Customer Reviews for

Journeys of Socrates

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Great Ebook! Want to know more?

    Want to know more about this amazing author? View an exclusive interview with Dan at my website: http://www.bestofyoutoday.com/inner-spirit/author-dan-millman-answers-your-questions-our-exclusive-interview.html See you there!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Outstanding Journey

    Having read "Way of a Peaceful Warrior" years ago, I quickly bought "The Journeys of Socrates" but it sat on the shelf unread. The Universe has a way of working things out so recently I noticed the book in a box of books still packed from a move. I decided it was time to read.

    The Universe was correct.

    Though I had trouble getting into the beginning of the book, things turned around and soon I was drawn into the journey. The beginning tells the history of Socrates and at first I didn't see the relevance and wondered where "the good stuff" was; I later realized that this history was a key part of understanding Socrates, where he'd come from and what he overcame to become the person he was at the end of the book.

    Socrates' journey is so much like many in life. We hold on to anger and resentments and they overcome us, possess us. We hold them for years just as Socrates did. I only hope that more in the world learn to grow, evolve and let go of such anger and resentment to move on to the next level of themselves.

    Millman's prequel to "Way of a Peaceful Warrior" is an outstanding tome depicting Socrates' path to becoming a peaceful warrior. The book is filled with guidance and truth. I underlined many sentences throughout my reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    It was nice to finally learn about Socrates and how he came to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Have read all of Mr. Millman's works. Was fortunate to hear him lecture

    Journeys of Socrates was outstanding; The Way of the Peaceful Warrior is the perfect compliment to Journeys of Socrates.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Journeys of Socrates

    This book is a must-read! Dan's style is so captivating. It literally pulls you in and ushers you throughout the journey.

    It's an easy read and I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    The best since the Way of the Peaceful Warrior

    I really liked this book, escpecially the Way of the Peaceful warrior, and I think it did a good job explaining or showing us who Socrates was back then in the past and how he became what he is now in the Way of the Peaceful Warrior. The reason why I didn't give this book such an outstanding rating is difficult to say. I felt like certain parts of the book were inconsistent, and Socrates development towards the way of the peaceful warrior wasn't as well written as I thought it would be. It was well written, It didn't explain it in details, it had to be explained very briefly due to the fact that the book can be very long for readers to read. There are many things that sparks all kinds of emotions within me as I read this book. It was usually sadness or the sense of unfairness that Socrates went through so much trouble when he didn't really deserve it. But the end is usually a happy ending. I can't say much about this book, It wasn't as good as a peaceful warrior but it proved itself to be a decent work of Dan Millman. Many Authors, from what I observed, tend to dry out when they haven't written a book for a very long time or when they write sequals it tends to do very poorly because writing sequals or 'prequals' is a totally different and difficult field of Author-Ship. Dan Millman did a good job writing a prequal, and kept the plot flowing decently. I reccomend this book to those who read the Way of the Peaceful warrior, and those who love Socrates.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    FANTASTIC

    I first heard of this series when I observed a commercial on tv for the upcoming movie. After this encounter, I inquired more about the author and his writings. Later to my astonishment I discovered that he had written a prequel to the Way of the Peaceful Warrior. Subsequently, I excitedly had driven to the library to pick it up and from that point on I have become in touch with the true message Dan Millman is conveying. To all those thinking about reading the Way of the Peaceful Warrior first, DON't! Read the Sacred Journey's of Socrates first it will open your eyes to the meaning of this series. This book is phenomenal!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Dan does it again!

    Dan Millman has done another outstanding job of creating a book that fills one with inspiration and hope. We are all on a journey in this life and anyone who has spent any time in self-exploration will appreicate this latest book from Dan! His writing is down to earth and thought provoking, a joy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    The Way Begins, The Torch is Passed

    This prequel to ¿Way of the Peaceful Warrior¿ is an enthralling, historically-inspired novel that answers many questions about how Socrates became a warrior and poses many more about how he became a peaceful warrior. His journeys tell the tale of the stark realities within and around him amidst the deeply personal and archetypal cycles of birth, death, and a higher birth once again; tragedies, trials, triumphs, and transformations that shaped his life as a young man, an accomplished warrior, and an emerging sage. The revelations at the end do not complete the story as much as they offer the key to unlocking a previously well-kept yet heartwarming mystery about the deep connections between Millman and his peaceful warrior mentor. Socrates¿ pivotal yet thinly recounted trip to the ¿rooftop of the world,¿ as well as his return trip on an ¿urgent mission¿ years later certainly bode well for one or two sequels to this tale, filling in even more of the tapestry that binds together Socrates, Millman, and his readers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great book

    On a scale of one to ten this is a ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Enjoyed learning more about Socrates background.

    Enjoyed learning more about Socrates background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1