Customer Reviews for

Journey to the End of the Night

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    the best author ever, but not his best book

    celine has long been my favorite author. i believe a lot of people misunderstand celine's intentions, and take him for some kind of mediocre nihilist...i have personally always found celine's writing to be intensley uplifting. much of it is in fact very funny i know have have laughed out loud many times! celine knew what he was doing... to me his writing does convey emotion perfectly and i can sense a cathartic joy in hs work. i recommend Death on the Installment Plan as a better introduction, but my absolute favorite is London Bridge. that one is his best work. enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    The Beats loved Celine

    I read this book because the Beats frequently said the Celine was the best author they had ever read. So fifty years after the Beats, and fifty years after even 'Catcher in the Rye,' Journey to the End of Night might seem a bit tame. But Celine showed that the misthantope is a valid, interesting, amusing, and even likable protagonist, before so many others. Even the four slightly antisocial characters of 'Sienfeld' owe a literary nod to Celine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Overrated...

    Celine was a closed-minded, idiotic Fascist whose prose isn't as angry as people make it seem. It's really not that dark or cynical--Henry Miller has written angrier stuff, along with Bukowski, not to forget the founder of Dadaism, Tristan Tzara. Don't believe the hype. People blow this guy's work out of proportion. A lot of what's supposed to be 'dark humour' in this novel is not humurous at all, but just tedious, monotonous rantings of a dissillusioned soul. Even Celine said that most of what his readers take as 'humurous' are not meant to be! One of his pet-peeves were people taking the serious scenes in his books and laughing at them. Of course, this isn't his readers' fault--it's just his poor writing. Most of what he wrote came out unintentionally funny. Especially the part about Napoleon, which eventually leads to a long winding, overly detailed explanation of the male race. Towards the end, he gets way too preachy. His anger is obviously superficial. Nabokov, a much more talented writer, was right. Celine was a second rater. I don't know how I got through this whole book. Don't read this novel. It's trash. It's overrated. It's poor. It's especially egocentric. He hates everybody but himself...and his constant use of those three dots...are a pathetic attempt at capturing human emotion...learn literature, Celine...Faust captured emotion without the constant use of three periods...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    Best 20th Century French novel

    A remarkable book, impossible to put down at times, and as much a subtle political statement as a novel: on the one hand an examination of bourgeois mores in a state of decay, on the other a close-up view of a corrupted, sordid, and ignorant proletariat. Celine's opinion of his fellow man is shown here to be dark, cynical, but realistic, which probably helps to explain why in the 1930's he looked to fascism for answers, and not to the unworkable utopian idiocies of communism. It should be said that Celine's fascist views shouldn't be a reason to reject his literature - indeed, they only make it more interesting. How arrogant we've become when we think only believers in democracy (or Communists!) can write interesting literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    Celine's Masterpiece

    Much better than 'Death on the Installment Plan.' Gritty and fascinating, though too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 1999

    Railing against everything...

    Best novel of the past 2000 years, not because of its sensationalism or style, but rather because of its ideas. Most radical is how he questions why and how people can believe themselves to happy, or patriotic, or coragueous or righteous in a life that cancels all of them out at one point or another. This is misanthropy as a bludgeon, not as an affecation or a joke or (god forbid) an ironic statement. Bracing, even today.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    Don't blame the curriculum planners, Celine is the literary footnote he deserves to be

    Those interested in reading this admittedly 'groundbreaking'(if you consider ripping off Notes from the Underground in French breaking new ground) tripe might be better served by the works of the true absurdists (Sartre, Camus, Beckett), who lived as they wrote instead of espousing heinous ideologies and showing themselves to be beneath notice, much less derision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    This Should Be Read By Every Student In Every School In The World.

    I heard about Celine through Bukowski's mad prose first. I got the book and finished it in a matter of days. 'Journey To The End Of The Night' takes everything this world gives to an individual and tosses it into the ocean. Celine was one of the best writers of the 20th century, I have never seen anything come close to compare to the way he talks. I found myself asking questions on the most fundemental values I had recieved from birth. I thought I had it all figured out, I thought I was a rebel. Celine showed me just how diluted everyone is, including myself. I almost fainted when the author began to describe himself being 'Shoved into the night' so often and wanting to travel to the end of it, hence the title. I will never forget this book as long as I live, I can't. If you are literate and read this book, you will know what I am talking about when I say that an individual could never forget a book like this...ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1