Customer Reviews for

Journey to the Center of the Earth (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Maybe Boring, Yet Rewarding

If you have read other reviews of this book you noticed that some people find it repugnant and others delightful. This is a book for those who truly love to read and who are truly eager to learn. It is best to describe a book in a sentence or two if possible, ...
If you have read other reviews of this book you noticed that some people find it repugnant and others delightful. This is a book for those who truly love to read and who are truly eager to learn. It is best to describe a book in a sentence or two if possible, so here's my try at it: Upon discovering a remarkable map, the nervous Henry and his eccentric Uncle are off to Iceland, where the ancient map leads them to a dormant volcano that witholds the path to the center of the earth. Along with them is their guide, Hans, who, being always calm and cool, leads them imperterbably through fields of diamonds, underground animal habitats, and dangerous encounters. The reader soon finds, along with the entertaining characters, that successfully descending to the earths center will not be as difficult as ascending back to the earth's crust! Again, don't bother reading this book if your attention span is minimal, Jules Verne does sometimes get pedantic! That is why I have given this book four stars. It really is a shame to waste 12 dollars, so I ask that you be a responsible reader and know your interests. If scientific things are not for you than find something else. If your a science-fiction reader, you know that sometimes the author lavishes you with details. So there, I hope this is helpful.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

TO WHOEVER SAYS THIS BOOK"SUCKS"

YOU SHOULDNT BE REVIEWING BOOKS IN THE FIRST PLACE, SAYING THIS BOOK SHOULDNT BE A CLASSIC! IF YOU WERE THE LEAST BIT EDUCATED AND UNDERSTOOD ENGLISH THIS BOOK WOULD NOT BE PROBLEM FOR YOU. SORRY FOR RANTING BUT REALLY PEOPLE? THIS ISNT EVEN "OLD ENGLISH" WTH..........

posted by TheZenithsTempest on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    An ok book

    Some difficult words
    Had to look up words alot
    Very interesting
    Recommend for people who love sciene

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Pje22289

    This book is so boring! I love classics and science fiction novels but this is the worst of all I have read!! The author doesn't really stick to the point and is always off topic. I mean during a chapter the author might go on and on about some really long descriptions and you think that this is a waste of time and money reading this book but it was actually a great story when I was a kid. If you saw the movie the characters/actors could really make you get the perspective of what the people in the book were realy saying and doing! I am not saying that I HATE this book but if only some author out there could just translate and make this book sensible for young readers this book would be read by alot of people!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    What has the world come to?

    This book is full of imagination and wonder. If you have a big imagination and enjoy science fiction then I recommend reading it. Although the text is somewhat difficult you can feel the amazement an excitement int the protagonist roles. The ending of the story could have been better. It seemed a little over dramatic and hard to believe because of the circumstances . If I could change anything it would be the end of the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Very dated it only comes alive because of the films

    Made and we keep mixing the two visually in our minds this is true for other vernes. Also wells books and well movies two different things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Speaker

    Dx Gtg))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    To all girls

    Lesbins and bi girls pease come to le all results. Find your match :) if you arent and you want to try it you can come too. Please come please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    how many pages.

    I havent read it but i want to know how many pages, what its about, and if it just goes on and on and on. Please help!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Ok

    Pretty boring at most parts, butt still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    It's about the journey, not the destination

    "Et quacumque viam dederit fortuna sequamur"
    "And whatever route fortune gives, we shall follow"

    This IS your great-great-great-grandfather's adventure story, so reader beware. There's a lot of walking, a lot of exposition, and quite frankly, not a lot of action. But keep in mind...this is an original. Our modern day sensibilities expect high action out of our adventure stories…monsters, critters, thrill-a-minute. But in a much different time when society was in a much different state, "Journey to the Center of the Earth" set the table for the adventure/scifi stories of the future.

    The story revolves around German Professor and "Savant" Otto Lidenbrock, though is narrated by his nephew, Axel. The two come across a manuscript that references an Icelandic explorer's expedition to the center of the earth. Upon deciphering the document, Lidenbrock exclaims: "Let no one take it into his head before us to try and discover the center of the earth." And off they go.

    While much of the middle third of the book reads like a travelogue of northern Europe and anthropological tour of Iceland, the driving force of the story is the eccentric genius of Professor Lidenbrock. The professor is characterized by a certain "madness", as described by Axel. This obsessiveness is a driving characteristic that one can see across the literary spectrum of those who break new ground. In fact, one can see it across the spectrum of real life explorers as well. For without a little "crazy", who might have the strength and fortitude to forge ahead almost heedless of circumstances. Without the single-minded obsession and force of will, how would humans be driven to the hearts of darkness that lie at the root of all discovery?

    Like modern science fiction, Verne delves into the 19th century equivalent of cutting edge science with much speculation on portable artificial light, and various natural sciences related to deep earth biology and geology. Whereas Michael Crichton turned the real science of the possibilities of cloning extinct dinosaurs, Verne speculates on evolution, and deep earth temperatures.

    I couldn't help but compare the early chapters of Jules Verne's "Journey to the Center of the Earth" to H.G. Wells' "The Time Machine" or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's "The Lost World". They share a certain vibe in their respective late 19th/early 20th century writing style and tone. They're reminiscent, but different…"Journey" has much more of a sense of humor, and is particularly light-hearted during the early stage-setting scenes in Germany.

    I liked it. I didn't love it, but I'm glad I read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Beginning

    Why do they start it out in the 1800's?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Its a nice read

    Well having finished reading this book it was the scientific jargon and sidenote that were expounded on way too much in the story that gave me a dis interest in it but that was half way through the book. What did keep me interested in the story though was the dilemma put on the characters. There were some big parts that the adventure took and stirred my imagination so that i must continue on and find out what really happened to those explorers. The parts the really drew in me as a reader was the adventure that was happening the the characters. This is a good book to help pass some time but for me it took awhile for the book to take off so its up to you the reader to decide what amount of time you want to spend reading this book written on facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    I have never been a huge fan of Jules Verne, but I decided to give him another shot and while I didn't hate "Journey to the Center of the Earth" I wasn't overly impressed with it either. The stodgy professor character was interesting / entertaining, but the nephew/narrator was a whiny coward for the most part. The parts of the book where they were actually exploring were riveting, but the sections where they were sitting around waiting or rambling about evolution were tedious and the end was just too completely unbelievable. Meh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Better Version

    I have read 2 versions of this book. The first was the one offered for free, and then this B&N Classics version. I'm not sure why the two would be different, but this one is written in a better style and far easier to read. Still, I was disappointed in the story itself. I realize now I've had it confused with more fantastical tales of dinosaurs beneath the world's crust (I'm not sure why), and while this isn't totally false, it still was not nearly what I expected. The majority of this book is a long, slow journey with little excitement that gets boring very quickly. I think I just had my hopes too high for this book and was sorely disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    not that good

    i just finished this book. some parts were really boring, and the author forced some parts to be exciting, but in all reality, they were quite lame. i think two or three scenes were interesting and kept my attention throughout this whole novel. i actually did read this novel, and i didnt quit after the first few chapters. its a pet peeve of mine. i have to finish the book! maybe someone else who gives this book a shot will like it. good luck!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    Good book

    This book was written well and was very different. Even though it was good it was sort of boring until the end when all those exciting things happened. Thuogh the end wasn't very exciting it was more exciting than the rest of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3