Customer Reviews for

Journey to the River Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Totally awesome book.

    This book was totally AMAZING. I had to read it for the 2011-2012 Battle of the Books list. It was so great and I loved it so much. If you are a reader of adventure and seek hints of romance and inner-connection with a legitament, exhilarating story, you're looking at it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    One of her best!

    Journey to the River Sea is still to this day one of my favorite books. I have read several of Eva Ibbotson's books, but this one is definitely her best! The way she described the setting made me want to hop on a plane and see it for myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Hvent read this but it looks boring

    I havent read this yet but somebody i saw was recommending it so i decided to take a little look at it. Im probably not going to get it because it has only zero stars and doesnt look that interesting. But for people who are looking for a great book ead harry potter 1-7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    6th grader review

    It is a well written, funny and a tad bit educational.

    I like how the characters are very, obviously, thought of thouroughly,

    and have unique personalities, just like in real life. Speaking of which,

    the overall realism is a very high percentage. I have not completed the

    book, but only on chapter 5, and even then, it is very high in quality,

    and meets very high expectaions. I am working on it in a novel, for

    obvious reasons, and am glad that i chose it for my group. Highly

    recomended, worth reading, even only to chapter 5, book.

    Must read.

    If you see this book on the shelves of your local book store, snatch it

    before anybody else can get at it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book is so great that it has become one of my best reads. it's a bit boring in the beginning, but if u read it further, u begin to like it. Maia's character has been so beautifully made that u can't stop yourself from being fond of her. u must must read it......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    A 8th graders perspective

    When I first began reading this book I thought it was horrible. I didn't like it at all and I really didn't want to read it but as we kept on reading I started to like it. I guess that I just hated the beginning of the book and loved it towards the end. The beginning seemed dull to me so when your reading this book and you think the beginning is dull don't stop reading it because it does get very interesting towards the end of the story. Many events happen more towards the end. Many exciting events happen and make you more interested in finding out what happens to the characters in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Excellent, Exciting, and Fun

    Journey to the River Sea was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was exciting and fun. This book is not any old predictable book where you can automatically guess what is going to happen. If you read this book ,i can assure you that you will not be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    Very Good Read!!!

    I liked this book a lot. It was interesting and exicting. Eva Ibbotson is one of my favorite authors. She really knows how to pull you into her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Journey to the river sea By Eva Ibbotson

    The setting for Journey To The River Sea by Eva Ibbotson mostly takes place in the Amazon. Once you get into the book it is very hard to put it down. The book has suspense and drama. Maia is an orphan living in and going to the best school in London. Suddenly she learns that she is going to have to stay with her unknown relatives, the Carters, in the Amazon. She thinks that her cousins will like her and every thing will be fun. On her journey to the Amazon, she meets her governess and they become friends. She also meets a young actor named Clovis. When she gets to her new house, it is anything but fun. She is not allowed to go outside and play. Her two cousins, Beatrice and Gwendolyn, are mean to her because they have never lived with anyone before. After she gets settled in, she finds that the Indians are not bad and they will not do anything to her. An Indian boy brings her out to a lagoon where she meets a young boy named Finn. He explains that he needs her to help him get away. His grandfather has sent two people to bring him back so he can inherit Westwood, when his grandfather dies. Both his uncle and father would have been the next in line to inherit Westwood, but they both have died. Maia, Finn and Clovis come up with a plan to have Clovis and Finn switch places. The story continues with them carrying out their plan. After you get done with the first few chapters of the book you will be drawn into the story. It¿s an easy book to read and to understand. I recommend this book for intermediate school-age children and some high school teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Marvelous Book

    One of my very favorite books. It does NOT start off slow. Ibbotsen describes things wonderfully. If I could, I'd give it 10 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Okay . . .

    Journey to the River Sea is okay. It starts off more than a little slow, but picks up at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Wow!

    This book was great!!! I think that anyone should read it if they like fiction with a little bit of humor and lots of adventure! I wished this book would never end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Journey to the River Sea

    Journey to the River Sea was a great book to read. It was inspritainal with a tuch of emotions to set it off. It is the classic cinderalla story with a strong sense of adventure. I would recomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Read this Book!!

    This book is an adventure, twisted with intrigue and love. You can probably relate to one of the charaters, or more. There is never a dull moment in this book-- you should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2002

    delightful, witty, fun for all

    Eva Ibbotson continues to delight with her beautifully written fantasy. This book had echoes of Robin McKinley and Diana Wynne Jones, and I recommend it most enthusiastically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1