly let down by the writing. Perhaps this volume should have come out as a graphic novel? I rated it warty.

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    A lovely adventure story for kids - especially little girls - lo

    A lovely adventure story for kids - especially little girls - loaded with positive messages about friendship, loyalty, and exploring your imagination. It's peopled with colorful characters culled from many familiar mythical and fantasy traditions. The action is good, and blissfully devoid of overt violence (even though the young heroine carries a weapon we've seen before, its purpose is quite unique., Yet the author is not afraid to let some darkness creep in. It will be interesting to see how what appears to be a series of books progresses. Perfect, no, but pretty cool, uplifting stuff kids will enjoy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I love this book, the story is full of action and is very descri

    I love this book, the story is full of action and is very descriptive. Buy this book and you will fall in love with it right away!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Wonderfully positive, upbeat book! What the world needs more of.

    Wonderfully positive, upbeat book! What the world needs more of. Christie Hsiao is a young emerging talent to keep your eye on. The world she created in Rainbow Island is an incredibly alluring and colorful place, and one that kids will dream about. It's a story that can be enjoyed by all ages and I can't wait for the sequel.

    I think the movie could be another incredible franchise, and the stories message of hope and love will connect with a worldwide audience. Really enjoyed this!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    I believe this is a great book after I read it. Especially you a

    I believe this is a great book after I read it. Especially you are interest in Asian culture. It's also good to a family too. It's only a lunch money but you can have all from the writer. Isn't it? I would like to recommend it to readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    It's great to have a book that encourages positive values and al

    It's great to have a book that encourages positive values and allows children develop their imagination. 
    I bought some copies for gifts over the holidays and am recommending it to friends. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    My kids really liked this book and the characters in it. The sto

    My kids really liked this book and the characters in it. The story is an easy read and fun for everyone. The uplifting message is something that I approve of for my little ones!.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Really enjoyed this. My 11 year old responded well to it.I like

    Really enjoyed this. My 11 year old responded well to it.I like the positive premise of the story that we all have light within, It's an inspiring book for people of all ages. I hope they are turning this into a movie or Tv series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Journey to Rainbow island has a rich exciting storyline, with ma

    Journey to Rainbow island has a rich exciting storyline, with many interesting characters. The story provides multiple positive themes from which young adults can learn, like furthering non-violence and love. It's an empowering book for children of all ages and I highly recommended this adventure to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    This book was given as a donation to our library. Readers are en

    This book was given as a donation to our library. Readers are enjoying it and looking forward to a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Wonderful book! I read it after my 2 kids suggested it as a chan

    Wonderful book! I read it after my 2 kids suggested it as a change from my usual reading fare of biography and history. It turned out to be much more than just a fantasy book, it's positive, inspiring messages became for me a "magical" reading experience in more ways than one. I was quickly captivated by Yu-ning, Romeo, Suparna, One, Metatron, the nasty dragon and Hobaling.
    I found myself unable to put the book down because it was exciting and much fun to read! It's easy to understand why my two sons (and so many kids just like them) love Journey to Rainbow Island so much.Christie Hsiao proves herself a gifted writer of positive, inspiring journeys, not only because the plot is good and the characters come to life, but also because her writing fires the imagination and gives positive empowering values.
    Hats off to this one, the plot is engaging, the characters are likable, and it's a good quick read for those older than the specified ages. If you're a parent considering getting this book for your child, please do, But get a copy for yourself as well. Now I anxiously await the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Journey shows a positive message to the readers, the characters

    Journey shows a positive message to the readers, the characters are passionate and colorful, the language is simple yet rich in descriptions. Definitely a good read for the whole family. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    This has to be the worst book ever written. I bought it based on

    This has to be the worst book ever written. I bought it based on the award winning producers endorsements, I can't imagine that they read it.
    Don't waste your money, it's really bad and I want my money back!
    The only reason I gave it one star is because there is no option of giving it none, one is far too generous.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    This is the complete review as it appears on my blog. There may

    This is the complete review as it appears on my blog. There may be links in the blog reviews which are not reproduced here, nor will changes and modifications to the blog review be replicated here.

    I had the weirdest feeling when I started this that this novel wasn't written for a lone reader, but for someone to read to children. I don't know if Hsaio intended that, but that's how it felt to me, which wouldn't have been so bad if the writing wasn't so flowery that it's actually hard to read (and I don't mean technically hard, either). There's far too much hyperbole, and too many redundant phrases like "obsidian black". While I think I see what she intended by that, it seemed about as meaningful to me as saying "dark black". Later, she uses the awful phrase, "jaundiced shade of pale yellow" which is so redundant as to be absurd.

    I'm a sucker for Asians and their mythology, but I'm definitely not the intended age range for this novel (which is 8 - 12 years old), but I do have two sons within that age range, and I can assure you that they would not touch a novel like this with a ten-foot pole. And rest assured that if I had a daughter, she would not like it either because it's simply not an engaging story, nor is it intelligently written. The story should appeal to the My Little Pony crowd, but if that's too immature for you or your kids, you won't like this novel at all. I do however, have a suggestion as to how that could be fixed at the end of this review.

    Much as I wanted to enjoy this, Hsaio seemed determined to irritate me with every fresh chapter. She's yet another of these shamefully ignorant writers I've encountered this year who think the upper arm muscles (biceps and triceps) come in a singular form! Indeed she refers with an authoritative tone to the upper tricep! Honestly? A simple spell-checker would have caught this gaff. I may not deserve better than this, but my sons do, as do others of their age group.

    These people seem to have no problem with killing (no, that's cruel, I meant rendering....) when it suits them. The real irony of this exchange with the hunter is that without the knowledge and skill of such people, Yu-ning would never have a hunting weapon (her bow) to go after the Obsidigons to begin with! Indeed, at one point, a giant owl named Suparna, declares proudly "…in order for the light to shine...we must rend - or tear - the light from the dark." Why the violent language?

    There are unintentional moments of hilarity: Yu-ning's arms started to tire from the power of the light? Light has no mass, so how is it tiring, exactly? If you want to enlighten children, don't keep them in the dark about light! Explain the science without vague allusions and obfuscations regarding faith and inner light - especially when you really don't understand light! This level of hilarity was somewhat unleavened with unexplained events such as Julian's claim that Yu-ning cured him? Of what? Hunger? She gave him an apple and that's it!

    I expected a lot more from this novel and was sorry that such a promising premise failed to deliver on all levels but art. The illustrations were charming, and quite well done, but they were sadly let down by the writing. Perhaps this volume should have come out as a graphic novel? I rated it warty.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    This book was an insult to my intelligence. I was paid by the bo

    This book was an insult to my intelligence. I was paid by the book's author (or rather, representatives on behalf of the book's author) to review this. I'd rather risk them asking for me to return the money than give a dishonest review. The story was crammed with every cliched plot devise imaginable but was devoid of anything meaningful. After Googling Ms. Hsiao, the author, it becomes apparent that she abandoned her work as a failed entertainment producer in lieu of this new cash-grabbing endeavor. The only editorial reviews listed for this book are from her friends an ex-associates in the film industry. Should have made "Rainbow Island" a bad screenplay instead of a bad book. I would give this title zero stars if I possibly could; for now I'll settle for a one-star review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Rainbow Island is the perfect place to live.  It is a magical pl

    Rainbow Island is the perfect place to live.  It is a magical place where everything on the island lives in harmony and LOVE is the fuel that drives it.  Yu-ning, a beautifully spirited eleven year old, lives on the island with her peers and they play and romp freely in total happiness.  




    One day a dragon (Obsidigon), who is conjured up by a dark wizard (Hobaling) appears and nearly destroys the beautiful, tranquil island leaving a wide path of destruction and injuries to those living there.  Yu-ning's best friend, Romeo is captured by the beast and taken to some unknown destination which breaks her heart and awakens a seed of obligation and determination deep inside of her to rescue her cherished friend and restore her beloved island back to its original state.  The reader finds out that that veridict was pre-ordained and Yu-ning has been chosen to carry out the mission long before this disaster struck.  She is a Darq Render by birth and she is called to step up and venture into many snares and dangers but to do so she must recover a magical bow and quiver of supernatural arrows that will completely obliterate that evil dragon. By so doing she will resurrect her island from its ashes into its majestical state once again.




    Along the way she has help from her master teacher, Metatron, a magnificent flying bird called Suparana and a bright pink dolphin called Minkaro.  Throughout her journey she is able to encounter  lost souls along the way that are oppressed and frightened and transports them to Rainbow Island where they will live out their days in the light, love and pure happiness that manifests itself there.  




    It is a story of good vs evil, despair vs hope, light vs darkness, bondage vs freedom and hatred vs love.  It is enlightening and brings a very positive message to the world.  I loved the fact that Yu-ning is female and empowered to be the rescuer.  Girls need a strong role model that will inspire them and let them know that they too are capable of super-heroine acts of bravery.  The language is detailed, descriptive and the word flow beautiful.  I really loved the overall spiritual aspect of the book.  Love, light, freedom and peace are very powerful words and if these words are put into action more often our world will be a much better place in which to live.   If we become more like the islanders of Rainbow Island and emulate their model of community we can turn our world upside down and live in peace and harmony and love all the days of our lives. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    12/20/2013 post review


    JOURNEY TO RAINBOW ISLAND
    By:
    Christie Hsiao

    The cover caught my eye!!!!!!! love the cover a neat dragon, child and beautiful colors behind what looks like a cave opening. So on that I just had to read this book plus it sounded so good and it was. Besides there is a little child in each one of us and I love reading children's stories -- They take me back a few years and plunges me back into childhood. It's good for everyone to step into a child's book once in awhile.

    there's a young girl named Yu-Ning that was on Rainbow Island. The Island is perfect, beautiful, and she thought was safe until---- a nasty dragon called the Absidigon returns from the grave to Rainbow Island.

    Yu-Ning means love and serenity. She had powerful spiritual and healing gifts. On the Island there is Mangos and Papaya trees fresh fruit that the children loved to eat. They are happy and enjoy themselves.

    Romeo is Yu-Ning friend. Rome had a dream filled with many dark faces, and one face in particular. It was large and black, with yellow, dead looking eyes, almost like stone.

    Rainbow land is a Magical land with trees that their branches swept down grab hold of the children carries them high into the tree. This is a wonderful safe place until one day---Yu-Ning friend is missing and the island sacred Crystal's have disappeared and now the Island it's self is on fire.

    Yu-nig has got to go to a place unsafe,and find a weapon long ago they thought was gone forever--- she must find those crystals at all cost! Will she find what she is looking for and full fill her destiny and save her friend.

    5 Stars
    ISBN 978-193952924-4

    This book kept me on my toes --ok I am a kid at heart but I so enjoyed this book and I feel you will too it really is a great read. I recommend it highly.
    HAPPY TRAVELING to the Land of Rainbow Island! But be careful you never know what may lurk around the tree.

    I received this beautiful book free from Smith Publicity for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review just an honest one. The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own and no one else's.
    Thanks Mindi for a great book and for believing in me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1